We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Two Hillside Crescent
Nearby Hotels
$267
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$141
$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$324
$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$179
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$265
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$106
$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$156
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$168
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$654
$509
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
201
8
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful georgian housescottish smoked salmonperfect poached eggsbreakfast was deliciouslondon roadhigh ceilingsshort walk from the centreporridgefresh berriescalton hillhelpful ownerperfect place to stayhuge roomexploring edinburghfirst floorcomfortable bedhome from home
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 209 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Truly an excellent experience. This was a very comfortable place to unwind. My family of four (two boys 11 and 14) stayed here for several days during end of term break. We rode the train here so we were hoping to find a location that allowed us to walk to the tourist destinations. The B and B is within a reasonable (but fairly active) walking distance to the train station, the Holyrood House, and Edinburgh Castle. The two rooms we booked were on the top floor. The rooms were a great size, immaculately clean, and extremely comfortable. I think we slept late almost ever day and just barely made it downstairs in time for the delicious breakfast. The bathrooms were completely modern and the rain shower was a relaxing experience. The first two days of our stay were unfortunately plagued with snow and sleet but we still ventured out into the city on foot. The cinema is really close and the Edinburgh Dungeon is right next to the train station. There are several excellent places that Elaine was able to recommend for lunch and dinner. We would definitely return for a stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Other reviews have covered the simple fact that this really is a first class place to stay in Edinburgh. Quite apart from the fact it is a fabulous 18th century building, it is the attention to detail that lifts it into a league of its own. The place is spotless, stylish and comfortable. The breakfasts are an absolute treat: leaf tea; proper cafe in a cafetierre; freshly stewed fruits; porridge; smoked salmon and scrambled eggs; the full cooked breakfast is cleanly done with the best ingredients; home made marmalade; high quality bread. Elaine is a welcoming, though thoroughly discreet host, who made us feel totally welcome. Top marks all round - we will definitely head straight there when we make a return trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alongden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

As always a last minute booking, and what luck to chose this place.
The B&B is in a beautifully restored Georgian town house near the city centre. Elaine (the co-owner) met us on our arrival. Our room (#1) was enormous (almost too big if that’s possible). The B&B was spotless everywhere. The bed was fabulous and comfy. Breakfast was delicious. Elaine and staff were lovely.
Its a 15 minute walk to Princess Street, and only 5 minutes to Broughton Street where there are some great coffee places and restaurants. Leith is 30 minutes away, and is well worth a visit for the views and fish restaurants. Basically you can walk to most places from the B&B.
I really can't think of anything to be negative about this place. It's what a boutique hotel ought to be, bit so often isn't.

Room Tip: Front rooms face a main road and are a bit noisier, though they do have shutters which help keep noise to a minimum.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

It's always a worry when you've stayed somewhere which exceeded your expectations and return for a second visit. Will it be as good as the first time or will it leave you wishing you'd tried somewhere else instead?

Having stayed at Two Hillside Crescent for a night last year, we didn't consider staying anywhere else for our return trip to Edinburgh this New Year. The rooms are still spotless, in fact all areas are spotless, the beds are still amazingly comfy, the breakfasts are delicious and the little touches Elaine delivers effortlessly makes this our favourite place to stay.

On the morning we were due to check out, Edinburgh was hit by gale force winds which meant there were no trains going south and the airport was closed. When we explained our predicament, Elaine didn't hesitate in insisting we stay another night as her guest. This is what makes this luxury B&B stand out, I truly can't imagine any hotel in Edinburgh offering the same generous level of hospitality.

We love this place and know that anybody who stays here will love it too.

Room Tip: Room No 1 is outstanding
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Barberchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Travelling back today after two night stay here with my wife. It was far beyond anything I expected. Elaine greeted us with a now commonplace smile and her helpfulness was never ending. Our room on the first floor was amazing, very spacious and beautifully presented. Our breakfasts both morning were delicious and we would definitely recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WolvesBatesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews