We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing!”

The Terrace Brasserie
Ranked #1,625 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $32 - $38
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Broughton & Calton
Description: The Garden Room restaurant in the heart of Edinburgh at the fabulous Royal Terrace Hotel is an intimate, relaxed dining space with views onto the hotel’s gardens. A ten minute walk from the city centre and with easy access to Waverley Station, The Garden Room is a superb spot for romantic or business dining then making a quick getaway. But you’ll want to linger in this lovely space decorated in tones of sage, nutmeg and other neutrals, wood flooring and tables, designer dishes all in sleek modern style. The freshest local produce is employed in the creation of eclectic modern cooking. The professional service and big-league wine list seal the deal.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Booked pre-theatre menu for me and the girlfriends visit to see the opening night of the Lion King. Was told on the phone that it was a Lion King themed menu which, according to the waiter at the end of the meal, had been moved back to the next evening.

Both ordered pate to start which was disgustingly rubber like with no flavour. Main was disappointing and didnt seem to be what was described in the menu. Service wasnt very good and we both left feeling a bit let down.

Didnt go for the 3 courses as we had run out of time, service was rather slow for a pre-theatre menu.

Needless to say, we wont be returning!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonN85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    2
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Won't be back.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Service was quick but very robotic. Our server seemed very forced and un-natural. Food was hit and miss. My wife's chicken was good, but my fish & chips was terrible. Fish was tasteless, batter soggy and oily, pub style chopped salad and I didn't expect frozen chips! Poor value (even at their pre-theater prices).

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

lovely food nothing to dislike excellent liked everything about it great service and lovely food, had a 3 course a la carte meal, thelamb was lovely and the desert(chocolate and berry cake mmmm

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank 70beckyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Slow service!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

I must agree with jdoh28 - the maitre'd is great, very professional and helpful.
However, when it takes one hour and twenty minutes to eat a three course meal in an empty restaurant without having coffee, especially when you request a speedy service, so you can attend an event. It makes you mad that this restaurant was so slow, that it made me late for our event? We opted for the £25 3 course set meal and ordered all 3 courses at the same time using our tastecard. This didn't speed up service as our meal still took ages to arrive, the soup was lovely, but I was extremely disappointed with the two rib eye steaks ordered, considering I paid a £5.50 supplement for them. The steaks should have melted in our mouths, so why did we have to chomp on them, regurgitate and leave on the edge of the plate. However, the veg with the steaks were delicious and the deserts were quite nice. My wife had previously eaten steak here, which was delicious but the steak quality was very poor on this occassion! Considering we were in this restaurant on our own on a Monday night, the service was disgracefully slow and I guess that is why the restaurant was empty. If I wasn't late for my event, I would have complained - very angry at service and quality of steak!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 63Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fab food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

Wonderful food, great, attentive service .... go for the shin of beef if it's on the menu and the moules mariniere!! Andy, the maitre'd is great!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank jdoh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace Brasserie also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Terrace Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing