We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be the best chippy in Edinburgh ...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giovanni's

Giovanni's
Ranked #1,415 of 2,438 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Fast Food, Italian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Used to be the best chippy in Edinburgh ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

... and now just very average. The chips used to be amazing, now they are all dried out and tasteless. I ordered a pizza from here recently and the cheese was cheap and stringy, you could tell that they had skimped.

Very, very, average.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    4
    2
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“It's not a fish it's a moby !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Simply the best fish supper in Edinburgh. Well worth the wait for the delivery. Potato fritters to die for . Have tried the pasta dishes and burgers and never found fault with anything. Great service, friendly driver. Sorted, will go back again and again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Magbagpuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
149 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Where's the passion gone ?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was a buzzing, fabulous Italian and now......well, where's the passion gone? Our Pizza was absolutely awful. No flavour, no tomato, no cheese. It resembled the cardboard box they get delivered in. Honestly... if I had closed my eyes I could have been eating water. No taste at all. Even with masses of garlic, there was nothing. Staff falling over each other, bored rigid, yawning with no enthusiasm whatsoever. Sadly, this is my very last visit to a past treasure. Rest in peace....

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank delboyandhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Laughable.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

2 hours for one pasta dish to be delivered. Paid for chips also but they were nowhere to be seen. Tried to cancel it as I was so tired and past hungry but I was told I would have to contact just eat to get a refund. I know the pasta takes 5 mins to cook so how it took 2 hours is beyond me, perhaps they placed the meal on top of an old turtle and pointed it in my direction.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Sailorgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

A night in with friends, we all have kids so for a hassle free evening we decided to order food for delivery.

We were lied to from start to finish, phoned an order totalling almost £40, specifically asked about delivery times and told 45-60 minutes.

Phoned after an hour and a quarter and told "it's leaving the shop now". A further half hour later (the house is 5 minutes drive from the shop) we phone to cancel, speak to a very rude man on the phone who refuses to listen to reason.

Subsequently phoned back by a different employee who eventually apologises (as the delivery man arrives at the door) and offers a £3 discount. We eventually agree a £8 discount and accept the food - the food was adequate.

A very busy place who should be honest with their customers, if it's 2 hours, tell us it's 2 hours and allow us to make a decision as to whether that suits our circumstances or not. The systematic lying and rudeness smacks of a place who are only looking to make money from their customers.

Reasonable food, dreadful service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Sherpa72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanni's also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Giovanni's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing