We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls afternoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #27 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Arriving at the Hotel Missoni for afternoon tea and Cocktails was no problem for the wonderful chatty and informative staff, despite there being no table available. In no time one was found along with 6 chairs and we spent the next hour and a half relaxed, rejuvenated and ready for further adventures in Edinburgh. Could not reccomend this hotel bar enough. Thanks guys for making our weekend more special.

Room Tip: Sorry were not staying here. Am sure it would be a great experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank helen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,869 - 1,875 of 2,902 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a nice hotel. Very friendly, clean. A previous review stated that it lacked what you would expect from a 5*. Its the small things such as the app for the hotel didn't work. I told them at reception and they said they would look into it for me and come back to me, but unfortunately they never did. We ordered additional pillows but only one was sent up and this was in fact a piece of sponge it was very hard. The beds were to hard for us and on check out they asked how we slept and I commented on the beds which she said we could have had a topper but unfortunately this was not advised to us before. The quilt was a feather quilt which was very warm and light. The first night we were there they turned down the beds after we had gone out which would have been after 6pm. The next night the girl came at 4.30 wanting to turn them down but we were getting ready so was not convenient. I would have expect her to come back abit later purely for the fact that the items on the bed that needed to be removed need to be placed somewhere due to such a small room. Luckily we had noticed the night before that they were put on a high shelf. Not a problem but not what you would expect from a 5*.

Toiletries were supplied which were very nice. The bathrooms were lovely but dark.

The rooms are small and we would have been very hard pushed to hang our clothes up on the open hook (wardrobe) if we had been longer there than just the weekend. It was a nice touch to have complimentary drinks in the fridge. The movies in the room were free to view and were up to date movies.

The cooked breakfast was freshly prepared but small. They did have a range of the normal pastries, cakes fruits etc. It was a shame that there were no scottish items on the breakfast menu such as haggis which would have been nice to try. One morning I had hot chocolate for breakfast and it came in a tall mug and was excellent so the next morning I ordered the same but it came in a tea cup which was hot milk with lots of froth on top and tasted very unpleasant. I asked for them to change it and the lady was quite surprised at what I had been served. The food was nice but i feel with all the hype they gave to you as they came and told you about the days specials and how it was cooked I just didn't feel it really lived up to it. The drinks menu is very expensive. The wine they recommend for our dinner was £40 and i certainly would not pay that. A glass was £8.50 but it was very nice. They did make my husband the perfect Irish coffee.

The cocktail lounge had very uncomfortable high chairs on one side of the bar and these were the only chairs left. The other side had comfortable couches and arm chairs and was full. The cocktails were nice around average £12 each.

I don't know if I would stay in this hotel
again but I certainly wouldn't dissuade anyone not to. The location was good
hotel was clean and everyone was very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Screen name cant think of one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

"Are we really staying at the Hotel Missoni?!" was the shriek of shock from my wife when I suddenly detoured and pulled up in the parking bay outside of this stunning hotel instead of the Malmaison at Leith. The smile on my wife's face grew even larger when the hunky guy with dreadlocks and a kilt approached us to take our bags and park our car. At £35 the valet parking service doesn't come cheap, but for a special occasion like our wedding anniversary it was worth it. Our kilted concierge escorted us through Check In - the Reception staff are so friendly by the way - and up to our room where he gave us a guided tour of the facilities right down to the free soft drinks in the minibar and free movie channels.
The lovely bouquet of flowers I'd ordered a few weeks in advance took pride of place on the dressing table and we had a great view across to St.Giles Cathederal (please see attached photo). A Nespresso coffee maker was included and Room Service provided another mitt full of expresso coffee capsules on request. Just as well as we went through so many I was totally wired!
Pièce de résistance for me though was the rainfall shower which was to die for. Amazing, as was the whole bathroom complete with complementary Missoni toiletries. Bathrobes & slippers also come as standard.
We didn't eat in the Missoni restaurant as we already had a table booked at one our favourite Edinburgh Restaurants, 'Vittoria On The Bridge', which is just along from the Hotel (our favourite restaurant in the UK is actually 'Indaba' in Edinburgh but that was unfortunately closed that Monday night).
We did have drinks in the The Hotel Missoni bar though. The bar is swish, service very smiley and attentive and although our drinks were a touch pricey they were worth every penny.
We had a wonderful overnight stay (Mon 17 Sept). The bed was huge & comfy and as I lay there the next morning I couldn't help but think to myself, "I could get used to this". We'll certainly stay at the Hotel Missoni again, that's for sure.

Room Tip: A higher floor gives you better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveyPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a lovely modern hotel with added touches such as free mini bar items and Nespresso machine to make your stay exceedingly pleasant. The location is brilliant, right in the middle of things so very handy walking to all attractions, restaurants and bars but the jewel in this hotel's crown is its staff who are very pleasant and helpful, probably the nicest hotel staff you could meet...and the guys look really fetching in their pink kilts!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJT-AJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a trendy yet comfortable hotel in an amazing location just off the Royal Mile, perfect for those wanting to explore Edinburgh's tourist attractions. We found the staff to be really friendly and helpful and the room was plush, clean and well equipped. The free soft drinks mini bar was a really great touch, especially when so many hotels charge for this service. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expat_Girl25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great hotel!! Beautiful room, great decoration, very good service, perfect location, you can walk everywhere and dont need a car, , very good breakfast, staff very helpful. We stayed there for three nights and we have just good things to say. Considering all these things, the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sari62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A very well modern interior design with a view of old town neighbourhood. Located just of the Edinburgh Castle, the hotel deserve a wow ever since I step in to the lobby. Small and efficient lobby/bar just freshened the eye. I just love this place

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justlovetoseenewthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,925 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,876 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $186 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing