We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky, trendy well located hotel in historic part of city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #31 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Funky, trendy well located hotel in historic part of city”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Fabulous hotel from which to start a driving tour of Scotland - just off (100m) the Royal Mile - very friendly and kilt dressed staff able to solve any challenge - rooms very comfortable with all mod cons - funky bathroom with excellent open shower. Dined in restaurant one night and very enjoyable dinner. External laundry service managed to misplace a shirt - however staff were attentitive and managed to locate shirt in following days and then rang to let us know so we could pick up on way back through Edinburgh (alternatively they were going to post back to Australia for us). All in all my partner and I had very enjoyable 2 days - wish we had stayed for a few more days..:) ......Gay friendly establishment.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YodaSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear YodaSydney,
Many thanks for reviewing your stay at Hotel Missoni.
I am very pleased that you found the staff very friendly and able to solve any challenge.
Apologies for briefly misplacing your shirt. I am glad that it was returned to you shortly after.
I hope that you enjoyed your driving tour of Scotland. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,763
    637
    206
    62
    40
See reviews for
290
1,521
97
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We loved our second visit to the Missoni on the 01/03/13. The staff were friendly and helpful and it was a very smooth check in. The room was lovely, even though it was a bit more compact than the room we had on our first stay, however we did have a side view of the castle, which more than made up for this (room 405) The cocktail bar is stylish spacious and comfortable and the ladies toilets are blingtastic and immaculate. We look forward to returning to this hotel which is in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Gillian S,
Many thanks for returning to Hotel Missoni, Edinburgh and taking the time to review your stay with us.
I am very happy that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Edinburgh.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed in the Hotel Missoni for two nights for a city break with my mum. From the moment I walked through the door, the staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. I loved the decor and atmosphere of the lobby, restaurant and bar and was not disappointed in my room either! Every effort has been made to make your stay as pleasant as possible - comfortable beds, lovely decor, huge windows with (in my room at least!) a great view of Edinburgh. The mini-bar and daily paper were both complimentary and the room also contained a coffee maker and 'real' milk - a nice touch! Wifi was also included and you are provided with access to a personal website during your stay where you can make all sorts of requests - room service, housekeeping, taxi, travel info...you name it, it's all there! You choose the time for your requests to be fulfilled and the hotel confirm once done which is handy when you're out and about.
Breakfast, well - safe to say it was also of a high standard with plenty of choices including a good range of healthy options.
All in all, very satisfied customer! I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a castle view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayrshire_lass85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear ayrshire_lass85,
Thank you very much for writing a review about your recent stay with us.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the decor and atmosphere of the lobby, restaurant and bar.
I am also very pleased that you found useful the "My Hotel Missoni" app that is available to download via Itunes.
We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Edinburgh.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Visited this Lovely hotel with my daughter as a special treat the only thing that put a damper on it was the attitude of the receptionist.
I booked through a booking company as I don't use credit cards and had fully paid for my stay, the receptionist asked for credit card I explained that used booking company as didn't have one & I felt very intimidated as she said I could not use bar or restaurant even though I had no intention of doing so as we were only using hotel as visiting theatre.
The room was perfect although I was unable to have a coffee as machine was not drawing water, it may have been I was not using properly but because of way receptionist made me feel I didn't feel comfortable phoning for help.
The breakfast staff were totally different as were the doormen being very friendly & efficient and we had a delicious breakfast.
Although beautiful hotel in great location that one member of staff making me feel like a second class citizen would stop me staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEMIMA-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear JEMMA-D,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I am very pleased that you found Hotel Missoni to be a beautiful hotel in a great location and the restaurant and doormen were very friendly & efficient.
I am very sorry if you were made to feel intimidated by one of our staff members. Certainly this is not the norm as most of our Trip Advisor reviews mention how friendly and curteous our staff is. It is however our company policy to ask when checking in for a credit or debit card just as a guarantee against any extras that you might incur during your stay. This then allows you to be able to charge items like room service etc. to your room for your own convenience.
We certainly hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night midweek. Friendly and attentive staff and a rapid check-in. Room wasn't ready until 2pm but they phoned me to let me know when it was available and stored luggage in the meantime. Valet parking worked well but is not cheap (£35) and is best pre-booked as they have limited spaces in their car park. Room (Piccolo) was well laid-out with interesting decor and the free minibar (non-alcoholic) is a nice touch. It was certainly big enough for 2 people for 2-3 nights and was surprisingly quiet, given the location. Bar staff were good - attentive, quick and friendly. I wasn't able to try the restaurant, so can only rate the hotel "very good" rather than "excellent" but this place would be my first choice on a return trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoolLounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear PoolLounger,
Thank you for reviewing Hotel Missoni, Edinburgh following your stay with us.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully the next time you stay with us you will manage to join us in our award winning Italian restaurant Cucina.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We just had the most amazing facial and deep back massage in the Spa at Missoni, Edinburgh. I really enjoyed the whole experience , the staff are so friendly and very professional. My facial included a hand and foot massage, the products they use are fabulous. The back therapy massage was just what my husband needed after a stressful week. We finished off with a perfect coffee in the bar, a lovely Sunday all round.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesley a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear lesley a,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent spa day.
I am so pleased that you had a great time. The fabulous products you mention that we use in our spa are Eve Lom and Natura Bisse.
We look forward to seeing again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

A great couple of nights in this hotel and the staff were great. We had dinner in the restaurant one night which was lovely too...the room was light and airy and had a great shower. The toiletries in the bathroom were not great and to me seemed watery so take your own shampoo and conditioner. Comfy bed and you get a choice of pillows depending on what you like. All in all a great hotel with a good atmosphere in a central location.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear ladyG_10,
Many thanks for your recent review of Hotel Missoni, Edinburgh.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our restaurant Cucina and for your feedback regarding the toiletries in the room. These comments have been passed on to our Housekeeping Manager.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#48 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing