We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cenai Roti alone makes this worth a try!”

Kampong Ah Lee Malaysian Delight
Ranked #890 of 2,507 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: Chinese, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Southside & Holyrood
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Cenai Roti alone makes this worth a try!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I visited this restaurant again simply to have the cenai roti - a delicious roti (a flat flaky bread) dipped in spicy sauce. This starter alone is worth the visit and is, unsurprisingly, the top seller listed in their extensive menu. We also tried the chicken satay and a curry - both were also tasty and fresh but, to be honest, I'd have been happy with another serving of the roti!

Don't be fooled by the unassuming exterior and the cheap interior. This place is always busy and worth a try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amelia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    59
    25
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Average but I won't complaint”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Getting off a cruise ship after 2 weeks of cruising the baltic, we were just keen to get some authentic Malaysian food. We decided to try Kampong Ah Lee based on the reviews on TA.

The restaurant was pretty small so seating is limited. We ordered Char Kuey Teow and prawn noodle soup, 2 very popular malaysian hawker food.

Both mains were pretty average. The char keuy teow should have been fried with chives instead of spring onion so that is not very 'authentic'. The prawn noodle has a generous serving of prawns but the soup was pretty blend and lack the 'wow' factor.

Overall, i would say this is a very average quality of Malaysian food and I have definitely eaten much better ones outside Malaysia than this. However, due to the circumstances and our desparation for something asian, I am not going to complaint.

Helpful?
Thank win4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Look past the decor and enjoy some gorgeous Malaysian food”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

An easy place to miss as you walk past what looks from outside to be another takeaway venue. Easy also to be out off when you walk in, but the plain/ basic interior is highly deceptive. Persevere and you will enjoy some real taste sensations. You have to try the Roti Cenai; some bread with curry sauce that is to die for and worth the visit itself. Interesting range of other dishes that I am slowly working through, but the Rendang remains a favourite. Don't bother with dessert it their wine; stick to beer, soft drink or BYOB and head elsewhere for pus, if you have space. I never do!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickyB2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“tasty genuine Malaysian food”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We visited this restaurant twice on a four day visit, because we absolutely loved the excellent and genuine Malaysian food. Tried mainly the vegetarian and seafood dishes and were disappointed by none. Highly recommendable, also because it is very good value for money. Paid roughly 30 quid for a two course dinner with drinks.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank countessm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We have visited this lovely restaurant on many occasions and have never been disappointed yet! The food is delicious and every mouthful is a taste sensation. A great sign is that it is always full of Malaysian people which says a lot for the restaurant. It is quite small so booking is advisable but you won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kampong Ah Lee Malaysian Delight also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Kampong Ah Lee Malaysian Delight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing