We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location, great restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #29 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 22, 2011

wanted to stay in a boutique hotel and missoni popped up on google. we're not old geezers but the lobby is a little too hip-happening for my taste. the doormen in missoni kilts are cute. the hotel is located smack in the middle of tourist central which was great for our quick trip. military tattoo was just around the corner. we weren't planning on going but the hotel had tickets for the night we could go even tho the event is sold out months in advance. the rooms are comfortable with free mini-bar (water, soda, milk, chips), wi-fi, plus 4-pieces of laundry. overnight parking is £35, reservation recommended. our room faced the back and was nice and quiet. the gym is pretty small but with all the hills in edinburgh, shouldn't need a gym (just climb up to arthur's seat or calton hill). we got in late the first night so ate at cantina downstairs. it's one floor up from the lobby so there's loud music still but not as bustling. the homemade tagliatelle is absolutely amazing. i loved the al dente texture of the pasta. we liked it so much, we had dinner there our 2nd night too. other food is very well-prepared too. service was a little slow but staff throughout the hotel are super friendly. the tv in our room was possessed. after turning it off, it would turn on again. we had to unplug it so it wouldn't keep turning on. i've never understood the half doors on european baths, which they had here too. the floor outside gets wet if the half door isn't long enough.

Room Tip: ask for quiet room if sensitive to noise. hotel is right on main streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trippyNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,312 - 2,318 of 2,864 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here on last valentine for 2 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed it! I wish we couldve stayed longer however it is a bit expensive for good reason though

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Comedinewithme411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We picked the Hotel Missoni because of reviews on Trip Advisor and its convenient location (one block from the Royal Mile during the Edinburgh Festival). We were very pleased with the hotel. It was very well located and appointed. But what really stood out for us was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Although everything wasn't perfect (for example we had booked a twin room and when we checked in we were placed in a double), anything we asked about was immediately and cheerfully corrected. For example, with respect to the twin room issue, the hotel acknowledged its error, moved our room, and gave us a compensating breakfast. I really liked this hotel and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toomdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

wow I loved this hotel very swiss and excellent staff. Was really close to castle and centre. Loved it well worth spending bit extra for couples night away. Beds really comfy and large.
Parking was £35 per night though we parked at NCP parking about 15mis away.

Room Tip: ask for higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed for one night as we had tickets to visit the Military Tattoo at Edinburgh Castle. The hotel is ideally placed for the city centre at the corner of the Royal Mile and George IV Bridge - the castle is just a few minutes walk away, Princes Street a 5 to 10 min walk.
I had e-mailed the hotel prior to our visit, as it was my partners birthday and ordered a bottle of prosecco in our room for our arrival - my e-mails were answered promptly and politely and the wine was indeed in our room on arrival.
The room we were given was on the third floor but on entering we noticed a musty/damp smell. Admittedly it had been raining almost constantly for several days, but the odour was quite overpowering. We reported this to reception on our way out, who said that the staff would look into this. We arrived back a couple of hours later and were shown back to the same room, having been advised that a scented candle had been lit and the room had been re serviced. However, the smell was still there, so we were allocated another room on the 2nd floor - the staff couldn't have been more helpful, although a candle was never going to rid the room of the smell, only mask it. The rooms are nicely decorated and the "rain" shower in the bathroom was excellent. Found the coffee machine a little awkward to use and we did come accross a kettle, but no sachets of coffee! The fresh milk in the fridge was a nice touch as opposed to the usual cartons of UHT. Didn't eat in the hotel at all, as we were on room only rates through Travelocity, and very reasonable they were too (had booked well in advance though.) Despite the central location of the hotel, there was no noise as such from outside and we were unaware of any noise from adjoining rooms. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in, affording us an unbroken nights sleep. Would certainly recommend this hotel for its location, polite and friendly staff and lovely bedrooms, but felt that if we had been moved to another room in the first place then it would have received 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FraeFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Services_Missoni, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Dear ‘FraeFife’,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Hotel Missoni. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed polite and friendly service from our staff and that the bed was the most comfortable that you have ever slept in!

I am, however, sorry that you found the room you checked into to have a damp odour. Although this may have been caused by the heavy rain, we have not previously had any complaints regarding odour caused by weather conditions. We appreciate that you reported the issue to our Reception, team, however, had you expressed your alternative preference to move rooms straight away then we would have happily obliged. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

As, overall, your comments regarding your stay were very positive, we do hope you will visit us at Hotel Missoni again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Julianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed for first week of the fringe here beg August. The position of the hotel is central and ideal. Staff are nice and friendly. Decor throughout hotel is joyous. Room sizes are fine and quiet (bar a child screaming running past ours at 7.30-8am for three days running and parent did nothing). The bedding is sublime and soft and bathroom lovely and freebies look pretty in contrasting colours only gripe was cleaning and bed changing was a little lax a couple of times. There is a Nespresso coffee machine in the room and generous fridge with water and cokes/orangina and fresh milk included. Breakfast is a bit steep at £13 for a cold buffet, consisting mainly of a variety of Italian cakes and £18 if you want to add a bowl of porridge or cooked items . . . i still can't understand why hotels can't include just a basic coffee/latte and a decent croissant for breakfast in the excessive amount paid to stay in any price category....
Missoni also let you have an item of clothing a day cleaned free of charge and you can add days up - brilliant idea. All in all - would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gocatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Super stylin place - have never taken so many photos of a hotel! Great location, friendly staff, and fun just checking out the other guests! Only downsides - your car is not stored on site - its parked away at 35 pounds/day. Also the buffet style breakfast didn't do it for me. You're feeling all hip and Italian staying here, and then lining up like pigs at the trough in the morning.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank cnnHalifaxNs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Services_Missoni, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2011

Dear ‘cnnHalifaxNs’,

We’re so pleased you had a great time at Hotel Missoni!

Please be advised that when a member of our valet team takes a car away for parking, it is deposited in our private hotel car park. This is a secure location on the hotel basement level.

I’m sorry to hear that the buffet dining style did not appeal to you, for future stays you may prefer to order from our a la carte menu or alternatively we will deliver breakfast directly to your room at no extra charge.

We look for to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind Regards,

Julianne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,006 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,679 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $194 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing