We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #31 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here on last valentine for 2 nights and we thoroughly enjoyed it! I wish we couldve stayed longer however it is a bit expensive for good reason though

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Comedinewithme411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,780
    646
    207
    62
    41
See reviews for
297
1,537
97
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We picked the Hotel Missoni because of reviews on Trip Advisor and its convenient location (one block from the Royal Mile during the Edinburgh Festival). We were very pleased with the hotel. It was very well located and appointed. But what really stood out for us was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Although everything wasn't perfect (for example we had booked a twin room and when we checked in we were placed in a double), anything we asked about was immediately and cheerfully corrected. For example, with respect to the twin room issue, the hotel acknowledged its error, moved our room, and gave us a compensating breakfast. I really liked this hotel and would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toomdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

wow I loved this hotel very swiss and excellent staff. Was really close to castle and centre. Loved it well worth spending bit extra for couples night away. Beds really comfy and large.
Parking was £35 per night though we parked at NCP parking about 15mis away.

Room Tip: ask for higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed for one night as we had tickets to visit the Military Tattoo at Edinburgh Castle. The hotel is ideally placed for the city centre at the corner of the Royal Mile and George IV Bridge - the castle is just a few minutes walk away, Princes Street a 5 to 10 min walk.
I had e-mailed the hotel prior to our visit, as it was my partners birthday and ordered a bottle of prosecco in our room for our arrival - my e-mails were answered promptly and politely and the wine was indeed in our room on arrival.
The room we were given was on the third floor but on entering we noticed a musty/damp smell. Admittedly it had been raining almost constantly for several days, but the odour was quite overpowering. We reported this to reception on our way out, who said that the staff would look into this. We arrived back a couple of hours later and were shown back to the same room, having been advised that a scented candle had been lit and the room had been re serviced. However, the smell was still there, so we were allocated another room on the 2nd floor - the staff couldn't have been more helpful, although a candle was never going to rid the room of the smell, only mask it. The rooms are nicely decorated and the "rain" shower in the bathroom was excellent. Found the coffee machine a little awkward to use and we did come accross a kettle, but no sachets of coffee! The fresh milk in the fridge was a nice touch as opposed to the usual cartons of UHT. Didn't eat in the hotel at all, as we were on room only rates through Travelocity, and very reasonable they were too (had booked well in advance though.) Despite the central location of the hotel, there was no noise as such from outside and we were unaware of any noise from adjoining rooms. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in, affording us an unbroken nights sleep. Would certainly recommend this hotel for its location, polite and friendly staff and lovely bedrooms, but felt that if we had been moved to another room in the first place then it would have received 5 out of 5.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FraeFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Services_Missoni, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear ‘FraeFife’,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at Hotel Missoni. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed polite and friendly service from our staff and that the bed was the most comfortable that you have ever slept in!

I am, however, sorry that you found the room you checked into to have a damp odour. Although this may have been caused by the heavy rain, we have not previously had any complaints regarding odour caused by weather conditions. We appreciate that you reported the issue to our Reception, team, however, had you expressed your alternative preference to move rooms straight away then we would have happily obliged. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience.

As, overall, your comments regarding your stay were very positive, we do hope you will visit us at Hotel Missoni again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Julianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gocatio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Stayed for first week of the fringe here beg August. The position of the hotel is central and ideal. Staff are nice and friendly. Decor throughout hotel is joyous. Room sizes are fine and quiet (bar a child screaming running past ours at 7.30-8am for three days running and parent did nothing). The bedding is sublime and soft and bathroom lovely and freebies look pretty in contrasting colours only gripe was cleaning and bed changing was a little lax a couple of times. There is a Nespresso coffee machine in the room and generous fridge with water and cokes/orangina and fresh milk included. Breakfast is a bit steep at £13 for a cold buffet, consisting mainly of a variety of Italian cakes and £18 if you want to add a bowl of porridge or cooked items . . . i still can't understand why hotels can't include just a basic coffee/latte and a decent croissant for breakfast in the excessive amount paid to stay in any price category....
Missoni also let you have an item of clothing a day cleaned free of charge and you can add days up - brilliant idea. All in all - would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gocatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax ns
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Super stylin place - have never taken so many photos of a hotel! Great location, friendly staff, and fun just checking out the other guests! Only downsides - your car is not stored on site - its parked away at 35 pounds/day. Also the buffet style breakfast didn't do it for me. You're feeling all hip and Italian staying here, and then lining up like pigs at the trough in the morning.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cnnHalifaxNs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Services_Missoni, Guest Relations Manager at G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear ‘cnnHalifaxNs’,

We’re so pleased you had a great time at Hotel Missoni!

Please be advised that when a member of our valet team takes a car away for parking, it is deposited in our private hotel car park. This is a secure location on the hotel basement level.

I’m sorry to hear that the buffet dining style did not appeal to you, for future stays you may prefer to order from our a la carte menu or alternatively we will deliver breakfast directly to your room at no extra charge.

We look for to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind Regards,

Julianne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The things about this hotel that impressed me the most other than the obvious, the location, the decor, the price was the STAFF - I've never been served by "kids" as polite and helpful as their staff. When I say kids I literally mean they all seem to be under 25 years of age! Very clean cut, (nice to see no tattoo's or piercings) and very helpful and beyond polite! All their parents should be proud!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LochFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#89 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,263 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh

Property: G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 George IV Bridge, Edinburgh EH1 1AD, Scotland (Formerly Hotel Missoni)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Spa Hotel in Edinburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#4 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G&V Royal Mile Hotel, Edinburgh is set in the heart of the capital on the historic Royal Mile. The hotel has breath-taking views over the Royal Mile, Edinburgh's Old Town, Arthur's Seat and even on to and across the Firth of Forth. Established as one of Scotland's most stylish five star hotels, G&V Hotel is known for warm, friendly, five star hospitality tailored to the individual. As part of the Quorvus Collection, G&V Royal Mile Hotel is a new generation of luxury combining contemporary design, a warm welcome and Scottish character. All 136 rooms and suites come with complimentary Wi-Fi, newspapers and Nespresso coffee and tea. Each room includes rain showers, generous bath products, LCD TV's with iPod and laptop connections, luxurious bathrobes and slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing