We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unforgettable experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Art-House Morita B&B
Ranked #261 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Feels like coming home. Morita is museum, vacation, restful, homely and character all rolled into one. It has a charm that will bring us back to the wonderful hosts and their accomodating, caring attitude. Surely the highlight of the accomodation around Scotland. I found this a place worth remembering.

Room Tip: Book here if you are interested in Art
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulthekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 41 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2011

If you travel alone like me, recommend you can stopby & stay in this B&B to get warm welcome for bed, breakfast and wonderful experience for Scotland's arts,

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhodaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iwtg, Owner at Art-House Morita B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2011

Rhodaku, Thank you for the kind review and we enjoyed chatting about your travel plans, hope Tibet was good and hope you can return to Scotland again. Best wishes from Kozo and John san.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I stayed there last Easter holiday :)
REALLY loved Edinburgh, and in Art-house Morita, my trip was much better!!
Kind owner and pretty, lovely bedrooms!
Especially, home-made breakfasts and dinner were absolutely unforgettable :)
To whom planning to visit Edinburgh,
I strongly believe that this B&B will be a part of your memorable trip!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MusiHSoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Art House Morita is very interesting has very unique atmosphere. Morita is filled with art and ceramics, makes you feel like staying in an art gallery. House is old and has it's limitations, but accepting them, this is very cozy and fun place to stay. Owners are very friendly and warm persons, fun to chat with and they love to share their knowledge of Scotland with you. Also worth mention is the nice breakfast that keeps you well satisfied until lunch! This place will make your stay memorable and unique. If you have considered visiting Scotland just once in your lifetime, this place and these people will quarantee that you want to visit it again! I could recommend this place to everybody, but being as romatic place as it is, this would be ideal for couples.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RegallionsCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

I arrived at the guesthouse late in the evening. Stressed out after a long day. The easy accessibility from the city centre by bus or walk (my option) is more than welcoming for a young solo female traveler. The surrounding seems to be peaceful.
After the warm welcome by the owner and his partner all tension was gone. What's more, right after entering the house numerous pieces of arts jumped into my eyes; this is certainly an impressive collection accumulated over decades in one house and distributed among each room. Some museums would envy this vast collection composed of mostly Scottish artists. However, some Asian figurines can be also spotted.
My room was spacey and very comfy. After a good night's sleep breakfast was served. As a person with milk and wheat allergy many hotels failed in providing an appropriate breakfast for me. But not the Morita B&B: A freshly made smoothie, fruits salad and an omelette with fired vegetables were awaiting me.
After breakfast I was introduced into the history of some major art pieces of the house. It felt a bit like a private museum guide tour.
All in all, I am very pleased with my stay at this unique B&B in Edinburgh. During the whole stay I felt that I was in good care. Each of my complex requests was fulflled (contacting my mum in Germany, special dietary needs etc.).
I am sure no other guesthouse is more atmospheric and interesting than the Morita B&B. The owner's Japanese origin combined with Scottish art might be a factor for its uniqueness. In fact, this guesthouse was featured in some Japanese magazines and appears to be popular with Japanese visitors.
It's a mystery to me why it's not so known within the UK. Let's change it ;D

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AzukiShiba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

This B & B is in many ways, very beautiful.
First, very clean. If bedrooms are furnished with, and bathrooms are cleaned.
Then, very interesting. Art B & B is decorated with numerous individual is, is passionate, enthusiastic about just what they instinctively.
Management is very friendly, and familiar with Edinburgh, when the rates are probably more holes, you should be great advice for sightseeing.
You can get a lot of things other than B & B is able to sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotsmanTOKYO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Easy access from the bus/railway stations. You can also use the public bus which stops right in front of the house in every few minutes to get to the town center. Lots of pubs, cafes, and restaurants are within the walking distance. The guest house is fully decorated by their collection of antique items and paintings so be careful not to damage them! The breakfast is just amazingly delicious, especially the special porridge. They serve you a lot of food so you probably don't need a big lunch and save money! I've been to Edinburgh several times and always make sure to stay here when I'm in the town. The owners are so nice and friendly, they are one of the reasons why I love Edinburgh so much!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank msturtle751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtHouseMorita, Owner at Art-House Morita B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2010

Dear Guest, Thank you for your very kind words, the Art-House Morita b&b is only 3 bedrooms and a family home so we hope we can spend a little more time trying to assist when required. We are a quite new addition to the Trip Advisor listing so to have positive feedback encourages us to try and maintain and improve our guests feelings on our part of their holiday. Kozo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,596 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,000 reviews
West End
West End Hotel
West End Hotel
#107 of 394 in Edinburgh
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art-House Morita B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art-House Morita B&B

Address: 3 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2AX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: $126 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Art-House Morita B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Victorian Edinburgh townhouse with beautifully restored interior, each of the three bedrooms with period features and original Scottish arts and craft. Situated on the main bus route only ten minutes by bus to city centre. Full Scottish/Vegetarian cooked breakfast and special rates for 2 or more nights. Property owned by Japanese and English speaking qualified STGA Blue Badge Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Art-House Morita B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art-House Morita B&B Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing