We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apparently you can get bad Chinese...”
Review of Rice Box

Rice Box
Ranked #1,924 of 2,479 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Apparently you can get bad Chinese...”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My partner and I have always been under the impression that Chinese dishes that are on every take-away meny across the country were pretty much the same in terms of standard and taste - tonight, we were proved very wrong! We both ordered crispy shredded chilli beef and also ordered rice, noodles and a side of prawn crackers. We ordered online after receiving a menu through the door a few weeks back. The process was pretty simple and the food arrived fast (40 mins from ordering on a saturday evening) however delivery was a massive £2.20, despite us only being a 2 minute drive away (we were merely having a lazy night!) The take-away bag was pretty fancy and they have a loyalty 'token' system - you can use the tokens to buy branded goods and the food was hot...but i'm afraid that's where the positives end. The crispy shredded beef instead of being a sticky, chewy dish (as it always seems to be elsewhere) was drenched - and i mean drenched - in a relatively tasteless, thick sauce. The hunks of meat were far from crispy and tasted floury and tough. The noodles and rice were pretty standard fare, bit greasier than expected but tasty in comparison to the beef. All in all, far from satisfying.

We will not be ordering from this restaurant again and suggest others take heed of the reviews on this website and others online before they consider it. I only wish we'd read the reviews before we ordered! For those of you who do order and are tempted by the addition of extras such as fortune cookies/chopsticks or prawn crackers to your meal - it's also worth noting that these ended up coming free with ours - the former in little pre-packaged packs with napkins, so i'm assuming these are given to all customers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JAG312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    4
    5
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting food.”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Absolutely disgusting sweet and sour chicken in batter, burnt to a crisp and also included prawns which we did not order. When I phoned to complain someone who was completely uninterested said oh yeah sorry about that.

Will not be ordering from them again...ever!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heather m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good to look at it but bad taste”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Takeaway looked great from outside but food was awful ordered a curry which tasted like powder! Chicken and sweetcorn meal was like eating gravy - overall very disappointed and would not be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cmi279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
419 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Below-average food, poor service”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were promised that our order will be ready in 15-20 minutes, but it actually took more than half an hour. The food was below-average - some dishes were OK but others just didn't taste good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ogol17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Looks good - nice branded paper delivery bags, fortune cookies, chopsticks etc but food is horrendous. have given them the benefit of the doubt and ordered a few times but it didn't get any better - the only edible thing i ever got was the dim sum - ok but nothing special. main courses are inedible. Anything that comes with a sauce is tastelss (water and cornflour) and the cheapest, wobbliest bits of meat. Also tried some beef dish with no sauce and it had the most bizarre texture and tasted of soap. complained but have never received a response. They should invest more money in quality ingredients and less on fancy packaging. It is also twice the price of the chinese in Albert street and there the food is good and the staff are so much nicer.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonesy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rice Box also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Rice Box? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing