We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Spotless, beautifully appointed Georgian conversion, with wonderful comfort and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Two Hillside Crescent

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Two Hillside Crescent
Ranked #63 of 445 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spotless, beautifully appointed Georgian conversion, with wonderful comfort and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We really loved this place. The house is beautifully and tastefully decorated. The room was spotless, the bed ultra comfortable with stylish furniture and great attention to detail. The bathroom was modern and clean. The breakfast is the best I've ever had in any hotel, with gorgeous home made bread, and a comprehensive menu of cooked food, fruits, etc. It made our weekend all the more wonderful. The owner and staff went out of their way to be helpful. Can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Docmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
96
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
116 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Had a lovely stay wished it could have been longer. The property is stylish and standards are very high.

Our room was big and the bathroom very nice, breakfast is excellent.

Elaine is very welcoming.

Its within walking distance for the train station and shops.


If I visit Edinburgh again I would most definately stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My parents stayed here and had an amazing time. A bit more expensive than you average B&B but well worth the money!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoR1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We have just spent three wonderful nights at Two Hillside Crescent in Edinburgh. We found it on the Internet and looked forward to our stay but it exceeded all of our expectations.
Stunningly beautiful restoration of the property and our bedroom was the so tranquil and every piece of furniture and all the linens were chosen with love and care.
I would stay there again tomorrow!
Truly wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We booked a single night at 2 Hillside Crescent - the end of three weeks of driving around Scotland. It was a fine end to our trip. The bedroom we were given on the top floor of the beautiful Georgian house was enormous, beautifully decorated and spotless. It's a short walk to New Town and the restaurants there and while the house is on a very busy street, the shutters did a fine job of keeping the street noise out of the bedroom.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dennisdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, ontario
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed it! What a great place!! This is a very grand Georgian home that is beautifully decorated. Our room had amazingly high ceilings, and was quite large, luxurious, and comfortable. The bed was super comfortable, there were two very nice reading chairs, and the bathroom was large and modern. The guests all eat breakfast around one very large table, which leads to interesting conversations (and the breakfast was delicious too). Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scubalover0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Two Hillside Crescent is a very special place and I couldnt recommend it enough for anyone visiting Edinburgh.

The setting of an old Georgian house is fabulous but there is nothing old about rooms in that they are as modern and cosy as can be and we definitely felt like we were in the lap of luxury while staying there.

The breakfast in the morning time is just as delicious with a selection of fresh fruit, cereal, porridge or traditional bacon, sausage eggs etc.

It's location is ideal and within a five minute walk of Prince's Street and the Royal Mile. I cant recommend this lovely spot enough for anyone making the trip to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
No. 11 Brunswick Street
#43 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 717 reviews
Millers 64
#82 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 152 reviews
The Hedges Guest House
#20 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#4 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 428 reviews
AmarAgua Guest House
#52 of 445 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Pillars House
#87 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Hillside Crescent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Hillside Crescent

Property: Two Hillside Crescent
Address: Two Hillside Crescent | Calton, Edinburgh EH7 5DY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 445 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two Hillside Crescent is a beautifully restored Georgian Townhouse in the centre of Edinburgh offering luxury accommodation within a short walking distance of Princes Street and many city attractions. Its relaxed, welcoming atmosphere, convenient location and attention to detail make it ideal whether you’re stay is for business or leisure.We believe the two most important things about a Bed & Breakfast are indeed the Bed and the Breakfast. That is why all our beds are equipped with luxury linen, goose down duvets and Vi Spring mattresses to simply guarantee a great nights sleep (doubles are at least king sized and over 6’6” in length). Our delicious breakfast includes fresh seasonal fruit, homemade preserves and a choice of cooked breakfast all using responsibly sourced local, organic and free range produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Two Hillside Crescent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Two Hillside Crescent Hotel Edinburgh
2 Hillside Crescent
Two Hillside Crescent Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing