We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOR THE PRICE.....OTHERS ARE BETTER!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #31 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Carnoustie
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“FOR THE PRICE.....OTHERS ARE BETTER!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Pity...i wanted to like it, chic, stylish, fashionable, but too many things were amiss.
Like.....20 minute wait for coffee at the bar."sorry, i was busy with a large table for 6....Really?

Like.....The internal door separating my room and next doors room....thin as paper, could hear everything (i mean everything!!!!)

Like.....The racket in the corridors and doors slamming. Thin walls, sound carrying, sounds of footsteps on the laminate floor.....did not bode well for a good nights sleep. (this......despite pointing it out to reception and asking for ear plugs only to be told "sorry.....we dont do those!")

Like...... no iron and iron board (I thought this was a pre - requisite for a five star hotel?)

Like.....only 4 coathangers, meaning i had to hang my shirt over the mirror door, and when i removed it discovered the collar was filthy as the top of the door had NEVER been dusted/wiped.

I would have willingly discussed these matters with reception on check out, but was not even asked if i enjoyed my stay, thus negating the opportunity to provide feedback.

Nice staff, good breakfast, but i'm afraid thats the only positives i can come up with.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossCarnoustie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,779
    646
    207
    62
    41
See reviews for
297
1,536
97
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cookstown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Missoni Hotel. We arrived at the Hotel to a warm welcome and an efficient check in with very friendly staff. The Hotel is very contemporary, colourful and quite lively. The room was a decent size although space for clothes was a bit tight and the TV caused us a few problems, but got it sorted out by one of the staff. There is air con in the room, but would suggest you are shown how to use it due to the various settings. The Bathroom facilities are excellent with a brilliant shower, toiletries, bathrobes etc etc.
Breakfast was included in our package and was of a very high standard. We dined in the restaurant one night, and whilst the food was ok, it just wasn't worth the money. There are better quality eateries on the main street. The Hotel has a small gym and a Spa, there are packages available, which include an afternoon tea offer, and they are very worth while. The Hotel Bar was extremely cold due to the bad weather conditions, which was not ideal. The bar is mainly used for cocktails, therefore the beer offering is quite limited but there are plenty of pubs in the Grass Market area, which is 5 mins walk. Overall a very good hotel with friendly staff delivering a high quality service, and whilst not everything was perfect, we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We recently stayed overnight (24 March) on a 5pm voucher deal at this 5 star hotel in the heart of Edinburgh for my wife’s birthday. We were pleasantly surprised by the level of friendliness and enthusiasm shown by the reception staff upon checking in. We also liked our modern room with a view overlooking George IV Bridge.

However, the experience was tainted by the experience once we entered the restaurant – Cucina. The hotel website describes this as “Flawless hospitality from early morning until late at night”. Sadly this was not our experience. When we were seated we were initially given the main menu which another member of staff then had to come and take away and replace with the 5pm menu. We ordered drinks, once we were able to attract the attention of a waiter, which subsequently arrived separately many minutes apart (no explanation given). Two couples who were seated after us were finished their meals before we were able to get our main course. There was a 30 minute delay between finishing our starter and receiving our main course. When I was able to attract a waiter to ask what the situation was I was told “1 second and I will find out”; to date I am still waiting for his reply! When the food did arrive one of the dishes (salmon) was undercooked bordering raw. Again once we were able to attract the attention of a waiter we were blithely informed this was the “way the dish was supposed to be prepared but they would cook it further if I wanted, but this would make the fish dry”. Upon insisting that this be cooked more thoroughly it was returned without apology or comment but given a lengthy description of how it was cooked. By this stage we neither cared or wished for this information but instead for some level of service to match the rating of the hotel it was situated in. Finally when our bill was delivered (yes another delay to get this) I had to ask for some form of compensation for the disaster with our food. Just in case it seems like this might be an isolated experience within the same evening we overheard two other couples on 5pm deals complain and the same explanation of the “Italian way” being used. What could have helped was some form of leader and some form of responsibility being taken and perhaps an air of smugness being eradicated from the serving staff.

Breakfast was slightly less of a problem but one couple were overheard complaining about the lack of vegetarian options available. Our only quibble was the dryness of the patisserie selection on offer.

We can’t fault the room or the checking in and checking out experience but if there was a next time I would choose (and recommend to other people) eating in any of the capital’s other, more superior, restaurants.

5 Star hotel but 2 star restaurant (and I am being generous). What irritates the most is nobody from the hotel or restaurant have been in contact to apologise or ask for further details. Perhaps those customers on 5pm deals do not rank highly enough for their concern.

Room Tip: Eat out of the hotel so the experience of staying will not be tainted
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank semplej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Very stylish hotel great accommodation enjoyed our stay. It's positioned in the heart of Edinburgh close to many of the places we wanted to visit. Staff were very good and helpful. Two things stop me from giving it five stars. The room we were in looked out over the side street no problem in that in fact it gave some great views,the difficulty was the bar/club below that was open till three in the morning. We were woken a number of times during our stay by people shouting as they left. I don't know what the hotel can do but it was a factor. The other was the restaurant was sterile and the staff didn't seem to want to engage with you. The food was ok but not what I expected in fact I had better meal the next night in pizza express below the hotel. Despite that it I would still go again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nigeljohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Nigeljohn,

Many thanks for your review on your recent stay at the hotel.

I was pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our staff helpful along with our excellent location.

I am sorry your stay was slightly marred by the street noise which as you mentioned is outwith control of the hotel. All of our rooms on the Victoria Street side are fitted with triple glazing to prevent this as much as possible but please accept my apologies if this distrupted your sleep.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Missoni at some point in the future.

Best regards
Hotel Missoni management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Heard good things about this hotel when it opened 2 or 3 years back and this was our first stay. Looks as it does on their website, contemporary, funky, chic. All staff are clothed in some form of the hotel's signature black and white chevron design and all were very helpful. Good quality staff!
The rooms were, as far as I could make out, faultless. I can normally find something wrong! Free WiFi? Tick! Bedroom robes? Tick! Fresh milk in the fridge? Tick! In room heating and aircon? Tick!
Windows are non-opening and do a good job of keeping the traffic noise out. Flooring is wood so take your slippers. No bath but great walk-in shower for two with rainfall showerhead.
Breakfast as you would expect from a 5 star hotel.
Overall, we enjoyed it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear BrianD

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is always nice to hear such positive feedback and I am pleased to hear that enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back here at Hotel Missoni Edinburgh soon!

Kind regards

Hotel Missoni management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel! It's funky , cool and colourful! We stayed three nights.
The location is brilliant and the staff are so friendly.
We arrived into the hotel at 10.30am expecting to be told our room wouldn't be ready until much later- the lovely girl on reception checked us in straight away and gave us our room keys! Fantastic!
Our room 203 - beautiful bright funky colours, large cosy bed , complimentary drinks in the mini bar (diet coke , coke, sparkling orange & lemon & water, milk) , nespresso coffee machine and kettle with ample coffee pods ,teabags and biscuits. All these we're refreshed everyday.
Breakfast is amazing- well worth getting it included in ur package.
. I've nothing negative to say about Hotel Missoni-I'll definitely stay there next time in Edinburgh.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank belllefield1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Norma Jane T

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to the hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the chance to enjoy dinner in our award winning Cucina restaurant. I shall pass on your comments to the team here.

Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back here at Hotel Missoni Edinburgh in the near future.

Kind regards

Hotel Missoni management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

An Italian designer hotel in the heart of historic Edinburgh? It works an awful lot better than you might think. A beautifully designed, decorated and equipped hotel in one of the very best central locations in Edinburgh, at the top of the Royal Mile. The staff were universally friendly and helpful, from the exotically kilted doormen to the housekeeping staff. A lot of thought went into this hotel and it shows. Top quality furnishings and extremely comfortable. I didn't eat lunch or dinner in the restaurant but if the breakfast was anything to go by the I should think it more than acceptable. Expensive, but value is not the same as price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TackleTart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear TackleTart

Thanks for reviewing your stay here at Hotel Missoni.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found all of our staff to be friendly , I shall pass on your comments to the team.

Hopefully we will have the chance to welcome you back at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Hotel Missoni management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
967 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
913 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#89 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,263 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing