We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #25 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We only stayed here for a night but it was a great hotel. We got a good deal on the room (from late rooms) which made it even more appealing. The hotel is beautiful and modern. Very clean and staff were genuinely friendly and very helpful. The valet parking was £40 which is expensive but not surprising for a city like Edinburgh so not really an issue. We had a disabled room (we are not disabled) which was absolutely fine and bigger than some of the rooms but the only issue was I set off the emergency cord which was located next to the bed at 6:30 am in the morning when reaching for my water on the bedside table. The staff called the room straight away to check if everything was okay and there was a re-set button for the alarm - I don't mind this at all as it shows that the hotel caters for those that are disabled very well. The bathroom was lovely and shower was nice and powerful. Cocktails in the bar area were super tasty! I can't recommend this hotel enough, it really is fantastic and beautifully designed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FelicityMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Felicity,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience at Hotel Missoni. We really appreciate your kind comments and the helpful feedback that you have provided, not only to us, but to other Tripadvisor users. I am pleased you mentioned our valet parking. We have a small car park located under the hotel which must be booked prior to arrival. The car park is manned, secure, safe and patrolled 24hrs a day with the added bonus of our famous kilted doormen driving the car round whenever it is needed, all this for £35 per night, which it is important to add, is a competitive price for parking in Edinburgh.

Please feel free to touch base with me directly if you wish to stay again; maybe you might want to stay for longer next time? We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you again for comments.

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,950)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,462 - 1,468 of 2,950 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2013

I booked this hotel after getting a pair of return 1st class tickets to Edinburgh for free, so I thought I'd make the trip 1st class and Five Star!

The location was fantastic for starters, it's right in the middle of the old city, on the Royal Mile, and only footsteps away from the Castle and all the interesting shops.

We had ticked the optional upgrade when booking, and was offered the (paid for) upgrade to our room... which was fantastic. The minibar was free - including two half bottles of wine (red/white), plus a bottle of Italian fizz in ice turned up while we were out shopping, another lovely treat included in the room.

The 'natural rain' shower was fantastic - lovely and big, and the look of the room all around was very modern and stylish. Bed was BIG and very comfy (not too hard, not too soft).

Breakfast was a real treat. We went down pretty early Sunday, and were the first to arrive... the custard Bomablini (Italian doughnuts) were LOVELY.. and the eggs Benedict was just the job.

Also must say the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

I hope I can go back!

p.s. we didn't use the Spa facilities, but the 'menu' of services appeared to be huge!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krispy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Krispy B,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Missoni for your 1st class and 5 star trip to Edinburgh. It’s always so refreshing to get away from it all and I am delighted that you had such a fantastic stay with us. You are right; the location of the hotel is second to none, which is why we are such a popular destination for leisure and business bookers. I have made sure your feedback has been passed on to our restaurant team, who value your kind words. We truly believe that a Missoni breakfast is the very best way to start the day!

Please touch base with me directly if you wish to stay again and I would be more than happy to manage the reservation for you. I hope you had a safe journey home.

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My son and I stayed for a weekend break and we loved it, it is very modern with great friendly staff especially housekeeping they were very helpful. The only negative was no bath in the rooms which might not bother some people but after a long day shopping and exploring the city it would have been nice to relax in a hot bath. Breakfast was really good with a wide choice of food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BECMATTManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear BECMATTManchester

I am delighted you enjoyed your weekend break in Edinburgh and that you found the staff so accommodating. We strive to provide unique, friendly and personalised 5 star service and it is great that that you felt the hotel has such a modern feel. We do have baths in our bedrooms but only in our suites on the top floor of the hotel. I would be delighted to welcome you back to Hotel Missoni in the future; maybe you might want to treat yourself again by choosing to stay in a suite, with stunning panoramic views of Edinburgh. Included in a booking for a suite is a complementary bottle of Prosecco on arrival and a chauffeur transfer from Edinburgh Airport.

Please get in touch with us directly at the hotel for the best rates and promotions. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Missoni soon,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location close to the Royal mile and a few minutes walk to Princess street. Train station and airport buses within short walking distance.Sights within walking distance.The interior of course influensed by Missoni. Nice rooms, complemtary mini bar (soda,water) and wi-fi.Service minded staff. Restaurants and bars around the hotel.Had room On the 2nd floor, quiet at night

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tourist75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Tourist75,

Thank you so much for your 4 star review of Hotel Missoni. We really appreciate you sharing your comments online and I am so pleased that you were so well looked after by our services minded staff. We would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel in the future and hope to see you again soon. If you have any further feedback please feel free to touch base with me directly at the hotel anytime,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Was taken here for a long weekend as a birthday treat and loved every minute. Great location, wonderful room, excellent staff, delicious food and drink - couldn't have asked for more. Unique take on a Scottish theme with a mix of traditional (kilted staff) and modern (decor/furniture - B&B Italia, B&O with Missoni). Only minor complaint would be the often slow service at the cocktail bar when it wasn't even busy. However, the drinks made it worth the wait.

Room Tip: Stayed in a Missoni suite - fab, spacious room (living area, bedroom and large ensuite) with a fanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Laura L,

Thank you so much for your glowing review following your recent stay at Hotel Missoni. I am delighted you had such a positive experience in Edinburgh. Please do not forget about us, spread the Missoni word and get in touch with me if you wish to stay again and I can look after you personally,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I would have given this 5 stars except that there are NO BATHS and I miss that terribly in a hotel. Beds great, rooms nice. Having said that I rejected the first one I was allocated which smelt of ..dare I say it ..B.O. However I was found another room. I specifically asked not to be near a lift etc and this was done. The breakfasts are v original (wonderful pastries and cakes)but the coffee was poor and I had to ask for one to be made. I aslo ordered poached eggs which took a long time to be served. Staff very nice and friendly..I had a problem with my new iphone and they even tried to help me when they saw me sitting there looking frustrated which was very sweet and much appreciated. I may be niaive but if you book through a cheap website you stand little chance of one of the better rooms or upgrades ie you get what you pay for in my personal opinion.V handy for Ondine for supper and The Outsider for lunch!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HONORIA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Dear Honoria1,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Hotel Missoni. I am sorry that you were surprised that we do not have baths in our standard Missoni and superior Maggorie rooms. We do have baths in our suites on the top floor of the hotel however if you are not looking to upgrade to a suite then our other rooms have powerful, Missoni designed, walk in showers.

Thank you for your feedback regarding breakfast. I have made sure your feedback has been personally communicated to our Cucina team.

We care passionately about our guests and it is important to mention that if anyone is not happy with their room allocation that they touch base with us at Reception as soon as possible. It is always our aim to make sure that all of our guests are comfortable in their allocated bedroom.

I would be delighted to welcome you back to Hotel Missoni in the future, please touch base with me directly and I can manage the reservation for you,

Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Just a quick review of the restaurant as we didn't stay. Beautiful modern Italian cuisine in gorgeous surroundings, with very helpful and friendly staff. We will be back - if you are in Edinburgh give this gem a try.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jonnsyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain H, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear jonnsyl,
Thank you so much for your restaurant review of Cucina. I am so pleased you had such a great meal with us and that you were so well looked after. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future; maybe you might be able to stay with us next time? We have a new entrance to the restaurant which means that Cucina is now accessible from the Royal Mile and from George IV Bridge. Thank you once again and I hope you had a safe journey home,
Kind regards,
James Archer
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,067 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $183 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing