We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had not bothered”
Review of 56 North

56 North
Ranked #303 of 2,479 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $51
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southside & Holyrood
Description: Edinburgh's original Gin Bar and Restaurant. Specialising in gin with around 200 varieties on offer with extensive drinks menu and cocktails. Food is served all day and is homemade by the award winning team under Robert Brown. Burgers, salads, classic mains along with contemporary items make up a seasonally changing menu. The venue is bright and airy with large windows which open onto one of Edinburgh's largest outdoor terrace dinning areas during summer. Located in the old town, 56 North is also in the heart of the Edinburgh Fringe and has an unrivalled location for Fringe visitors.
Scotland, Arkansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wish I had not bothered”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

visited here tonight on an itison voucher. The steak was small and grisely, peppercorn sauce disgusting, onion rings fab. Atmosphere very noisy, no a good atmosphere for having a meal and conversation. Waiting staff few and far between. We would not go again, in fact would go as far to say it is the worst offer I have bought with a voucher.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lanzarote2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    156
    55
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
witham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Dog Friendly and Magnificent”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Kindness themselves and welcomed us in after all and sundry had shunned/barred us because we had a small dog
Food choices from their dailies were temptingly written, and very well presented and cooked - such imaginative dishes which made you try and enjoy food you wouldn't necessarily have chosen
Staff were attentive, suggested ways we could be more comfortable, and happier as we'd plonked ourselves outside
worth seeking out - this one - as it's not on main tourist trail
Just other side of University

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Steak and Cocktails”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I have been here a few times and each time we've really enjoyed it. Both times we got steaks and cocktails. We didn't have a bad word to say about the food or the drinks. The atmosphere was really nice and the staff were really nice and let us get on with it. Would go again. Wasn't too expensive compared with other places around town, and the cocktails are pretty tasty, although they do taste like juice and at point you wonder how you've drank 3 pitchers between you both

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PodiumPedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you want hot food and a welcoming service dont bother!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This was our first visit to this pub/restaurant. We had purchased a discount voucher for two brunches.

we arrived just before 12pm, the place had only started serving from 11am on the Sunday morning.

We ordered two 'giant brunches' with a tea and a coffee. My husbands coffee was cold when we told the waitress there was no apology. A new one was brought over again no sorry or friendly interaction.

We then had to wait 40 minutes on the brunch actually arriving the menu clearly states that the giant brunch has ' double everything' yet when my husband queried only one haggis and one black pudding we were told that there was only one of them on the breakfast, not exactly what the menu said! again the food was lukewarm when we told the waitress she made some mention of reheating but was not convincing and frankly wasn't bothered.

We would think these type of vouchers would be a way of getting new customers to try your place and hopefully come back. This is obviously not what we will be doing, save your money and go to Snax along the road, better food and more welcoming staff!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Returning customer, left disappointed.....”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

My partner and I dined last night at 56 north with one of their Itison vouchers. It appears that they live on these voucher and their daily set menu offerings so we were not treated any differently for having a voucher.

We were quickly seated on arrival in one of their booths and from there it was mostly down hill. It took a good 10-15 mins just to get a menu and another 10 to order. The voucher we had included a “cocktail pitcher” but that did not exist in the new cocktail menu so the server had to go and ask. We eventually ordered (following another question which he was not sure about) and waited for our drinks. 10 mins, 20 mins, 30 mins later I finally gave up and went to the bar myself. Seems it was “forgotten” so they put a rush on it and it arrived just as our food did (40 mins after we ordered!!)

The food, well it seem the business model of offering vouchers regularly has taken its toll on the quality and quantity of the food at 56 north. When we first visited a few months ago the food was tasty, imaginative and a decent serving. It appears they have halved the servings and removed much of the passion and quality that we had on other occasions. My partner had the steak skewers with cous cous. There must have been 6 bit sized pieces of meat, totaling around 80 grams of meat, and a few veggies. I had the burger with cheese, sliced Chorizo and peppers. The pieces of pepper were HUGE and undercooked, the meat was nicely spiced but dry and the fried were in a cute little basket but a tiny serving.

To the waiters credit he did offer us a free desert for our troubles (40 mins for a drink) and recommended the Oreo Sunday as the best thing on the menu. It arrived, oh my. Two scoops of icecream, chocolate sauce straight from the tesco value isle, some marshmallows and two crushed (yep, only two) oreos. It was something you would make at home, with all the left overs you had around the kitchen.

I also have to comment on the cocktail. It was served in a little suitcase which was quite nice BUT the suitcase was 90% ice. We worked out that if you had just tipped the liquid out if would have filled two small water glasses. And this was £20!!!

All in all we were both very disappointed with the quality and quantity of the food and drinks there. Had we not been on a voucher it would have been a £50 dinner for two tiny, underwhelming mains, a cocktails to share and a dessert from the random things you find in your kitchen. As it turns out, with the voucher the deal was ok, but just ok….Will we be back…not sure. 56 North, you might have lost a customer…..

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Savitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 56 North also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to 56 North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing