We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of B'est Restaurant

B'est Restaurant
Ranked #1,598 of 2,449 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: This quirky establishment in Edinburgh has a hip, East Village vibe. With its vivid blue exterior, exposed brick walls and vintage wooden furniture – B'est Restaurant has a light and airy bistro atmosphere and is well-known for its imaginative menu produced using locally-sourced, fresh and seasonal ingredients. Signature dishes belie both a rustic French and classic British influence, and B'est specialties include the roast breast of duck served with pak choi and a chilli and orange jus; grilled salmon fillet on a bed of creamed leeks and shallots; and the summer vegetable and truffle oil risotto. Always buzzing with a chic crowd, B'est Restaurant is perfect for intimate parties and relaxed meals with friends.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Really enjoyed our dinning experience here and it was made even better by the deal we got through Group On. I work in a place with similar prices and a similar menu so had high expectations for the place.

The staff, and I think there was only two of them, were efficient and active. The restaurant was fairly busy even though it was a Monday night but they still met our every need. We were well looked after, water on the table without being asked, checkbacks on the table being done to make sure we were happy, even met our needs by adding chicken to one of dishes. A small request but considering the price we were getting the meal for they were still happy to do it.

Was very happy with the food and if I was paying full price I still would of been this happy. Tried a bit of everybody's at the table and it was all delicious. Portions were a great size!

It is kind of hidden the venue but well worth a look :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    97
    43
    42
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
2 reviews
“Good service, good food, goodnight...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Visited on a Sunday night courtesy of a 3 course KGB deal. Service was pleasant and efficent.
Food nicely presented and tasty, would recommend to others.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We ate here for lunch today, and even though it was a voucher ( a gift from a friend) we were made very welcome. Service was excellent and so was the food.
We enjoyed talking with the friendly owner - the sea food and steak were brilliant. So fresh and quickly served. We were full up and felt very happy with the standard. Thank you.
We were going to take some photos but all we had were empty plates - it smelled so good we just got stuck right in and forgot all about the photos!
The chef, Alin, has a great future if he keeps this up. We wish Tudor all the best of luck in taking this venture forward.
We will definitely be back. Soon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenni J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“So so...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Two of us ate here on Sat with - like everyone else apparently - a voucher to spend. So from our perspective it was amazing value - we paid only for a bottle of house white and a small supplement for lamb shank.
On arrival we were left to wonder just how long the guy behind the desk could study the till and ignore us at the same time - it was quite a while! However the service did pick up considerably and our waitress was incredibly helpful and pleasant. The food was entirely acceptable - in a bit of a 70s timewarp but that didn't really bother us. The room was also somewhat of a throwback - just a bit dated with tourist cliche Parisian pictures on the walls. Plus it became a tad cold once the restaurant thinned out at a rather early 9.30.
Would I go back? Probably not worth the 30 mins walk from where I live. Was I pleased to be given the voucher? Yes! We had a very pleasant evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartinC132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Voucher or not food was good!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Ok so the place looks like it's been transported from the Costa del Sol without the heat! and it definately has a 70's vintage feel to it, however -don't be put off. We were beginning to feel jinxed by the groupon voucher having used it to stay in a lovely Perthshire hotel and being the only guests for the entire 24 hours, we arrived in B'est happy that there were two occupied tables but they were vacated by the time our order was taken!.

I'd have loved tor have tried the calves livers but was unsure given how quiet it was so opted for mussels and fillet steak, Tom the waiter was happy to adjust the order from mussels provencal to moules mariniere - both ordered steak - lovely, medium and medium rare with a lovely sauce and chips to sink a ship, for the price I'd go again Groupon or not it was a good deal.

Also as far as heat went ( just as it's been mentioned) we were dressed warm as it was snowing outside & the place was empty but I felt fine, t's a large restaurant so dress accordingly.
Lastly to add - they're doing the Fawtly Towers Show in March which looks like fun - knew some people who went last year and raved about it .

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmpound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed B'est Restaurant also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to B'est Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing