We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this design hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #27 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Checked in to this hotel for a short business trip and was delighted to experience something different to the mundane hotels I'm normally subjected to whilst working.

The stylish hotel is in a great location, close to all the shops but not in right in the centre, so not noisy at night.

I LOVED all of the Missoni trimmings. The design fabrics and small touches really made the place feel special and very VIP!!!

The room was small but adequately sized and again the interior design and trimmings made all the difference. A Nespresso and San Peligrino beverages in the mini bar adding to the feeling of quality.

Breakfast was a real treat of Italian delicacies or a traditional full breakfast. I tried both and they were terrific.

Would definitely recommend this hotel. It would make a great place to stay for a romantic break or girlie getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InsolentMinx77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,902)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,631 - 1,637 of 2,902 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had a long Easter weekend here. The room was lovely - great design concept with enough space to feel comfortable. We had a view over the Deacon Brodie tavern on the top end of Royal Mile which sounds horrendous but the room was quiet and we could people watch every morning!

The hotel is perfectly located about 5 minutes stroll from the castle and equally close to the High Street/tour guides/Tron Kirk/St Giles Cathedral. Princes Street is about 10-15 minutes away. The train station is closer than we thought (go up the North Bridge straight onto Royal Mile High St) as too are all the bus stops/tour bus so accessibility to local transport is great.

Strangely our room was not cleaned on Easter Sunday but this may have just been an oversight on housekeeping staff rota.

The staff are really pleasant and helpful which makes all the difference.
Had a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tootsymoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Me and my wife have just returned after a 3 night stay over Easter at this hotel. The location is perfect as it only 20 meters from the Royal Mile and a 2 minute walk from the castle. We walked from the train station and it took 10 minutes up the hill on the way there and 5 minutes down the hill on the way back. The hotel itself is very modern and vibrant and the staff were great. We booked a Maggoire room which is more than spacious enough for two adults (however the storage space is a bit limited but this is the only slight complaint). In the room there is a complementary mini bar which is replenished each day and you get half a bottle of white wine and half a bottle of red wine, bottled beer, water and soft drinks….all for free! We also had complimentary breakfast and could choose from the buffet or kitchen options. The Bang & Olufsen TV had free films which you would normally have to pay for. We were also told that we had 2 free items of laundry each day so we went home with next too no washing !!!! Give it to them in the morning and it is back by the evening. Give house keeping a call and they are there within seconds with and iron and board or anything else you require.

The hotel has a good lobby bar and the food quality in the restaurant at breakfast was fine. If you want your Scottish breakfast piled high then you may be a little disappointed but when you also have cereal, toast and pastries then it is more than enough. The hotel also has a Spa but we didn’t get around to using this.

The bathroom was lovely with a walk in shower and everything about the room and the staff was spot on. The windows are floor to ceiling so the room is bright and the decoration in the room and the hotel in general is amazing. I have stayed in some very nice hotels over the years and this was as good as any because of the location and the number of things which came as standard with the room. If you are looking for ‘grand’ and ‘opulent’ then this is not for you, if you like modern then definitely give this place a go.

Room Tip: We had room 307. A good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have visited the Missoni for the past 3 years and have always found it to be a great experience. The staff are always extremely polite and helpful and do seem to take a pride in the place. The meal we had in Cuccina was fantastic and the rooms remain luxurious, even if they will need touching up in order to maintain standards. The hotel has its own style and so I can see why others might not like it and look to find fault, especially at their prices but if you like the contemporary and vibrant style you can't go wrong.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ryuvsken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel really does have the wow factor. The room was fantastic, much nicer than the pictures suggest. Our twin room was on the third floor with wonderful views of Arthurs seat and the snow covered mountains in the distance.The hotel is worth its 5 star status for the beautiful room, stunning bar and reception and the wonderful staff. The reason for the 4 star review is due to the worst breakfast I've ever had in a hotel. If you have a sweet tooth if may just suffice with a selection of cakes and pastries but the hot food was terrible. There wasn't a Vegetarian choice so I asked for scrambled eggs with mushrooms. I received a large plate with two tablespoons of egg and one cold small field mushroom.My mum ordered the Scottish breakfast and the quality and presentation was again very poor. For a price of £18 per person this needs to be vastly improved.
I would stay here again without hestitation but would book room only and eat at the many wonderful cafes and restaurants within a five minute walk.

Room Tip: Room 324 on the 3rd floor is a Twin room with great views of Arthurs seat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

From your first arrival to your exit the service at the Missoni is impeccable with the most relaxed manner of laid back Italian sophistication. The style and substance delivered is of a five star standard representing the brand itself.
We visited this Easter weekend for a Birthday & were greeted with the most Beautiful suite...
'The lawn market suite' hidden by its own private staircase up to the top of the building a very large suite of two rooms furnished beautifully . Everything you require is thought out, attention to detail is second to none. The beds are wonderfully huge and cocooning giving you the best nights sleep, there is a feeling of space throughout with areas zoned for relaxing, dining and even a reading corner. The bathroom is perfectly equipped with a double rain shower and very high end toiletries. This is a bright suite overlooking the city with far reaching views and cleverly designed shutters for 'lights out' at the end of your day. It's incredibly peaceful & quiet affording complete relaxation not to mention the complementary mini bar & snacks & papers.
Room service offers an exquisite menu akin to the one found in the Hotels 'Cucina' Restaurant Which is a must to visit the food is wonderful as is the service the staff are fabulous and cant do enough they are attentive without a hint of being over your shoulder & pay attention to details...The Pasta dishes & Swordfish are excellent.They even put together a decorated Birthday desert for me & made the occasion memorable .There is a relaxed and easy vibe here with a friendliness that draws you back as a regular customer. Cucina is reasonably priced & should sit easily as one of the Top Restaurants in Edinburgh.
Overall The Missoni is a Must Visit ! Whatever room or suite your in you'll be treated with incredible Hospitality & High End customer service. As a discerning traveller who through my work has been fortunate to have stayed at some wonderful Hotels in the world. Some egocentricity thrusting themselves forth as 5 Star but failing miserably. The Missoni Delivers 5 Stars on all levels....Nothing is too much and if anyone tells you otherwise.....Just go and see for yourself...you won't be disappointed .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MusicMaker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Hotel Missoni is a boutique hotel with a great vibe and modern facilities. Overall the hotel is very clean, well appointed and very modern with extremely friendly and attentive staff.

The rooms are very well appointed with modern facilities such as Bang and Olfusen TV and complimentary in room Wi-Fi. The bed is very comfortable and the room decor is hip. The bathrooms are very modern with heated floor but on the small side. I appreciated the turn down service and the bedside bottle of spring water is a nice touch. The house maids made sure your room was immaculate with twice daily service. My room on day one had courtyard views but I moved on day 2 for 3 more nights and had magnificent views over Victoria Street and beyond to the mountains. The rooms are a little small but nothing to complain about.

Breakfast was OK. The continental selection was more of what you would expect for an afternoon tea rather than breakfast with juices cereal and fruit and cakes, that said it was top quality and ok for a jet lagged traveler. The hot selections were exceptional but were only available to order and personally would prefer the buffet style hot breakfast.

The cocktail bar in the Lobby is very well done. As a solo traveler for a final day of business extending for 3 days of leisure I was impressed with the bar. On the first night with a large business group the service was quick, well done and cocktails made very well. On the other nights the staff made me feel welcome as they new i was alone and made some cocktails to order and arranged desert from the restaurant. They stopped and had a chat and made my stay very welcoming.

The front office staff were wonderful. Nothing was a problem. They printed off google maps for my day trips and made restaurant reservations without any issue's. They assisted with all my inquiries, which there were many from hiring cars, getting directions, assisting with shopping and so on. They did it with engaging pleasure and every time i returned to the hotel there was a friendly smile and a little chat about my day, something that I really appreciated.

Overall a wonderful hotel with wonderful staff in a great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,925 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,876 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $186 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing