We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Southern Expat Travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Ranked #51 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Yanbu, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The Southern Expat Travelers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. The receptionist was so polite and gave so much good information on arrival without being asked. Pretty much everything we needed to know. They upgraded our room to a suite, it had a wonderful view and the location was perfect for the castle and the royal mile. The room was so big and comfortable and had everything one would need. Even a fridge which it seems in Scotland you don't find very often. They even arranged a taxi for us to get us to the car rental to pick up our car and he was so nice. We were even able to do a load of laundry with no charge. No problems whatsoever with our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldwingnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your stay experience, we are happy that you found our location convenient and that my team were able to assist. It is not always that we are able to upgrade a guest and we are happy that we were able to so in this instance. Your appreciation of our efforts is heartfelt and we thank you for your kind review.

We hope to be able to welcome you to Edinburgh and our property soon.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    584
    170
    69
    28
See reviews for
230
878
72
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

I couldn't believe our luck in booking a room at Fraser Suites- I knew that it was well located, but it didn't quite sink in how perfectly! It's tucked in right across the street from St Giles Cathedral, and the best possible point for exploring the city. A few blocks takes you to Edinburgh Castle, Princes Street or to Hollyrood House, not to mention Waverly Station. We'd spent five days travelling around the countryside, and were ready to settle in a home base for our time in the city, and this hotel really didn't disappoint. Our room was spacious and absolutely NO detail was overlooked. The bathroom was large and the shower heavenly. The kitchenette was well stocked and great for an afternoon tea break. I adored the addition of the fan in the room- keeping the air moving and a great way to provide white noise, not that the Royal Mile is a noisy location at night at ALL. My only tip would be to skip booking breakfast- between the kitchenette in your room and the multitude of cafes in walking distance, it seems overpriced (9 GBP/person). Don't be scared to book in close proximity to the Royal Mile, it's worth it!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Txtingmrdarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for choosing Fraser Suites as your base to explore beautiful Edinburgh, we are happy to hear that you found our property central to your requirements and that the you liked the in room facilities and amenities. We note your feedback on breakfast and have forwarded it to the relevant department of review.

Your review is most appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My review isn't about the quality of the location, couldn't be a better and is spot on. It is not about the cleanliness of the facilities, right up to par with the MGM grand last month, my issue isn't with the architecture of design, both delightful and interesting.

Service, which for a business or often time personal traveler is at the highest level of wants. They just have it missing here but with well staffed, maybe even over staffed, these guys make too many mistakes too mention them all. But even when they blow it, they do it with a smile.

We've asked for our comp bottles of water, simple bottled water, each evening reminding them that we still hadn't seen it. None ever showed. None still have. We leave in 36 hours. Care for a wager??? Simple toiletries like abundant clean wash cloths, or fresh bath soap, or tiny one time use good smelly shampoo bottles . You simply shouldn't have to ask a staff to leave a note for housekeeping instructing them to replenish these items the next morning. A check list on a clip board is the simple way to do if. Don't get high tech, train in the most basics of check and balances. That way you can wow your staff, not give clients reasons to moan.

Fraser suites gm, let me suggest, close the joint down, book double rooms, two staff members stay together, at the MGM Grand in Vegas and simply let them observe. Observe check-in, no reason to ever argue with a guest, let them observe housekeeping, let all who attend do something to improve the guests attitude when he walks into a freshly prepared room. Let him feast his eyes when a table is awaiting with bountifully hot food in awaiting his choice. This guy or gal will be ready to hit the day tmrw and never think of staying aNy where else. We'll be back next year to see if you've made improvements. In seeing the talent and you to that room, create a little eager competition and you will have a super staff.

Think about it FS's. All lotta competition our there for every room that will be reserved and rebooked. Gonna let immature, nicely dressed and attractive, but still immature young folk be YOU to your incoming weary guest, knowing everything I that room and in that reservation folder is not complete. Get your guest out of the lobby and on to his room S quickly and smoothly as possible. Your reviews will rise as can your rates in time.

See you next year.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Don E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and we are indeed very concerned on receiving your feedback.

We have discussed with the managers concern on the issues which you have highlighted and would like to assure you that this is not the usual standard which our guests receive at Fraser Suites.

Thank you for your effort in pointing out our lapses and rest assured that we will continue to look into our short comings, to improve on our service and standards.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Fraser Suites in the future.

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed at Fraser's from Sep 29th for 3 nights and had a marvelous time. I booked a one bed room suite - and requested a room with an optimum view - and let's say that room 701 did not disappoint! Wow! It was a corner suite - and we had fantastic view of Princes Street garden and Scott monument. Well appointed room - bathroom was large and modern, We were just down the road from Edinburgh Castle - about 3 minute walk. Location is on St Giles - just opposite the church - it could no have been better. Hotel staff was great, very attentive to any requests. We had the buffet breakfast included - and although there was nothing wrong with the offerings/selection or the service - it's not something I would do again as there are "sooooo many" breakfast options in/around the Royal mile. Loved the major attractions Edinburgh castle - Scottish Whiskey Experience - Hollyrood Palace - Royal Yacht Britannia. We made our own way to Stirling Castle by train - 50 minutes from Waverly Station -train direction Dunblane - just 10GBP for the return trip. Well worth the time - so much history and Stirling is quite beautiful. As for food - supper at "Mussels and Steaks" was great - supper at "the Witchery" (although expensive!) was a truly an unforgettable experience - what a setting and the food/service was really top notch. Also tried "Oink" for a lunch snack of pulled pork sandwich and it was delicious for a whopping 6.00GBP and that included a root beer! Oink is on the Royal mile just before Hollyrood palace - all they serve is pulled pork sandwiches - nothing else! Run don't walk!
Really enjoyed "a Taste of Scotland" show on the Prestonfield Hotel grounds. Very predictable menu and show - but we really enjoyed the evening and had a wonderful night. Make sure to make time to visit the hotel - you won't believe your eyes - the "colourful opulence" abounds in every room - my camera is still in shock!

Room Tip: Elevators only run up to the 6th floor. So it's 2 flights of stairs to the 7th. Well worth it fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globehugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We are delighted that Fraser Suites Edinburgh provided you the perfect base for your extensive tour of Edinburgh. It is wonderful to receive complimentary reviews and we thank you for taking time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Had fantastic few days at the Fraser Suites. The location was perfect on the Royal Mile only minutes from the castle and also the train station. We could not fault the hotel, staff were very helpful and friendly and the room was very clean, comfortable and well furnished with good facilities (fridge, microwave, kettle, toaster, iron / ironing board, hair dryer, safe) and one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. We do not have any negative comments to make, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LK-LK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
What wonderful feedback! Thank you, we look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at Fraser Suites Edinburgh on the last leg of our honeymoon and overall were really pleased with the hotel.

Positives:
- Location - 5 steps from the Royal Mile and walking distance to Waverley station and Princes Gardens, you couldn't really get any better.

- Rooms - we were given the Princes Suite and it was absolutely stunning. I was impressed with how well it was updated for all the modern conveniences without losing the period touches of the property (stained glass and original windows, ceiling coving).
The views were fantastic and we really liked the kitchenette for quick breakfasts (we did not eat at the hotel at all, so not able to comment on the quality of food offered). L'Occitane toiletries were a lovely touch as well.

- Service - the front desk were very polite and very helpful and we could not fault any of the staff, it really enhanced the stay for us.

Negatives:
- Housekeeping - this was the primary reason for downgrading my review to 4 instead of 5 stars. Whilst the rooms are clean and tidy overall, we did notice dust in some corners and underneath the sofa (which also harboured plastic men's shirt packaging from previous occupant).
Also, the biggest bugbear for us was the chaotic cleaning schedule. On the first night, despite putting out a sign to clean our room while we were out sightseeing all day, the room was not cleaned at all. We were too tired and back too late to request for this to be done.
The following day, we specifically requested for the room to be cleaned asap. It was a rainy day, so we returned about 2pm to warm up, but the room was still not cleaned. We had to ask reception once again and when housekeeping did arrive (about an hour later), the bedsheets were not changed and not all of the waste baskets were emptied.

- General room maintenance - whilst the rooms are very well appointed, there is evidence of wear and tear which is starting to become a little obvious (scuffed walls, dusty curtain edges that rest on the floor etc). These items are all minor and did not impact our stay, but they are becoming noticeable and should be addressed to maintain the ambience of the hotel.

Overall, with a couple of minor improvements, this could really be a truly fantastic hotel. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Princes Suite - excellent views and beautiful decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purple_grape25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We greatly appreciate the time taken to review our property. We welcome all feedback to ensure continuous improvement and to help us to deliver a first class customer experience.
I am extremely disappointed to learn that the housekeeping standards fell short of our normal practice. I have passed on your comments to our Housekeeping Manager who will deal with accordingly. The Princes Suite is arguably one of the most beautiful apartments in Edinburgh; I am sorry there were some issues during your stay. After an exceptionally busy summer we now launch our CARE program for all rooms which includes refreshing decoration and any replacement that is required.
I am confident that during your next visit there will be no negative points to raise! Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here with my husband for a couple of a days and it was the best place we have stayed in in Edinburgh. We were welcomed by really helpful friendly staff who were more than happy to help when it came to dinner reservations and places to visit! The rooms were luxurious the only thing I would criticise is the parking as there isn't any within the hotel but there is parking within walking distance. There are spaces to park out front of the hotel but these are often taken and if there are any sort of festivals in the city parking in the street isn't permitted as we found out at around 7 am when the lobby called our room to advise us to move the car as the police were wanting it moved. Our mistake tho! Will defiantly be back here again as Edinburgh is the best city in the world and I can't think of a better place to stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for such a complimentary review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you will return upon your next visit to Edinburgh. We look forward to seeing you then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Property: Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Address: 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the Royal Mile and near Edinburgh Castle, this boutique hotel boasts luxurious rooms, a gym and a restaurant. There are superb views across Princes Street Gardens. Fraser Suites Edinburgh features designer furniture, iPod docking stations and LCD flat-screen TVs. Luxurious bathrooms have rainfall showers, and the kitchenettes offer a microwave and refrigerator. The Broadsheet Bistro serves breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. Staff at Fraser Suites are friendly and welcoming ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Suites Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing