We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scrambled eggs?”
Review of Cafe Truva

Cafe Truva
Ranked #998 of 2,529 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Scrambled eggs?”
Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Bizarre experience, just been told that I can't have scrambled eggs in this cafe. As far as I can make out the cook didn't want to do them. So we left! Went to Mimi's Bakehouse next door and had fantastic scrambled eggs and husband had gorgeous, quality cooked brekkie. Spent far more money. So Truva lost out on business all for sake of a grumpy cook.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bordersspagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    57
    16
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely little Turkish hideaway but not cheap”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have been to Café Truva many times, both on the Shore and on the Royal Mile. It is a lovely little café with a fine selection of foods, teas and coffees from the eastern Mediterranean, as well as standard British breakfast and cafe fare. The service is not always the best and the prices are a bit steep, but the food is always good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lachlan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice meal”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had a groupon deal which there was a bit of confusion about at first. Otherwise, the meals were very nice, the best Turkish food I have had outside of Turkey. I would recommend the Chicken Shish Kababs and the house red wine is very nice. We will go again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous quality lunch”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

After enjoying really lovely coffee and cake the week previously at the sister cafe on the Royal Mile, I was treated to lunch by a friend at Cafe Truva at the Shore. Lucky me! Really tasty, quality beautifully presented falafel salad with couscous, aubergines and hummus. And carrot cake to follow which was divine. Can't wait to visit again - think I will treat my friend next time!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soulmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee and cakes!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Fantastic friendly service and the best carrot cake in Edinburgh :) free wifi too and handy for the Royal Mile

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Krystle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Truva also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Truva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing