We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Nearby Hotels
$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$115
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$565
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$299
$195
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$187
$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$319
$204
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$100
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$135
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,802)
Filter reviews
1,802 results
Traveler rating
823
668
191
84
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
823
668
191
84
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal milesmall kitchenettegreat locationjunior suitegiles cathedraltrain stationone bedroom apartmentkitchen areaclassic roomprinces street gardenshigh streetreception stafflovely roomcentral locationfringe festivalfew minutes walkcooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,070 - 1,075 of 1,802 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Here is the deal...We stayed in Room 413....There is no Air Conditioning in the room, and walking into the room is stuffy. There is a thermostat in the room, and was told by a front desk personnel to turn it all the way down to make it cool, but there will be no air coming from the vents? When that didn't work, called back to inquire, and another front desk personnel informed that the thermostat was only for heat, not air conditioning? When we requested a room change, they tried to put us on the second floor overlooking a construction site, and we politely declined. After arguing with the management, we were provided 3 tower fans to cool the room, and there was no way we could have made it through the night without the fans.

Carpets are filthy, and I mean filthy, we walked around the room with our shoes around.

Lastly, Gary from the management team needs to participate in a leadership course, as he needs to know how to interact/interface with customers. He was flat out rude to my wife when we were bringing up the issues with the room, and that is un-acceptable.

People there are plenty of other hotels in the area, and skip Fraser Suites and go elsewhere. Two thumbs down!

Happy Travels!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jb_ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

I fully understand your upset but I am a little surprised that you did not mention the quick response and solution to the issues you received immediately after we learned about the problems.
I hope that after we turned off the heating, opened your windows, hand scrubbed the black mark off the carpet and installed three cooling towers your room was comfortable
Thank you for your email that we received to thank us for taking care of your issues at check in, it was extremely kind .
It was a pleasure meeting with you both and we wish you a pleasant journey home .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We reserved a room in the Fraser hotel Edinburgh probably 5 months ago. When we arrived with our luggage at the desk, we were told we did not have a room. They said the reason was "flat roof problems". They booked us into a lesser facility, which was, at least, clean, spacious and serviceable. The clerk at this place told us Fraser "always overbooks". So, if you are not willing to take the risk of arriving at a hotel in a strange and somewhat confusing city in which to get around, avoid the Fraser.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Janet_MParkForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. I fully understand that you were inconvenienced and had to be outbooked to a neighbouring hotel , however the reason for this was noting to do with a "flat roof problems". Being a grade B listed building in the heart of the Old Town we do not have a flat roof.
We certainly do not make a habit of out booking our valued guests and have actually never outbooked to this particular hotel previously.
It is regrettable that you were outbooked to another property, it is not in our interest to give business away.
Should you wish to discuss further please do not hesitate to contact me directly on 0131 221 7200

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Excellent location for exploring all of Edinburgh. The rooms are a little dated, but comfortable. The only disappointment was the lack of lunch and dinner options (and no room service) at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. And upgrade to one of the bigger rooms if you are traveling with someone.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

I am sorry you stayed with us juts before the re-launch of The Broadsheet Bistro which now serves a full Scottish breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner. We also offer delicious afternoon tea and a Light Bite menu to suite all tastes.
I hope we get the chance to see you again soon where you can sample the Scottish fayre in our restaurant first hand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Fraser Suites is strategically located in the heart of the old town. A short walk to most of the attractions including some great restaurants. A park is located near by as is the train station. The reception staff were very polite and helpful, as were the restaurant staff. Room was good but not great. Bed was comfortable and well presented on arrival. The cooling air conditioner in the room did not appear to work, and as a result the room was always warm, which is good if you were staying here in winter, but in summer it lead to a warm nights sleep. Breakfast buffet was light and satisfying but not overly filling. The wifi is free, and speed was good. My only minor complaint is that I was having to constantly sign in via their internal login every 30 - 45 minutes. The fitness centre was good and had basic essential equipment in good working condition. There is a guest laundry which I wish I knew about before sending our clothes away to be washed *sigh*. Very good hotel in a great location!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. Our breakfast buffet has since been improved, we offer a sumptuous variety of both hot and cold items which is available daily on the Broadsheet Bistro.
I am sorry the internet kept asking you to sign back in, we are working with our providers to ensure guests remain online longer.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for a few days in June 2013 and the quality of the hotel really added to the trip. The room was beautiful and very clean. The location which is just off the royal mile was perfect for getting around the city but was not noisy. Finally the staff were excellent. They were all polite and very friendly and the team on the front desk especially a girl called shay really went the extra mile when it came to offering advise about the city, phoning around restaurants to help with dinner reservations and even sorted out some parcel tape when my suit bag broke. We would definitely come back.

Dr. & Mrs Aldis

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

We pride ourselves on delivering a gold standard of customer service to our guests, o receive such a kind review is very rewarding.
We thank you for taking time to comment on your stay and look forward to welcoming you again soon to Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews