We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Ranked #52 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
1 review
“Nice central hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Very clean and welcoming hotel, nice staff and location. Bar facilities would enhance the place as they stop at 9pm? Would recommend.
Used the hotel when going to military tattoo and was only 3 minutes walk.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, we are happy that you found our property to be both convenient and clean and your suggestions for a Bar has been forwarded to the F&B for consideration.

We look forward to welcoming you back and we thank you for your kind recommendation.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    584
    170
    69
    28
See reviews for
230
878
72
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We booked this hotel for our wedding night. Big mistake. The suite we booked was unbearably hot. There was a small fan in the corner which we sat in front of while they tried to find us another room. We were offered another room which was a slight improvement and had a bigger fan so we moved. We again had to sit in front of the fan. The window did not open more than a couple of inches, apparently for health and safety reasons.
We didn't sleep at all and had to douse ourselves with wet towels throughout the night and lie as close to the fan as possible.
In the morning management showed no understanding, sympathy or regret and simply told us that it was not the hotels fault that it was a heat wave (it had been 19 degrees that day and had rained the 4 days prior to this).
We overheard at least another 5 people complaining of the same problem.
Do not book this hotel unless it is in the middle of winter...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaKT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest

We are saddened to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, the original room assigned was a Suite located on level four, which is larger both in the size of the room and window, hence I am surprised to find that you found it to be too hot, as up to that point we had never received any comments to that nature.

However sensitive to your request and owing to the high occupancy, my colleague offer you the only other attentive room on level seven, which was accepted after viewing.

The room that you were in, is heated via a radiator and this was clearly off at the time, fans are provided in all rooms and upon request, additional would have been made available.

We understand your frustration however, with the actual temperature on the 2 August 2013 being 23 degrees, (making the 1st and 2nd August 2013 the hottest days of the month), there are limitations to the control that we can exert and we are sorry that we were unable to offer any further relief.

Thank you for your time and feedback.

Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I visited Edinburgh with my husband and my 6 year old son. The location of the hotel was great for us because it’s so close to the royal mile. The staff were very friendly and gave good recommendations of restaurants. The rooms were quite spacious, and because it is also a residential hotel, we had access to basic utensils and cooking devices. I would highly recommend this place to anyone interested in visiting Edinburgh (It’s very close to Edinburgh Castle and Waverley Station). It is good for attending the Military Tattoo, because the tattoo ends over 11:00 pm, and you might appreciate a short walk back to the your hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are happy to hear that you found our room to be spacious and that the in room facilities, location to be convenient and that my team were able to assist to enhance your experience in Edinburgh.

We hope to have an the opportunity to welcome you back and we thank you for choosing and recommending Fraser Suites Edinburgh.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Take a cab from the Train Station. It's a short walk, but uphill the whole way an well worth paying the £4 fare. We checked in and were excited that we were only 200 ft off of the Royal Mile right by St. Giles Cathedral.

We had to get a 2nd room for our daughters to stay in which was two doors down. This wasn't too inconvenient though. The old hotel had been renovated nicely. There were some stains on the carpet which could've been have been removed (but understandable with the amount of rain they get).

The only issue we had was with the guest laundry, which was complimentary. The washer worked fine. However, both dryers were not working correctly and did not dry our clothes, even after several dry cycles.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spacityrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very for taking the time to share your experience with us, we are happy that you found our property to be conveniently located within the Royal Mile and that we were able to house you and family within close proximity. We have noted your feedback on the dryers and have taken actions to rectify the issue.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

As most reviewers have already stated: this hotel is in a great location, tucked just off the Royal Mile.

We were in Room 203, an Executive Suite. I expect a suite to have a separate bedroom but this was not the case. Although the suite was large and included a kitchenette, it was poorly designed and thought out. For example: the suite has cutlery, flatware, glasses, etc for two, yet it has a table with 4 dining chairs. I would rather have had a smaller table for two and had a sofa in the suite. There is no mirror at the dressing table.

Our suite had 3 very large windows, so looked very bright when we arrived. Unfortunately, the room was overlooked by other buildings (and workmen on scaffolding). Because the windows had no voile, for privacy we had to keep the blinds down. As I said: poorly designed.

There were little niggles like the tea-making facilities in the room. There were two of us staying in the room, but the maid would always leave 3 milk cartons, so we always had to ask reception for more.

Obviously, August must be an incredibly busy time at the hotel, but check-in was muddled and frantic and not the best of welcomes.

Now, I’m someone who enjoys a cooked breakfast: it’s a holiday treat. Unfortunately, the cooked breakfast at Fraser Suites was very disappointing, it was heavy with grease and tasteless. After the first morning, I stuck to toast and cereal

The room was clean and staff were friendly and there was nothing that I felt justified complaining to the manage. However, having stayed at a Standard double at a Radissson Blu airport hotel the night before, we felt that the Radisson standard room was of a better standard than the executive suite at Fraser Suites. We noticed a Radisson Blu further down the Royal Mile and will probably stay there next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spaldingtyner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
I am saddened to learn that we fell short of your expectation during your recent stay at Fraser Suites Edinburgh.
Had you brought this to me or any of my Management team's attention we would have endeavoured to alleviate the issues at the time.
We have several different rooms type which have been cleverly designed to make the most of the original features and the unique layout, no two rooms are the same! I am sorry you thought the room you were allocated was not well appointed. We do have a vast amount of additional furniture and equipment to assist with guest requests and needs. As a company we specialise in the extended stay market so we are always prepared for every type of guest request.
The breakfast is managed externally, however I appreciate your feedback and have passed on to the management team accordingly.
Thanks again for taking time to write your review and hope that we do have opportunity to welcome you back some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Fabulous location just a few yards from the Royal Mile and everything Edinburgh has to offer. The ease of check in along with friendly reception staff who went out of their way to make sure our stay was welcoming and comfortable. Great local knowledge of Edinburgh and only too happy to make sure you get the most out of your stay in what is a great city.

John and Carol

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoveheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting a review. It is our goal to make all our guest feel welcome and comfortable and we are glad that we have achieved it with you. We look forward to your return hopefully in the near future. Once again, thank you.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Overall, a nice place with a great location. That being said, I expect more from a place that costs so much. No air conditioning?!? The water-cooled fan made my room smell like dead fish, and the room was too hot during the day. A nice breeze would have helped, but impossible with a window that was prevented from opening more than 2 inches. And last, £14 for a buffet breakfast is just plain silly when you can get a wonderful cooked breakfast at the cafe next door for under £10. Pros: great location for Edinburgh Castle (& Tattoo), Royal Mile, Fringe Festival, etc. Clean Rooms, and friendly staff.
Free WiFi can be a bit of a pain to log onto, and isn't that fast when you do.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzzerfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Many thanks for taking time to feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry you did not feel as if we provided value for money. We are priced according to the market average for similar properties of comparable location. I have passed on your comments to our Restaurant Manager regarding breakfast.
We have had a wonderful summer with exceptionally warm and muggy temperatures that are extremely unusual for Scotland! We continuously tried to alleviate the heat by fully opening the top-sections of the original sash & case windows and by adding stand alone air conditioning units.
Your warm comments about the staff team are greatly appreciated, I thank you again for your review and hope that we have the opportunity in the future to welcome you back to Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Property: Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Address: 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the Royal Mile and near Edinburgh Castle, this boutique hotel boasts luxurious rooms, a gym and a restaurant. There are superb views across Princes Street Gardens. Fraser Suites Edinburgh features designer furniture, iPod docking stations and LCD flat-screen TVs. Luxurious bathrooms have rainfall showers, and the kitchenettes offer a microwave and refrigerator. The Broadsheet Bistro serves breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. Staff at Fraser Suites are friendly and welcoming ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Suites Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing