We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #28 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Last time we stayed here the room was not that great. No such issues this time. We had a wonderful room overlooking the Royal Mile. As ever the staff were great, courteous and helpful. This time had the breakfast as well and nobody was disappointed it was wonderful. The location is second to none, directly on the Royal Mile with the Grassmarket just down the back lane. A quality hotel in Edinburgh well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The room we had looking over the Royal mile was much larger and more comfortable than the rooms at t...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyrtaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Wyrtaj,
Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay with us.
I am very glad that you enjoyed your second stay with us even better than the first and found the staff corteous and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,818)
There are newer reviews for G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,520 - 1,526 of 2,818 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife just stayed there for 1 night for a concert in Edinburgh with friends. They loved the place, especially the bold colours and cracking design touches all over the hotel. Bar area was amazing as was the cocktails and food, the room was spot on for the price as well...
Altogether a fantastic stay in a very convenient location. Next time we are in the city, thats where we are going to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaiRobertGardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear JaiRobertGardner,
Thank you for posting your wifes review about her recent stay with us.
I am very glad that they loved the "bold colours and cracking design touches" throughout the hotel. I am also glad that your wife enjoyed the cocktails and food in our bar.
We look forward to you returning in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Hotel Missoni is a real treasure. It is not difficult to see how someone living in Edinburgh could dream up the likes of Hogwarts - it is a very beautiful and historic backdrop for any city break. Edinburgh is such a unique destination that following a day of exploring one can suffer sensory overload - the Missoni is an antidite. Beautiful clean architectural lines and exceptional design coupled with subtle but interesting decor is what awaits the traveller. The staff are helpful and charming and the location is simply superb.

We stayed for four days arriving at 0830hrs on the first morning. They had our bedroom ready and given we had risen at 0400hrs - it is for this small kindness I will always remember them! The room itself came complete with a nespresso machine and our rate included complimentaty wi-fi and two items of laundery per day - bliss.

The Castle is about seven minutes walk uphill from the hotel, Holyrood Palace about fifteen minutes walk downhill. The Museum of Scotland is about four minutes in another direction and the main shopping district New Town is about fifteen to twenty minutes away.

This is a first rate hotel and I would have every confidence in recommending it to my friends and hope to return to the Missoni soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chevalierjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Chevalierjohn,
Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us.
I am very glad that you had such a nice time exploring Edinburgh. It truely is a wonderful city.
I am happy that we managed to accomodate you with an early check in.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Missoni is smack in the middle of the Old Town and walking distance from most sights. Edinburgh is an amazing ancient town, full of the vestige of its past.

honestly, even if i am italian, i am not a crazy fan of missoni fashion style and its palette of pastel colours, which here you will get even inside the bathroom, but it's lovely anyway.

i will go back

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Enrico S,
Many thanks for your review.
I am very glad that you had a great holiday with us in Edinburgh.
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are here.#
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I wasn't too sure about this place - the decor was a little off putting - but once there it all seemed to work. Great service - awesome breakfast - the rooms are large with a great bed and a variety of pillows - the bathroom is awesome and large with great soaps and stuff - the mini bar is free - free wifif - and free movies - a great place to stop over in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Tom R,
Many thanks for your review.
I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We visit the Fringe every year and always try to stay very centrally. This year we were taking our 15 y/o daughter for the first time so The Witchery (our usual haunt) wasn't suitable. Missoni is good and central. Got upgraded to a suite on arrival - no idea why, I never get upgraded! Thanks anyway. Suite great, lovely views to Arthur's Seat over the rooftops. It's a good idea that the contents of the mini bar (soft drinks mostly) are included in your room rate. You don't need to panic about the cost of a Coke or a bottle of water.
Breakfasts good, lots of fresh fruit. Location is central but downside is the noise from the street. It's an easy downhill walk down the back of the castle to the Traverse in the morning, and a well lit walk back from the Pleasance in the evening so you take your choice. In Edinburgh it's always best to walk everywhere so being central is essential to me.
It's "designed" to within an inch of it's life which doesn't do anything for me but where's the harm in it?

Room Tip: Try to be high up for views and reduced street noise. I think some rooms are rear facing so those w...
See more room tips

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMiggins17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear MrsMiggins17,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back this August for the Edinburgh festivals 2013.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights over the Easter weekend. If you want somewhere centrally located then you can't go run. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and obliging; we picked up a hire car just before checking out and they were more than happy to valet park it without charge while we sorted our stuff out. The room was a good size for a city centre hotel and very well aappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomasmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Thomasmcl

Thanks for such lovely feedback on your stay with us.

It was nice to hear you found our staff friendly and liked our central location on Edinburgh's Royal Mile.

Should you return to Edinburgh we hope to see you back at Hotel Missoni.

Kind regards
Hotel Missoni Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
981 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,863 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $191 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing