We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect little B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hedges Guest House
Ranked #25 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect little B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Hedges is a real gem, and I'm so glad we found it on our first trip to Edinburgh. Heather was so welcoming and genuine, and made us feel completely at home. The rooms we stayed in was newly decorated and finished to a very high standard. We loved the choice of breakfast (the fruit platter with 12 different kinds of fruit was my favourite), and little touches that made this B&B totally fabulous. It is also only a short walk to the city centre, and some lovely restaurants nearby (Thai particularly nice). We'll definitely be back on our next trip, and would thoroughly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SootySue22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    13
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
263
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a great four night stay. Heather was very friendly and always ready to help and give information. The breakfast was excellent and there was a wide variety of choice. Definitely recommended when staying in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristof C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had an highly pleasant stay at Heather’s Guest House. The Hedges is exactly what you’re longing for during the New Year-period when it’s freezing outside. As soon as you get into the entrance, you feel that warmness is not a vain word. In fact, there is no formal reception, you just fell welcomed. Beautiful carpets, nice lighting, Christmas ornaments, nothing is in excess, everything is well –thought. Heather is the soul of this place, the mother, the friend, someone you immediately like.
When you discover the room, you feel that it will be hard to leave it. Especially once you’ve tried the bed. Such a comfortable mattress we never had before. And I don’t speak about its wideness or the sweetness of the sheets. Following any subsequent walk throughout the city, just lie down on the bed: all your destroyed limbs feel an intense benefit.
The room is vast, you even forget it’s a room and just feel at home. Lots of pleasant, original details and notably a low full-colored stain glass window enlivens, if necessary, the green view on the street. Mahogany furniture, fireplace, kettle for hot beverages and tasty sweeties are offered. But keep a place for breakfast: this is a piece of art. The fruit plate, with about 15 different kinds in December, is something gorgeous.
In addition, the guest house is well-located in the city, everything is close, notably plenty of various restaurants. But for such a place, whatever the season, one has to be rather cautious by booking far in advance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lutzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Tried to book 3 rooms for one night in June. Unfortunately, this establishment does not honour guests for just one night.
Welcoming? Certainly unimpressed as this is supposed to be a 4 star guesthouse. I think if this is the rule in an establishment, the reception staff could at least express some kind of polite regret and suggest colleagues who are maybe not bound by this particular limitation.
For this reason, I feel its Tripadvisor ranking too high.

Room Tip: make sure you want to stay at least 2 nights otherwise you are not welcome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janso0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
welcometoedinburgh, Owner at The Hedges Guest House, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Whoever you are ? ,you have set out to intentionally bring my rating down as you stated.
We have been closed for three weeks refurbishing rooms, you did not stay here on the dates you stated you have stayed here. (untruth)
No one has taken a call for three rooms for 1 night? & we do not know policies of other B&B's(true)

We are treating this report as suspicious as we take all our reports seriously.
You have really made a mockery of this website "Tripadvisor" to be able to bring a perfectly well run & popular 4 star family run B&B down from 14 to a false 21 without staying here
Is really nothing to be proud of!!
Heather Macdonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hedges for 5 nights in October, 2012.
We were met at the door by Heather who was very warm and welcoming. Our room was clean, comfortable with lots of thought put into the extra details in the room. The bed was really comfortable and the bathroom very modern. And breakfast was delicious - with lots of variety to choose from every day! The location was perfect - we walked everywhere.
I would highly recommend this Guest House to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

My son and I stayed over the Hogmanay festival and really enjoyed our time at The Hedges. The room was cosy and the beds really comfortable and I loved all the little extras in the room. Heather our hostess is very friendly and gracious and made sure we were well looked after. The guesthouse is an easy walk to the centre of Edinburgh and there are restaurants, hotels and a cinema close by. I feel we were very fortunate in our choice to stay here and would stay again if I was lucky enough to return to this amazing city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorcha63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have stayed for a few days during new years eve. From begin until end we were very warm welcomed by Heather MacDonald, our host. Her thoughtfullness was very pleaant and made us feel very much at home. Room was very clean and cosy. (Bed was very comfortable)

Frederiek en Robert

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederiek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Adria House
Adria House
#5 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
McCraes's B&B
#26 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Ramsay's B&B
Ramsay's B&B
#11 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Broughton Hotel
The Broughton Hotel
#17 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#12 of 444 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hedges Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hedges Guest House

Property: The Hedges Guest House
Address: 19 Hillside Crescent, Edinburgh EH7 5EB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hedges Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedges is perfectly located in a Tree lined Crescent opposite Historic Calton Hill, and Royal Park Gardens. Five minutes walk out of the crescent are numerous bars and restaurant, you will be spoiled for choice. Edinburgh Playhouse theatre is practically on our doorstep. Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle and Holyrood Palace all within walking distance. Hedges is a delightful small and friendly 4 star Scottish Tourist Board rated Bed and breakfast. Each of the three rooms are en-suite, with complimentary tea/coffee biscuits Excellent breakfast menu to suite all tastes.. Free fastspeed Wifi Heather & Ian are natives of Edinburgh and share their knowledge of Edinburgh & the Lothians with their guests.Come & try our popular whisky porridge "A True Scottish Welcome" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Hedges Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hedges Guesthouse Hotel Edinburgh
The Hedges Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing