We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation in supurb location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Ranked #56 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This excellent establishment offers superior accomodation with friendly staff and good service.Ourstay was over a weekend with the maratho being run and the staff copes verywell with the influx of athletes

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimburge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear jimburge1

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. My team and I are pleased to learn that you found our room and our service was to excellent. We look forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,660)
There are newer reviews for Fraser Suites Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

952 - 958 of 1,661 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic stay...great location. Walk out the door and you're on The Royal Mile! The Edinburgh Castle 2 minutes walk. pubs..restaurants....The Fraser Suites are the most affordable way to stay. Better than any hotel! Our room was gorgeous with full kitchen and living room. These places are immaculate...and totally unique! Also stayed in London and Glasgow Fraser Suites. All top notch with the most helpful staff!
Katie s!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kate s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear kate s

Thank you for your wonderful review and for staying at Fraser Suites Edinburgh. We are delighted that we were able to 'WOW' you and leave a lasting impression on your choice of preferred accommodation. Comments like yours give us much encouragement and makes us strive harder to keep it up. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

A very comfortable hotel just at the royal mile. A good breakfast and helpfull staff. We got one of the larger rooms on sevent floor and two things i missed i the room was a shoehorn and coat hooks in the hall.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miwi76sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Miwi76sweden

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you liked our service, comfortable room and breakfast. We hope to see you again at Fraser Suites Edinburgh.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

As others have said, the location of this hotel is very good. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was plentiful. Some of the floors slope in this old building, which can make for a strange feeling when you walk across them, especially with jetlag! A few quibbles: The rooms have been updated but the carpets are very dirty and that dampens the modernization effect immediately. The bathrooms are also updated, and have good water pressure in the shower. But the designer was no bright spark...why put in a teak bath panel without full protection from shower spray and overflow, or unless it will be oiled or refinished regularly? Predictably, the teak veneer is now warped and black, which is unappealing and looks dirty even if the bathroom is clean. A second design fault is that the mirror is so far away when you stand at the sink that it is impossible to shave or apply makeup. Perhaps management could consider adding a lighted extendable vanity mirror. However, overall, we enjoyed our stay and would consider a return visit as the location cannot be beaten for walking to the major sites and sights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funfetoile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear MoreStars

Thank you for staying at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and for sharing some of the highlights.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Clean, comfortable, spacious room. Nicely updated bathroom and closet/kitchenette area. Our room, on the third floor overlooked the Princess Street Gardens. The staff was courteous and solicitous. But, above all, the location was perfect for us and our short stay. Just off the main thoroughfare, yet convenient to all locations important to us on our two-day visit. Up a flight of stairs from the Waverly Train Station, the central city tour buses, and the terminal stop for the airport bus, it was just a few blocks from the castle, the national museum, the nation gallery etc.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Princess Street Gardens enjoy a great view. Can't speak to the other...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaSearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear California Searcher

Thank you for sharing your experience and leaving an excellent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our service, the room and location of our property. We certainly hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Travelled to Edinburgh recently with my dad and sister and stayed for just 2 nights in a one bedroom apartment. The hotel had a great location just steps from the Royal Mile and our top floor room had a view up to the castle through the attic-style windows. My sister and I shared the bedroom-- which was very comfortable and a pretty good size even with both suitcases in there. The hotel had already prepped a single fold out bed for my dad in the lounge area. The apartment also came with a kitchenette and fridge, plus a 4 seater dining room table. Very clean, very nice and helpful staff and wish we could have stayed longer. Loved the bathrobes too! Total cost was a tiny bit over our budget, but definitely worth it.

No complaints about the stay. However, the shower with a half door often splashed large puddles of water down the wood siding of the tub and onto the floor with it's design. Not an issue for us, we could easily mop it up with the bathmat, but it would be a shame to see any water damage because of the shower in such a historic building.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraKate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear SaraKate 1

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Fraser Suites Edinburgh and sharing your experience. Your glowing review is most appreciated. We are happy that you like the great view and the spaciousness of the apartment.

We certainly look forward to another opportunity of accommodating you and your family again!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Here is the deal...We stayed in Room 413....There is no Air Conditioning in the room, and walking into the room is stuffy. There is a thermostat in the room, and was told by a front desk personnel to turn it all the way down to make it cool, but there will be no air coming from the vents? When that didn't work, called back to inquire, and another front desk personnel informed that the thermostat was only for heat, not air conditioning? When we requested a room change, they tried to put us on the second floor overlooking a construction site, and we politely declined. After arguing with the management, we were provided 3 tower fans to cool the room, and there was no way we could have made it through the night without the fans.

Carpets are filthy, and I mean filthy, we walked around the room with our shoes around.

Lastly, Gary from the management team needs to participate in a leadership course, as he needs to know how to interact/interface with customers. He was flat out rude to my wife when we were bringing up the issues with the room, and that is un-acceptable.

People there are plenty of other hotels in the area, and skip Fraser Suites and go elsewhere. Two thumbs down!

Happy Travels!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

I fully understand your upset but I am a little surprised that you did not mention the quick response and solution to the issues you received immediately after we learned about the problems.
I hope that after we turned off the heating, opened your windows, hand scrubbed the black mark off the carpet and installed three cooling towers your room was comfortable
Thank you for your email that we received to thank us for taking care of your issues at check in, it was extremely kind .
It was a pleasure meeting with you both and we wish you a pleasant journey home .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
982 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,334 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Address: 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $119 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the Royal Mile and near Edinburgh Castle, this boutique hotel boasts luxurious rooms, a gym and a restaurant. There are superb views across Princes Street Gardens. Fraser Suites Edinburgh features designer furniture, iPod docking stations and LCD flat-screen TVs. Luxurious bathrooms have rainfall showers, and the kitchenettes offer a microwave and refrigerator. The Broadsheet Bistro serves breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. Staff at Fraser Suites are friendly and welcoming ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fraser Suites Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing