We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martin's Guest House
Ranked #102 of 391 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Myself and my sister have just returned from a 2night stay at Martins guest house, I would definitely stay here again. The room was spotless and the bed was probably one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in. Breakfasts were delicious with a good choice . Denise the owner was very welcoming and friendly. There are plenty of nice bars and restaurants within walking distance, with a bus route into the centre right outside the door. Cannot fault this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billiebob71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    62
    16
    11
    14
See reviews for
61
81
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at Martins guesthouse on our first trip to Edinburgh. As there were 5 of us we had a large family room which was very spacious, beautifully decorated, clean and with very comfortable beds. Denise and her staff were very friendly and welcoming advising us on bus routes into the city centre and places to eat in the local area. It is located in a residential area and is very well situated for city centre attractions with a bus stop conveniently located outside the guesthouse. The bus journey takes approximately 10 mins. There was a good breakfast menu available and the Scottish breakfast set me up for the day! I can highly recommend this guesthouse and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is the forth time i have stayed at the guesthouse and every time i have thoroughly enjoyed my stay the rooms are decorated in a stylish manor and the cleanliness is second to none the owner (Denise) and all the staff are extremely helpful and obliging. The location is key and just a 15 minute walk to the historical city centre truly fabulous stay yet again! Thanks Denise i will be back.

Room Tip: I have stayed in room 4, 6 and 9 and all were of a very high standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2013

we stayed at the martins guesthouse for 5 nights and had a fantastic stay. Denise the owner was lovely and had a wealth of knowledge of Edinburgh. she showed us all the best places to eat and how to get around. the property is within walking distance to everything you need and easily in town within a 10 mins walk. We had a lovely room and service was great throughout our stay. defiantly be returning next year for the festival and Denise's breakfasts!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My son and I spent 10 days in and around Edinburgh. We stayed solely in Bed & Breakfast locations - four in all. Martin's was the worst.
The confirmation sheet e-mailed to me said we had a room on the second floor. When we got there the whole second floor had been given to a group of nine and we were relegated to the third floor. As a senior, I did not appreciate climbing 3 flights of stairs. We had booked two single beds but they had a double bed ready for us. So we had to wait 30 minutes while they changed the beds.
The room was small to say the least. The bathroom was worse - only 21/2 feet by 6 feet. I am well over 6 feet tall and taking a shower was very difficult. It took a long time to get any hot water.
Why would anyone install a shelf that juts out over the sink?
The breakfast was adequate but not very exciting.
Our hostess was very pleasant and extremely helpful in giving us suggestions and directions.
At 600 pounds (just over $1,000 Canadian) we feel that we were "ripped off".

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my family returned to Martins guest house for the third year running whilst visiting Edinburgh for a city break. It's location is perfect, 5 minute bus ride to town or a pleasant 15 minute walk. Denise the guest house owner took the time to chat and offer friendly advice about places to visit during our stay which was helpful. Clean and well presented rooms, friendly service and a wide choice of breakfast choice is why we return year after year! We will be back in 2014!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Speaknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Without a doubt, I will stay here again and again! My room was as splendid as the service and location. It's nestled in a very quaint neighborhood within walking distance to everything!! The Edinburgh castle was a 30 min scenic and easy walk. The staff was extremely accommodating and hospitable. Even though I shared a bathroom, it was not a problem at all. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cjaggard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Cluaran Guest House
#130 of 391 in Edinburgh
87 reviews
Edinburgh Caledonian Guesthouse
#121 of 391 in Edinburgh
111 reviews
Edinburgh Regency Guest House
#168 of 391 in Edinburgh
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Averon Guest House
Averon Guest House
#44 of 391 in Edinburgh
971 reviews
Sandaig Guest House
#43 of 391 in Edinburgh
750 reviews
Clan Walker Guest House
#103 of 391 in Edinburgh
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Guest House

Property: Martin's Guest House
Address: 5 Granville Terrace, Edinburgh EH10 4PQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 391 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Martin's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Robb's is a fine example of a Victorian terraced villa set over 3 floors located in a residential area but close to local amenities, and is an ideal base for visiting Edinburgh's main tourist attractions either by bus, or a short 20 minute walk. Enjoy a warm welcome, personal service, comfortable accommodation, central heating, TV, hospitality tray, and a choice of delicious breakfasts - Scottish, Vegetarian or Continental. Secure parking available by request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Martin's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Martin's Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing