We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good indeed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #31 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good indeed!”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

One very cool hotel. Great location (100 metres from the castle, just off Princes Street, near Grassmarket), a fine restaurant, funky & Super comfortable rooms, a good bar and some very stylish staff in funky kilts. We would definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipLov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,782
    646
    207
    62
    41
See reviews for
297
1,537
98
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We were looking for somewhere to chill and have some cocktails in Edinburgh. We walked into Bar Missoni and were immediately impressed with its cool style and buzzy atmosphere.

Staff were fantastic - first class. Very friendly and attentive. Cocktails were great. a good selection and we even ordered off menu and the bar staff rose to the challenge. Not crazy prices either.

Would certainly go back and recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acebrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel. The interior design is superb, AND the staff is extremely gracious. The location is perfect for exploring the city and it is close to the train station. The restaurants around the hotel were very good as was the hotel bar. The breakfast was also wonderful. The hotel made the visit to Edinburgh very special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quiltergirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a mini-break with my sister. We were greeted by friendly doormen in stylish Missoni kilts and where shown to our room where our bags were waiting. My sister had mentioned that we were in Edinburgh to celebrate her birthday and the staff had kindly put a birthday card and a delicious raspberry tart in our room.

The room was very stylish, clean and spacious. My only criticism was that there could have been a bit more storage space (i.e. bedside draws) and more plug sockets. The bed was like sleeping in a cloud, soft sheets and a comfortable mattress.

The location was perfect for us as it was close to Grassmarket and the West End and a short walk to Princess Street (although all up hill on the way back!).

Would definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blanche S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent a week in Edinburgh at The Missoni Hotel. The hotel is great close to everything The Edinburgh Castle, The Royal Mile, Mary Kings Close and lots of history with old buildings.
The rooms are very special with different colors on the walls a large bed with a great view of the royal mile.
The breakfast was very good , friendly servers and very quick to bring your breakfast.
If we return to Edinburgh we would stay at the Missoni Hotel it's was a fun place to stay .
Took the train to St. Andrew for the day , if you go and just want to see the Old Course go on Sunday its closed to golfers and open to the public to walk the 18 holes, met lots of very nice people. It was fun to stand on the bridge at the 18 hole.
Also went to vist the Stirling Castle (were Braveheart was film) that very interesting,
We were very lucky we had the chance to have a meal on The Royal Yagnt Britannia it was a very special night the service was great and the food was very good.
We have a wonderful time and would love to go back to Scotland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GissyOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adare
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here on our wedding anniversary in september! I would highly highly recommend this hotel for couples looking for a luxury romantic break!!

Amazing hotel
Fantastic staff
Perfect location
Unbelievable rooms
Gorgeous breakfast
Fabulous bar


Prosecco on tap.. Need I say anymore :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We've just stayed here for the second time. The Missoni is in a fantastic location on the Royal Mile being about five minutes walk from the castle. A walk uphill from Waverley station is about ten minutes,but if you have luggage,a cab is only about three pounds. Public transport is the way to arrive if you are staying for a few nights as parking in central Edinburgh is extortionate.
Getting greeted by the doorman wearing a Missoni kilt is a nice touch. The rooms are lovely,and with plenty of nice designer items decorating them. The shower room is small but very pleasant,and the big fluffy Missoni towels were fantastic.
The highlight of both of our stays has been working our way through the fantastic cocktail list. The cocktails are a work of art and are a fun way to pass an evening. A word to the wise though,they are pretty potent! The Missoni is quite a pricey hotel but it lives up to the cost. We will return again.

Room Tip: There are rooms available with various views,some of them at a price premium. Don't bother payin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolaaand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#90 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,264 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing