We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location but needs attention” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Young Street Boutique Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Young Street Boutique Apartments
Ranked #141 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location but needs attention”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Arriving at the apartment (Number 1), the first thing that hit us was the smell. There's a very clear damp problem in one of the two bedrooms which the company had obviously tried to mask with air fresheners and diffusers (folks, it doesn't work).

We were only staying for three nights so we didn't complain, but I certainly couldn't have put up with it for longer.

The apartment was also pretty grimey in places and some of the furniture is looking tired.

The main positive is the apartment's proximity to the city centre, but as it's situated on a cobbled street, it's also very noisy when cars pass as there's no double glazing.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Scorneholio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    5
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
6
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Could not fault our stay at these apartments! Starting with the customer service we received as soon as we arrived, was a horrible day and we managed to get into the apartment early, which we were very happy with. Apartment is lovely, very spacious, perfect location (just off princes street), comfy bed and has all ammentities you would need. Would go back and stay again in a heartbeats

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niamhm985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

I cannot fault these apartments! The location is fantastic, a few minutes walk from Princes Street and Rose Street but on a nice quiet road with just a few nice bars on. Our apartment was amazing; comfortable bed, lovely bathroom and kitchen, clean throughout and very spacious. It is a bit pricey but we'll worth it for the fabulous location and the freedom to cook your own food if you want to. Not far from Stockbridge which has an amazing restaurant (The Stockbridge) which we highly recommend and nice bars too. There's no where else we'd stay when we return to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyloututu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location, flats have all amenities required but bit shabby dirty carpets and holes in the walls. Lovely sash windows but very noisey. Have to collect keys from a different location to the flat. Few changes would improve the flat and make it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank couple372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feldkirch, Austria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I am late for my comments as we stayed in this apartment beginning of August.
When I read the comments from Alison R. I must say: they do not learn a lot. We had the exact same problems with both showers: inadequate water pressure, on the second day no pressure at all, and if we had water it was not even warm. Furthermore the towel warming racks did not work. On the day of arrival the apartment was really dirty - there was no vacuum cleaner used prior to our arrival, the surface of the tables were sticky. We called the management, they responded promptly and sent house keeping. But when we returned at night we still found garbage e.g. behind the bed room door and even a candy from the former occupants on the armchair.
"Luxury"? forget that. After two weeks staying in wonderful accommodations all over Scotland we were extremely disappointed with this apartment.

Room Tip: choose a different location
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schlattone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We selected the Young Street apartment because we wanted high quality, comfortable accommodation for our trip to the Edinburgh Festival. The apartment was comfortable and clean, and the location was great. But since it was described as 'luxury' we were extremely disappointed that we were unable to take a hot shower during our stay; the water pressure was inadequate in both showers, and the water that did come through was barely warm. We called the office and were assured that something would be done immediately, but the problem was not fixed and no explanation was given. Subsequent emails have been ignored. Prices are inflated during festival time, so really feel the service should have been much better.

Room Tip: Ask for assurance that they have fixed the hot water to the showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have stayed at this apartment under 2 different management teams, I have got to say the first was better.
We did not get off to the best start, due to Lack of info and communication from them re key info.
When we got there there was no hair dyer, house keeping should have checked it was there, but saying that after a phone call we did get one but you should not have had to do this.
This apartment is on cobble street and due to this and the Bar across the street sleep was very bad. Bins, bottles, cars and people leaving the bar at 1am.
We were staying for 4 nights and there was only 5 cloths hangers between us not a lot.
The kitchen was not used for cooking as it did not look very clean. There was still food on the wall above the sink, we never reported this as we had given up by this point.
On our 2nd day after a lack of sleep due to the noise we had to have a mid day nap but was woken asking if they could come in and get extra bedding from the cupboard. I had to say sorry not just now. It made me feel people would have been in and out of our rooms if we had not been there.
Some of the main TV channels do not work (stv) reception was very poor.
Saying all this the location was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Colette44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#80 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Apple Apartments Edinburgh
Apple Apartments Edinburgh
#52 of 214 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
New Town
Castle View Apartments
Castle View Apartments
#107 of 214 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
New Town
Edinburgh Central Guest House
Edinburgh Central Guest House
#65 of 445 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Young Street Boutique Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Young Street Boutique Apartments

Property: Young Street Boutique Apartments
Address: Young Street, Edinburgh EH2 4HU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Young Street Boutique Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Young Street Boutique Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Young Street Boutique Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing