We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful afternoon tea experience!”

Palm Court at The Balmoral
Ranked #37 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Princes Street and Gardens
Description: Palm Court is an Edinburgh institution that's as glittering as its glass dome and Venetian chandelier. Sip vintage champagne or sample our award-winning Afternoon Tea with a wide selection of loose leaf teas, coffee, classic and contemporary sandwiches and savouries, pastries and sweet treats. A harpist provides the perfect accompaniment. Palm Court Opening Times: Monday to Thursday 8am to 7pm Friday 8am to 8pm Saturday 8am to 9pm Sunday 9am to 7pm Afternoon Tea: £35 Champagne Afternoon Tea: £51.50
Huddersfield
1 review
“Wonderful afternoon tea experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I treated my friend to afternoon tea for her Birthday last month (feb '13). We had the most amazing experience. The menu has two full pages of teas around the world! We were happily surprised you can try the different types of teas plus refills with no extra charge. After you were served the tea, a lovely cake stand was placed on the table filled with a selection of cakes, scones, and finger sandwiches. My friend and I aren't too keen on smoked salmon so asked whether we could have an extra ham sandwich instead... it didn't seem to be a problem and the waitress was happy to change that for us. Afterwards, we were presented with dessert trolley, where you could choose from an array of chocolate cake, macaroons, Turkish delight,etc just to name a few ... The chocolate cake was very scrummy and moist !!!


But what definitely made our afternoon tea experience were the staff and their service... you really couldn't of ask for more!The lady who served us made sure our teas were always topped up and checked on us regularly to see if we needed anything. It doesn't matter how good the food is, if the staff aren't friendly or polite, you don't feel relaxed. We definitely felt very at ease as we stayed for over two hours and at no point did we feel we overstayed our welcome.

The only thing I would like to highlight is the location of our table, we were seated at the rear of the room next to the cabinet with the teacups. We had to be quite careful when we wanted to stand up. There were a couple of times where I thought I might of knocked the cups over because we were close to the cabinet.

Overall... amazing day and definitely worth every penny ! Highly recommend!!!

Christine

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    583
    120
    38
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
202 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I treated my Fiancé to Champagne afternoon tea for his 50th birthday & we weren't disappointed. The service is 1st class. Friendly, discreet, respectful, polite, knowledgeable. The quality of the afternoon tea sandwiches, scones, cakes & pastries was outstanding, not to mention the Bollinger Champagne! It came chilled & was poured beautifully - excellent. Dietary requirements were catered for without a problem.
The Bollinger Bar/Palm Court has fabulous Georgian architecture, beautiful furniture & fittings. It really is stunning. Beautiful fresh flowers in the hotel lobby aswell as on the tables.
We cannot recommend this place highly enough. Yes, it's expensive, but worth it. We felt like a king & queen for the afternoon. Fabulous!
Booking highly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank womenabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“ooh fancy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We visited a couple of weeks ago for a celebration having found an excellent offer in I-on magazine and had afternoon tea with a bottle of champagne. We were offered a choice of sandwich from the menu or a standard afternoon tea stand with a selection of finger sandwiches and cakes/scones as well as a choice from the trolley. We opted for the stand which was adequate for 2 but we found it to be a little "cake heavy" as we would personnally have preferred more sandwiches, with hindsight a sandwich choice from the menu may have suited us better. The scones were offerred with clotted cream and a choice of jams and were fabulous!
Our server was lovely and very helpful in explaining what each item on the stand was and made sure our glasses remained filled.
The atmosphere was peaceful and other diners seemed relaxed. There is a harpist playing for the duration of the visit, who entertained requests, playing "happy birthday" for one table.
As we were leaving, the manager checked in on us and seemed genuinely happy that we had enjoyed our visit.
Worth a visit for the bucket list if you can get a good deal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WrightyandRitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A delightful way to spend an afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

How decadent .... Champagne afternoon tea at Palm Court within the Balmoral.

The atmosphere is just lovely and to add to the ambience there is someone playing the harp which is beautiful.

This was an afternoon treat which my friend and I shared. We had the champagne afternoon tea. It was a horrible day outside so this was the perfect way to spend the afternoon The menu is presented to you to choose your drink, there is a huge selection of teas, infusion and coffees. We both opted for the Edinburgh tea which is served in a silver pot. We ordered coffee later and were surprised not to be charged extra for this. You can have as much tea and coffee as you wish.

The cake stand is full of goodies, lovely dainty sandwiches, small cakes, shortbread and some crisps. Then when you are ready the scones both fruit and plain are served warm with clotted cream, jam and so on. We were then surprised when they came around with a trolley with even more goodies, chocolate cake, fruit cake and other little treats. We were so full that we could not finish everything and this was beautifully wrapped in a little box for us to take home.

The service was lovely, professional, personal and efficient. I would highly recommend this as an afternoon treat and I will make this a regular date in my diary. Loved the experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balmoraledinburgh, Manager at Palm Court at The Balmoral, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a generous review following your recent visit for afternoon tea with us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the occasion and that you were impressed with the array of sandwiches, scones and cakes, as well as the service you encountered from my colleagues.

I am also pleased to learn that you intend to make this a regular experience and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Jenny Laseen
Palm Court Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Step in to a moment of luxury...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The service is fantastic, the staff are friendly, the surroundings are beautiful and the ambience is just perfect for a relaxing afternoon. The Bollinger is pretty damn good too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Court at The Balmoral also viewed

 

Been to Palm Court at The Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing