We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Ranked #58 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

As others have said, the location of this hotel is very good. Staff are friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was plentiful. Some of the floors slope in this old building, which can make for a strange feeling when you walk across them, especially with jetlag! A few quibbles: The rooms have been updated but the carpets are very dirty and that dampens the modernization effect immediately. The bathrooms are also updated, and have good water pressure in the shower. But the designer was no bright spark...why put in a teak bath panel without full protection from shower spray and overflow, or unless it will be oiled or refinished regularly? Predictably, the teak veneer is now warped and black, which is unappealing and looks dirty even if the bathroom is clean. A second design fault is that the mirror is so far away when you stand at the sink that it is impossible to shave or apply makeup. Perhaps management could consider adding a lighted extendable vanity mirror. However, overall, we enjoyed our stay and would consider a return visit as the location cannot be beaten for walking to the major sites and sights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funfetoile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear MoreStars

Thank you for staying at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and for sharing some of the highlights.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Warmest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

993 - 999 of 1,704 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

Clean, comfortable, spacious room. Nicely updated bathroom and closet/kitchenette area. Our room, on the third floor overlooked the Princess Street Gardens. The staff was courteous and solicitous. But, above all, the location was perfect for us and our short stay. Just off the main thoroughfare, yet convenient to all locations important to us on our two-day visit. Up a flight of stairs from the Waverly Train Station, the central city tour buses, and the terminal stop for the airport bus, it was just a few blocks from the castle, the national museum, the nation gallery etc.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the Princess Street Gardens enjoy a great view. Can't speak to the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaSearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear California Searcher

Thank you for sharing your experience and leaving an excellent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our service, the room and location of our property. We certainly hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Travelled to Edinburgh recently with my dad and sister and stayed for just 2 nights in a one bedroom apartment. The hotel had a great location just steps from the Royal Mile and our top floor room had a view up to the castle through the attic-style windows. My sister and I shared the bedroom-- which was very comfortable and a pretty good size even with both suitcases in there. The hotel had already prepped a single fold out bed for my dad in the lounge area. The apartment also came with a kitchenette and fridge, plus a 4 seater dining room table. Very clean, very nice and helpful staff and wish we could have stayed longer. Loved the bathrobes too! Total cost was a tiny bit over our budget, but definitely worth it.

No complaints about the stay. However, the shower with a half door often splashed large puddles of water down the wood siding of the tub and onto the floor with it's design. Not an issue for us, we could easily mop it up with the bathmat, but it would be a shame to see any water damage because of the shower in such a historic building.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaraKate1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear SaraKate 1

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Fraser Suites Edinburgh and sharing your experience. Your glowing review is most appreciated. We are happy that you like the great view and the spaciousness of the apartment.

We certainly look forward to another opportunity of accommodating you and your family again!

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Here is the deal...We stayed in Room 413....There is no Air Conditioning in the room, and walking into the room is stuffy. There is a thermostat in the room, and was told by a front desk personnel to turn it all the way down to make it cool, but there will be no air coming from the vents? When that didn't work, called back to inquire, and another front desk personnel informed that the thermostat was only for heat, not air conditioning? When we requested a room change, they tried to put us on the second floor overlooking a construction site, and we politely declined. After arguing with the management, we were provided 3 tower fans to cool the room, and there was no way we could have made it through the night without the fans.

Carpets are filthy, and I mean filthy, we walked around the room with our shoes around.

Lastly, Gary from the management team needs to participate in a leadership course, as he needs to know how to interact/interface with customers. He was flat out rude to my wife when we were bringing up the issues with the room, and that is un-acceptable.

People there are plenty of other hotels in the area, and skip Fraser Suites and go elsewhere. Two thumbs down!

Happy Travels!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

I fully understand your upset but I am a little surprised that you did not mention the quick response and solution to the issues you received immediately after we learned about the problems.
I hope that after we turned off the heating, opened your windows, hand scrubbed the black mark off the carpet and installed three cooling towers your room was comfortable
Thank you for your email that we received to thank us for taking care of your issues at check in, it was extremely kind .
It was a pleasure meeting with you both and we wish you a pleasant journey home .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We reserved a room in the Fraser hotel Edinburgh probably 5 months ago. When we arrived with our luggage at the desk, we were told we did not have a room. They said the reason was "flat roof problems". They booked us into a lesser facility, which was, at least, clean, spacious and serviceable. The clerk at this place told us Fraser "always overbooks". So, if you are not willing to take the risk of arriving at a hotel in a strange and somewhat confusing city in which to get around, avoid the Fraser.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Janet_MParkForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I fully understand that you were inconvenienced and had to be outbooked to a neighbouring hotel , however the reason for this was noting to do with a "flat roof problems". Being a grade B listed building in the heart of the Old Town we do not have a flat roof.
We certainly do not make a habit of out booking our valued guests and have actually never outbooked to this particular hotel previously.
It is regrettable that you were outbooked to another property, it is not in our interest to give business away.
Should you wish to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact me directly on 0131 221 7200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Excellent location for exploring all of Edinburgh. The rooms are a little dated, but comfortable. The only disappointment was the lack of lunch and dinner options (and no room service) at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. And upgrade to one of the bigger rooms if you are traveling with someone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MirandaPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

I am sorry you stayed with us juts before the re-launch of The Broadsheet Bistro which now serves a full Scottish breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner. We also offer delicious afternoon tea and a Light Bite menu to suite all tastes.
I hope we get the chance to see you again soon where you can sample the Scottish fayre in our restaurant first hand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Fraser Suites is strategically located in the heart of the old town. A short walk to most of the attractions including some great restaurants. A park is located near by as is the train station. The reception staff were very polite and helpful, as were the restaurant staff. Room was good but not great. Bed was comfortable and well presented on arrival. The cooling air conditioner in the room did not appear to work, and as a result the room was always warm, which is good if you were staying here in winter, but in summer it lead to a warm nights sleep. Breakfast buffet was light and satisfying but not overly filling. The wifi is free, and speed was good. My only minor complaint is that I was having to constantly sign in via their internal login every 30 - 45 minutes. The fitness centre was good and had basic essential equipment in good working condition. There is a guest laundry which I wish I knew about before sending our clothes away to be washed *sigh*. Very good hotel in a great location!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Our breakfast buffet has since been improved, we offer a sumptuous variety of both hot and cold items which is available daily on the Broadsheet Bistro.
I am sorry the internet kept asking you to sign back in, we are working with our providers to ensure guests remain online longer.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#85 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,406 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Address: 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $109 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the Royal Mile and near Edinburgh Castle, this boutique hotel boasts luxurious rooms, a gym and a restaurant. There are superb views across Princes Street Gardens. Fraser Suites Edinburgh features designer furniture, iPod docking stations and LCD flat-screen TVs. Luxurious bathrooms have rainfall showers, and the kitchenettes offer a microwave and refrigerator. The Broadsheet Bistro serves breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. Staff at Fraser Suites are friendly and welcoming ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Suites Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing