We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FORBES 2013”

China Town Restaurant - Edinburgh
Ranked #415 of 2,460 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $45
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: West End
Description: This award-winning Cantonese restaurant on Atholl Place stands out on the Edinburgh restaurant scene for its chic dining room and contemporary cuisine. China Town is renowned for its sleek interior – which features chocolate brown walls decorated with antique Chinese musical instruments, silk curtains and LED lights. Popular for stylish parties, formal family get-togethers and special celebrations, China Town has earned an excellent reputation for its innovative cuisine. Seafood dishes are the kitchen's specialty, and you can order scallops, sea bass and halibut steamed with garlic and spring onions or stir-fried with black bean sauce. Head Chef Thomas Chan is happy to create bespoke dishes on request, and his acclaimed menu is complimented by a diverse wine list.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FORBES 2013”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great restaurant,good food excellent staff.Have had Xmas lunch here for two years and was excellent menu and fantastic price especially fo Xmas.Will always go back here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank blinking11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    60
    16
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“China Town”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I am a regular at China Town both take away and dine in. The food...what can I say, the freshness makes it the best in town by a country mile with the eat in experience worth an extra few pounds!. Everyone from the owners to the staff are lovely, the service is excellent and the choice of wine is of a high quality.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Perro1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Level Contributor
232 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Food OK, Service disinterested, Decor impressive.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

First off I was feeling ill when I ate here so maybe didn't enjoy it as I might.

Food I thought was good but average. There was nothing too stand out but then I did play safe with lemon chicken! The serving dishes and presentation did have a cut above average image.

The decor is very nice and tasteful. It you wanted somewhere for a date to impress then this would do the business.

Value - slightly more expensive but given its location and ambience I'd say its OK.

I was a little irritated by the complete disinterested attitude of the serving staff. I like a little bit of a welcome and interest in how your meal is going. I can't say I was not looked after but there was a coolness I personally don't like. I only call it as I find it on a quiet sunday night.

Would I eat here again? Nothing against it but nothing much for it either.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Will_HInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant and fantastic staff.”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Me and my boyfriend visited this weekend and we absolutely loved the restaurant. There was a lovely atmosphere and the staff where very friendly and attentive. There was a good wine list and a varied menu. We had many appetizers instead of a starter and main and everything tasted fantastic. I can highly recommend the paper prawns and the sui mai. Some people have mentioned a wait on food, but we did not experience this and we will defiantly be returning.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahelizabeth112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
here
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chinese in Scotland!?”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Loved the restaurant!
Even when the place was full the service was always available, didn't have to wave and shout.
The food is amazing, everything from seafood to pork was delicious, personally I recommend the pork or beef.
If you get the need for chinese in the middle of edinburgh this is the place to go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hametyel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Town Restaurant - Edinburgh also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to China Town Restaurant - Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing