We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If its good enough for Tom Kerridge its good enough for us !”
Review of The Fishmarket

The Fishmarket
Ranked #1,048 of 3,022 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having seen this on tv a few weeks ago we decided to give it a try, well we were not disappointed, arrived around midday no chance of a table (booking recommended) so we had the lot cheaper take out Haddock & Chips, do not confuse cheaper with quality it was megga, Ok so we had one of the most beautiful days to eat out on the old jetty at Newhaven but none the less this is the best F&Cs we have ever had even better than the Happy Haddock in Kirkwall & that's saying something, Anstruther you have serious competition!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TaxiManScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I think it’s riding high off Tom Kerridge visiting the food is ok but nothing special and the customer service appalling. We booked for 2 but could not get a baby sitter last minute so asked if they could accommodate a small one! No infact no attempt despite whilst we queued to get a take away the was 2 empty tables of 4 for the duration we sat and ate our takeaway. Certainly would not return. I think there are better local places to visit

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Sawstongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were staying in the Leith Premier Inn and saw this chip shop / restaurant. We recognised it as on that has been in TV a few weeks ago. There were no tables available so we decided to get a take away. The queue was about 20 people strong. It took us 1 HOUR to get our food!!!! The fish was very good the chips nothing special. My son had the burger which was nothing special.

The system is that you queue (40 mins), tell a chap which fish you want and he cooks it (fish take about 5-7 minutes to cook). You then in the same line queue to pay (10 mins). Then wait for your food (10 mins).

We then eat of food on the tables outside.

I have no idea why it took so long... there seemed to be no reason at all... bizarre!!!!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank magicdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the third time we have visited the fish market and quite simply it is the best batter I have ever tasted and the freshest haddock I have ever had due to the Restaurant being attached to welches fish the premier fishmonger in leith
The only obvious downside is the length of the queue
I get it food is cooked when you order but over half an hour is too long

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank brusky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited at lunchtime, no seats available so bought take away and found seat outside. Cons: chaotic ordering system, disposable cutlery and paper napkins not easy to spot for those eating outside, also drinks and chargeable sauces not obvious, had to return to buy these items. Pros: the chips were fine, average chip shop quality, nothing special. The haddock was good but batter was undercooked, where it was nice and crispy it was lovely but too much stodgy white uncooked. It's a nice place to sit out, there are only four tables so communal eating. Wasn't quite up to the hype though fish certainly fresh.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chocsEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fishmarket also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Fishmarket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing