We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Ranked #51 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

I went to Scotland for Hogmanay. The hotel was in a great location- right off the Royal Mile and everything was in walking distance. The rooms were small but very clean. The bathroom was pretty big. Hotel staff were polite and told us information about the city- even if we called late at night. I felt safe in the hotel; after 10 PM, you can only enter hotel with your key card. The continental breakfast was simple; cereal, cheese and meats. They do offer a hot breakfast, you just have to ask for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind reiview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    584
    170
    69
    28
See reviews for
230
878
72
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a very nice, comfortable, friendly and clean hotel. But the best attribute is the location. Steps from the chuch and just about everything else. You can walk for 20 or so in any direction and see everything including Holyrood House, Edinburght Castle, start of trail to Arthur's seat, GrassMarket, etc. But the constant up and down of the terrain can be a challenge so bring comfortable shoes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LlewellynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind reiview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We come every summer for the Fringe, more then 12 years now. We have tried a lot of four-star hotels, and have now settled on the Frasier Suite.

Service is basically non existent, don't bother asking anyone for anything, but the location is great and the rooms are very nice.

The location is really perfect, in the middle of all the fun in the summer. No more than 15 minutes from any of the venues.

All the rooms are different (really different), ask to see a few when you check in before you settle in. We now pay the small premium for a suite in advance, definitely worst the extra $ (They have a fridge and microwave oven).

Breakfast is really pathetic, don't bother paying for breakfast inclusive, just go to the small cafe next door (much nicer and very friendly staff).

Room Tip: ask to see a couple of rooms at check in, they are all very different, Pay the premium when making...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivier L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

thank you very much for your feedback, although I am not sure about some of your comments. I would be grateful if you could contact me personally on zsolt.jakri@frasershospitality.com prior to your next visit to discuss your specific requirements, as I do want to keep every guest happy especially a regular guest, and you do not seem to be satisfied with us but you do return to us every summer. Please help me to help you to make your stay perfect next time.

It would be brilliant if you could share your thoughts in detail on why you feel we have staff and service issues as an overwhelming majority of the comments mention the exceptional customer service and the helpful staff.

I am looking forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
islandmagee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

My sister and i booked this hotel as a birthday surprise for my mother and her sister in early Dec. We both received a complimentry upgrade to a one bedroomed deluxe apartment which was clean,beautifully decorated and had superb views overlooking Princess Gdns.The staff were friendly,courteous and nothing was too much bother. The apartments are in a fantastic location just off the royal mile and only 5 mins walk from the airport bus stop. We would def recommend The Fraser Suite apartments and will definately be returning in the near future.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherineIslandmagee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind reiview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

One of the most wonderful hotels I've ever stayed. Friendly stuff, nice view, beautiful and comfortable room, excellent location and delicious breakfast! Next time I visit Edinburgh I will stay there again for sure!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vasilikiathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind reiview.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I stayed at the Frasers Edinburgh back in November 2012 for a weekend away with my girlfriend.
Arrival to the hotel was met by a warm reception from the front desk followed by a speedy check in.
When we entered the room the first impression was the fantastic view accross Princes Street gardens and of the Scott monument, We had requested a room with a view when we made our reservation and were not dissapointed.
The hotel generally was very clean and tidy, the room could have done with a good dusting and little bits around the room could have been a bit tidier but not enough for us to warrant complaining about.
The Breakfast, i have to say, was terrible! We stayed 3 nights, payed for breakfast in advance at 10 pound pp per day. Each day the warm breakfast was cold and most items were unavailable, the continental was not much better with very little choice.
Apart from the small problem with the food we enjoyed our stay at the Frasers and would highly recommend Edinburgh for a weekend away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSEManager, Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights over Xmas, & the location was excellent. But the cleanliness of the room left something to be desired. The carpets were stained & there was a layer of dust over surfaces. The kitchen was really handy though. One of the main gripes {apart from cleanliness} was the lack of info about how to use things in the room, for instance, the shower was really complicated, the hairdrier was too! & the room was far too hot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with views towards Princes Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzyvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZJakri, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

thank you very much for your feedback. I would be grateful if you could contact me directly on zsolt.jakri@frasershospitality.com as I would like to locate the room you stayed in and had issues with.

We are in the process of re-printing our guest directories, so on your next visit you will find the instruction manuals on your desk again.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Property: Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Address: 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the Royal Mile and near Edinburgh Castle, this boutique hotel boasts luxurious rooms, a gym and a restaurant. There are superb views across Princes Street Gardens. Fraser Suites Edinburgh features designer furniture, iPod docking stations and LCD flat-screen TVs. Luxurious bathrooms have rainfall showers, and the kitchenettes offer a microwave and refrigerator. The Broadsheet Bistro serves breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. Staff at Fraser Suites are friendly and welcoming ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fraser Suites Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing