We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Old Town Chambers(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Inn Place(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Stay Central Hotel(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Inn on the Mile(Edinburgh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,786)
Filter reviews
1,786 results
Traveler rating
817
660
190
83
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
817
660
190
83
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal milesmall kitchenettegreat locationjunior suitegiles cathedraltrain stationone bedroom apartmentkitchen areaclassic roomprinces street gardenshigh streetreception stafflovely roomcentral locationfringe festivalfew minutes walkcooked breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,039 - 1,044 of 1,786 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The location of this hotel – especially during the festival – could not be better. It is located on a quiet street while still in the midst of all the festival fracas. The hotel is stylish both outside and in.
Our room was well decorated, however, we probably should have booked a larger room. We found it a bit cramped for two of us to move about comfortably. As mentioned in quite a few previous reviews, while it was not even that warm outside, the room was very stuffy. Even with the fans, the air was not circulating. I think it was just the location of the room – at the back of the hotel with full sun most of the day. And I hated the fact that you have a huge sash window but the can only open it about 4 inches. The bathroom was fabulous and loved the L’Occitane toiletries. No complaints with housekeeping. Our room was spotless.
We would have liked if there had been more than 2 of everything in the room - especially when it came to the tea and coffee. We tend to like a coffee before turning in and also in the AM before going out of the hotel. While replenished daily, it meant we were limited to 1 each per day.
In terms of breakfast, if you choose not to include in your room price, there is so much choice in the area - only steps from your door - that it is no problem to find a nice cafe or restaurant for breakfast.
We found the staff helpful and friendly. And leaving the luggage on checkout day is no problem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris63Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Chris63Glasgow
Thank you for your feedback, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us that you like our hotel design, the location, service and the amenities that are placed in the rooms, tea/coffee, snacks, with L’Occitane toiletries being a recent change to our line up of in room offerings, which are replenished able and upon request. We are glad to be a part of your visit to Edinburgh and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed for the weekend. Perfect location, a stumble from everything you'll want to visit. Room top class, staff friendly, restaurant for lunch was lovely. Breakfast over-priced and not great but a lovely little cafe next door sorted us out!

Room Tip: If you pay extra for a suite you get an above average experience.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Excellent to learn that you had a good stay at Fraser Suites Edinburgh. Disappointed to hear breakfast did not meet your expectation, I have passed on your feedback to the Food Service Manager.
Thanks again for your custom and hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location to explore Edinburgh. Steps to the hustle and bustle of the Royal Mile and the sites of the Old Town but on a quiet side street. We arrived early and the front desk staff tagged and put away our bags so we could continue our sight seeing until a later check-in. Any staff we encountered during our stay were helpful and friendly.
Our stay was during a warm spell and our room had been supplied with a large fan that kept the room temperature comfortable for sleeping. Many guests were complaining about lack of air conditioning but as the front desk staff graciously explained this warm weather was unusual for Scotland. In Canada and the United States we would call this a boutique hotel. Our room was clean, and serviced daily. We kept in touch with family at home with free internet. We would stay again at Fraser Suites.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Many thanks for your wonderful review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Fraser Suites Edinburgh.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a very pleasant hotel to stay in and very conveniantly situated about 20mtrs from the Royal Mile/High St. and a fairly short walk to Waverly rail station via the "News Stairs" at the rear of the hotel . Room was large enough with partial view of Edinburgh Castle and has large old style windows that can be opened marginally if so desired.
Buffet breakfast is average but staff worked hard as did reception who were most helpful, and evening meals can be had at various eateries on the Royal Mile. A favouite place for us was the "Royal Mcgregor" pub on the Mile.
Edinburgh is a very interesting city with so much to see and do,pity we could not have stayed longer than 5 days.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Monalisa
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with here at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, we are delighted that you found the room and service to your expectation and we hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is not far from Edinburgh Castle, Scott Monument, and the Royal Mile, which is great. It's in need of some maintenance but it's clean. I would not recommend breakfast in the restaurant. We had breakfast as part of our rate and were disappointed. The buffet was not replenished in a timely manner, there was limited selections, and it was not very good. Surprisingly, it was a rather quiet hotel despite being so close to the Royal Mile.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
We have a continuous maintenance and CARE program at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, with exceptional occupancy rates maintenance work is carried out throughout the year.
I have passed on your comments to our Restaurant manager regarding breakfast. Since your stay we have made many changes to improve this breakfast offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews