We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come hungry”

Palm Court at The Balmoral
Ranked #44 of 2,529 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Princes Street and Gardens
Description: Palm Court is an Edinburgh institution that's as glittering as its glass dome and Venetian chandelier. Sip vintage champagne or sample our award-winning Afternoon Tea with a wide selection of loose leaf teas, coffee, classic and contemporary sandwiches and savouries, pastries and sweet treats. A harpist provides the perfect accompaniment. Palm Court Opening Times: Monday to Thursday 8am to 7pm Friday 8am to 8pm Saturday 8am to 9pm Sunday 9am to 7pm Afternoon Tea: £35 Champagne Afternoon Tea: £51.50
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Come hungry”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

We had tea at the Palm Court--it was fantastic! Best tea I have ever had! They have a very large selection of teas--and do not limit you to just one selection. They begin with a small cup of cold tomato soup, then comes a tray of sandwiches--many flavored including salmon. Followed by a sweet tray-- passion fruit cream in chocolate, scones with jam and clotted cream and more yummies! But you are not done yet--there is a cart with brownies and more to choose as many as you want followed by fresh made ice cream,
The atmosphere was perfect! Beautiful room with comfy seats--couches and wing- backed chairs--like you are in a drawing room. Service was great--Ophelia was our server--but everyone was great!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank KCR1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    125
    42
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good tea”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

One of the best afternoon teas around. Really great selection and service. Perfect escape from hustle and bustle.

Particularly likes the smoked salmon and confectionary.

Good choice of teas. Relaxed setting.

Helpful?
2 Thank benstopford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea during the Edinburgh Festival”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

I booked a month ahead for 5 people. Service was ok but I had to ask for a glass of water twice. Seemed a little disorganised? Food was good but felt as we were 5 we got food served on 2 cake stands which was really meant for 4, so felt a little mean. Sandwiches were good and tasty, scones very light and the cakes/pastries were delicious. Thought the treats at the end, pieces of tablet, fruit cake and chocolate nutty creation were ok but would have preferred more cakes! Given a small ice cream cone when left which tasted like the smoothie provided with the cakes, just frozen! Overall very nice and surroundings pretty. Would recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank D J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BalmoralEdinburgh, Manager at Palm Court at The Balmoral, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your impressions following your recent visit to Palm Court. I was pleased to learn that you found the sandwiches and cakes enjoyable and I am also delighted that you found the decor especially pleasing.

I am sorry, however that the service you encountered on this occasion did not meet with your expectations.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your visit personally and can be contacted on the number below at your earliest convenience.

Yours Sincerely

Jennifer Laseen
Bars and Lounge Manager
+44 (0) 131 556 2414
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We treated ourselves during the Festival and was not disappointed. Very good service and plenty to eat. The scones were the nicest we have had. Cake trolley selection could have better though - nouget, chocolates and fruit cake - where were the cakes ? I was expecting at least one sponge !
I thought the price was good, particularly if you compare to the London hotel afternoon teas.
I also agree with another reviewer that there should be a dress code.
Would visit again next time we are in Edinburgh.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent afternoon tea with lots of lovely treats”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The afternoon tea in Palm Court is pricey but worth every penny for a treat. The ambience is lovely and the staff very helpful. The afternoon tea had a nice selection of savouries and cakes but it was the little extras that made it special for me. The tablet from the trolley is heavenly!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Court at The Balmoral also viewed

 

Been to Palm Court at The Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing