We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Pretty fab but overpriced.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #28 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pretty fab but overpriced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

A groovy kind of hotel.

Great Room, good nites sleep. Wifi worked well. Nice cocktail bar. Breakfast was one of the best I have had.

I dont think it is worth the price tag - but somebody else was paying.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msrbcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,600
    553
    186
    54
    33
See reviews for
261
1,349
84
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed nearby for two nights and went here for drinks pre-dinner on the first night and post-dinner on the second night. Really knowledgable barman who created a "deconstructed" Cointreau cocktail for me! We sampled a few of the cocktails and all were great. I would definitely recommend popping in and checking out the doorman in his kilt! ;-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
79 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The inside of this hotel was a total juxtaposition from what you find outside.
Color, prints, kilted bellman inside
Castles, cathedrals, amazing scenery outside
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Missoni. I found the Missoni prints and pops of color
were very welcomed after spending the majority of the day outside in gray weather.
The highlight of the stay during the Easter holiday weekend was a massage in the spa.
Unfortunately I did not pre-plan my spa appointments prior to arrival and the spa was entirely booked. Zoey offered to come in early to accommodate me. Not only was I quite surprised that she would do this, as I'm sure she had a full day ahead of her, she delivered one of the best massages I have ever had.
Her willingness to go above and beyond, expertise at her craft and the helpfulness of all of the staff that I encountered made this a very memorable visit.
I would much rather stay in a hotel with a more relaxed vibe as opposed to the stuffiness of the Balmoral or Caledonian. I will definitely be returning to the Hotel Missoni when I return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank In206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Disappointed with this hotel in the centre of Edinburgh. It was more like an up market hostel than a 5star hotel. Wacky colors and patterns seems to be what this hotel is all about. No comfortable lounge area, only a strange black plastic chair in reception where there was no room at all We had to stand in a queue as there were no seats in the reception area. Staff in reception were polite and welcoming. The cocktail bar is like a 1950s cafe with booth type seating like an ice cream parlor. Not a comfortable or welcoming setting. Breakfast was adequate with the minimum of continental selection in a cold and sterile room though staff here were very polite. Coffee cold.
Staff in the bar seemed stressed and had no strawberries, orange juice and drambuie in the 30 mins I was there. They were "waiting for a delivery". All staff in the bar were very young and seemed to lack experience or confidence.
Would not return.

Room Tip: We had a room that looked out onto the street and it seemed bright but rooms to the back didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Supernanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My new husband and I booked the Missoni for a little Minimoon prior to our actual Honeymoon for 2 nights of Luxury. How wrong could I be? The hotel is no more than a 3* shabby city hotel. Our room ' Maggiore' was extremely cramped with furniture that was poorly designed and maintained. The Minibar Cupboard had a very visible score about 6" in length. The glass top dressing table was chipped which could have resulted in a minor inury. The bedside tables were scored and scratched. The wallpaper was peeling off the ceiling. The bed throw was faded and very shabby. Overall the room was in need of attention. We ate in Cucina restuarant on our first night which was, for a 5* dining establishment, sub standard. Presentation was poor and quality of the menu and food was poor. After our first night I highlighted our findings with the Guest Services Manager. We were offered an upgrade however, as we were only staying two nights we decided it was too much hassle to pack and move rooms for a night. We did get a complimentary bottle of Prosecco in our room. Upon checkout another Guest Services Manager approached us and apologised for the state of the hotel and advsied that it is now looking at renovations and upgrades. However, paying circa £700.00 for a two night stay we felt extremely let down by the Hotel Missoni. It certainly does not live up tot he hype of it's name. On the plus side, yes, there is one, all of the staff were extremely polite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misschief71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed for one night in this lovely hotel so unfortunately did not get time to sample the Spa or the gym. I found the hotel modern, clean and friendly. The staff were helpful, pleasant and friendly which goes a long way when you are away from home. Although I live in another Scottish city not far from Edinburgh it is 20+ years since I visited last. I had forgotten how beautiful the city is and how great the shopping, bars, restaurants, historic places of interest are. Plenty to satisfy any tourist even us native Scots! Once again The Missoni Hotel is highly recommended for anyone visiting Edinburgh. It is quite expensive but as the saying goes 'you get what you pay for' and it's worth every penny!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rupertscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Checked in to this hotel for a short business trip and was delighted to experience something different to the mundane hotels I'm normally subjected to whilst working.

The stylish hotel is in a great location, close to all the shops but not in right in the centre, so not noisy at night.

I LOVED all of the Missoni trimmings. The design fabrics and small touches really made the place feel special and very VIP!!!

The room was small but adequately sized and again the interior design and trimmings made all the difference. A Nespresso and San Peligrino beverages in the mini bar adding to the feeling of quality.

Breakfast was a real treat of Italian delicacies or a traditional full breakfast. I tried both and they were terrific.

Would definitely recommend this hotel. It would make a great place to stay for a romantic break or girlie getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InsolentMinx77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,126 reviews
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#59 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,314 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#20 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established as one of Scotland’s most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary internet, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing