We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed bag...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Princes St East Backpackers
Ranked #174 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Mixed bag...”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The unpleasantness of my stay here was mostly the fault of the other guests. The cleanliness of the hostel did leave something to be desired, though. The location is great; close to everything, New town and old town. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Convention lockers provided. The common areas leaked warmth. Would stay here again for a stopover, but not for the 4 nights I originally stayed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarmenSandiego2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    22
    19
    12
    25
See reviews for
1
16
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here during the festival season and paid about 90 Pounds a day for a private double room. When we arrived at 4.30 pm, the room was not ready. At 7 pm, they gave us the keys to a room which was already taken. The rest was ok, but nothing more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My friends and I stayed in this hostel July 2011. We loved it so much, and Edinburgh that after we finished our other travels we came back in October. My friend and I ended up staying here for just over a month. There are lots of room options from dbl rooms to all girls to large shared. Rooms are spacious. Linen is clean. Bathrooms are cleaned every day. There is a tv room, and common room. Also a a kitchen with facilities to cook your own meals. Laundry services also. Everyone is so friendly! Also free dinner every Sunday night! And your 7th night accom is free! Only problem is that computers don't work. Tv is old(but who comes to watch tv anyway) Some things are run down. Overall it's a great experience and u will want to stay longer! It's in a great location also. Beware of the stairs you have to climb to get up there!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We booked this hostel at the last minute after deciding to stop in Edinburgh on a whim. They automatically put us in the cheapest beds possible, which was nice but we went back and requested a private room as we didn't want to be in shared-gender rooms. They were very accommodating, though we had to pay for the fourth bed even though there were only three of us (not complaining, it makes sense). The hostel seemed pretty safe, you weren't allowed in unless you showed the blue card that you were given at registration, during which they took down all of your ID info and made sure you were 18 years old. The staff were friendly and helpful and the atmosphere here was fun. The place was a very short walk from the Royal Mile. It was on the top floor, no lifts, all stairs. It is situated over a pub or a bar or something, which was extremely loud as we were trying to go to sleep but we were so tired that it didn't end up being a problem. The biggest problem was that towels were not provided, and we didn't have any of our own.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avery R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We had a private room which was a basic double, but had a mirror and sink which is always a bonus. Shower had plenty of hot water and good water pressure. No outside noise, or from other people staying at the hostel. Only downside was the uncomfortable spring bed - if these were replaced the place would be great. Nice cheap breakfast place around the corner. The location is very central. The place is great value for money considering the cost of hostels/hotels in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Centrally located in Princes Street. Very near to walk from Waverly Station (where train arrives from London) and also near to all food and shopping outlets. However, the downside is , no lift available and all guests must walk the stairs to the top to check-in. Guy at the reception is extremely friendly and helpful. We had a room for 3 of us and near to kitchen and bathroom. But there are other guests who are very inconsiderate and chatting away loudly right outside our door, some even lying on the floor (and they are girls!!). Cafe at the road level, 2 doors away, serves cheap and hot meals. Overall, this hostel is fine if you are on a tight budget, as it is clean and centrally located.

Room Tip: No lift/elevator available so those with heavy bags- beware ! Must walk a few floors to reach recept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jourykim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This hostel was overpriced for what it offered. We visited Edinburgh during the fringe festival and therefore came across overpriced hostels and not much availability. The staff were friendly and helpful, the kitchen was well stocked and the common room was big enough with a couple of computers for use (you have to pay) and wifi is NOT free and at the time, my friend was unable to use it as it is not compatible for Macs.
The location is excellent. The beds were terrible. There were lockers for personal belongings. The showers were not great but not bad. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraoverseas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#16 of 212 in Edinburgh
400 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#17 of 212 in Edinburgh
162 reviews
Containers Hostel
#81 of 212 in Edinburgh
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes St East Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes St East Backpackers

Property: Princes St East Backpackers
Address: 5 West Register Street, Edinburgh EH2 2AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 212 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Princes St East Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing