We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary & Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Ranked #50 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Contemporary & Clean”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Loved this boutique hotel, great location! Staff was friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Dear L B,

thank you very much for your short, but brilliant review. You are absolutely right, Fraser Suites Edinburgh is a great blend of a traditional, listed building and contemporary, modern accommodation and perfect service in a fantastic location.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    598
    173
    70
    29
See reviews for
236
896
72
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were delighted with the Fraser Suites. Our room was clean, comfortable, and stylish. It couldn't have been better located, just off the Royal Mile. The staff was very helpful. Internet is free in the lobby. We would definitely stay there on a future trip. Our one complaint had to do with the breakfast that was offered in the adjacent dining area. Breakfast was not included in our hotel rate, so we paid for breakfast the first morning. In a country where the hotel breakfasts are usually extraordinary, we were appalled by the offering there. For 9 pounds they had a continental breakfast that I would have been disappointed with if it were free. A full breakfast was 15 pounds. On future mornings we found our breakfast elsewhere for a lot less. Try the nearby Elephant where parts of Harry Potter were written.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your brilliant review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and it is fantastic to hear that my team delivered the service we are famous for.

With regards to the breakfast, we now have a completely new menu, a wide continental selection and hot food cooked to order. In addition to this, we now offer great breakfast inclusive rates. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will be happy to offer you the best available rates.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The hotel is situated in the old center, we could walk to every place. The room was quiet and very nice. Not perfectly clean, cushions were stained but still good for the price. Staff was very helpful and professional. We enjoyed out stay and will go back if we get the same rate for the superior room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muriel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

thank you for another brilliant review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Fraser Suites Edinburgh. As you rightly mentioned, our location is probably the best in the city, very central, but quiet. It is also very reassuring to see that my team once again delivered the expected level of service.

Once again, thank you very much for your comments, I am looking forward to welcoming you back.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
211 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The hotel is right on the Royal Mile in the centre of Edinburgh and is central for all of the city. The reception were friendly and efficient and the rooms had everything you could need (except for robes). They are equiped with a mini-kitchen including fridge, microwave and toaster with complimentary tea, coffee, milk and water. The usual toiletries were supplied in the bathroom.
We were in room 206 facing a building site - they did not work at the weekend so it was fine, but I wouldnt be happy about getting up early during the week. The room was clean except for the shelves in the bathroom which were very dusty to the point where I had to clean the hand mirror to see in it, but this was a minor issue.
There are loads of plugs and mirrors for the ladies to use hairdryers, tongs, etc.

The only negative was that the water supply and toilet is operated by a pump which is quite noisy if used during the night.

It would be good for the management to make the courtesy bus available at weekends and not
just during the week.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the building works
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Windymillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

thank you very much for your fantastic, detailed review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Our shuttle service is available Monday-Friday, but we are now offering personalised tours and transfers during the weekends, too. On your next visit you may be able to use our free wifi service, too, as it is now close to completion, as is the building next door!

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The location of the hotel is perfect for all the main tourist sites. Our room was comfortable and had a nice view of the city. There isn't much to the hotel other than the rooms so this is definitely more of a place for people (like us) who plan to spend the day out and about and just want a (very nice) bed to sleep.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BritBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

thank you very much for your review. As some time has now passed since your last visit, I would urge you to stay with us again, as there have been so many changes here, and I am positive you would enjoy your stay even more.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for the best offers.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at Fraser Suites Edinburgh from 17 June - 19 June. I had written to the hotel prior to our stay to mention it was a surprise visit for my husbands Birthday and requested a high floor room with a view.

On arrival our room wasn't ready so we left our bags and ventured into Edinburgh for a few hours. We returned at 3pm and they were just finishing off the housekeeping, we were able to wait in the lovely reception area which was fine. The room was worth waiting for as it was stunning! The view was right across to Princes St and as we were high up we didn't have any buildings to obscure the view. The room was really nicely furnished with a really comfortable bed, we didn't make use of the microwave or toaster but liked those touches and appreciated the kettle and complimentary tea/coffee.

We didn't try the breakfast in the bistro as there are so many lovely places nearby to try but each time we walked past we noticed there was no one in. We couldn't understand why this was as the cafe the other side of the hotel was always busy.

As others have said, the location is unbeatable. 5 mins walk from the rail station and very central to all the attractions/shops etc. We had some lovely meals out and will need to return again to try out others that we didn't have time to visit this trip!

Our only slight gripe was with the bathroom, the shower screen didn't fit on the bath properly so every time we took a shower we soaked the floor. We mentioned this to the receptionist on checkout so hopefully this was noted and will be sorted for future guests.

Like a previous reviewer commented, there are building works going on near the hotel which were noisy but they didn't start before 8am which was fine for us as we wanted to be up and out and making the most of our time there. You will find a fair bit of building works going on in and around Edinburgh as they are preparing the roads for the tram which I think is expected in 2014.

Overall we had an amazing few days in Edinburgh, the hotel was perfect for what we wanted and I would definitely recommend it to friends/family. We will hopefully return later in the year!

Room Tip: Higher floor for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are always delighted to accommodate special requests, and I am very happy you enjoyed the magnificent views from your room.

Thank you for mentioning the minor issue with the bathroom panel, this has now been fixed.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back, please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your visit and we will ensure you get a great room!

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Fraser Suites is very well situated. Right in the middle of town but in a quiet street. Walking distance from the Airlink bus terminus, Edinburgh castle, The Real Mary King's Close, The Mercat cross and numerous pubs and bars (although every hotel in Edinburgh is close to numerous bars!)

The rooms are clean and adequately spacious with kitchen facilities (microwave, fridge, sink etc) and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is lovely and very good value for money. Unfortunately our lunch table was cancelled for reasons unknown so we couldn't sample other items on the menu.

When we stayed there were building works behind the hotel which woke you up. Somewhat irritating if you're looking for a lie in, but all in all a most enjoyable stay and we will use Fraser Suites when we next visit Edinburgh

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RicardoKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Fraser Suites Edinburgh, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear RicardoKent,

thank you very much for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. As you rightly mentioned, our location is unbeatable, and our service is of the highest quality. Please visit us again to see how much we have improved even since March this year.

Once again, thank you for your comments, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Fraser Suites Edinburgh.

Yours sincerely,

Zsolt Jakri
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
313 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,454 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#62 of 148 in Edinburgh
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraser Suites Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraser Suites Edinburgh

Property: Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Address: 12 - 26 St Giles Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraser Suites Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just off the Royal Mile and near Edinburgh Castle, this boutique hotel boasts luxurious rooms, a gym and a restaurant. There are superb views across Princes Street Gardens. Fraser Suites Edinburgh features designer furniture, iPod docking stations and LCD flat-screen TVs. Luxurious bathrooms have rainfall showers, and the kitchenettes offer a microwave and refrigerator. The Broadsheet Bistro serves breakfast. Dating back to the 1800s, the historic building features bespoke art from the Edinburgh College of Art. Staff at Fraser Suites are friendly and welcoming ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fraser Suites Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Hotel Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing