We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Edinburgh
Post
Inbox
Search

“poor service and poor food”
Review of Cafe Andaluz

Cafe Andaluz
Order Online
Ranked #534 of 3,027 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Neighborhood: Old Town
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Old Town
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

HUGE TOURIST TRAP Tapadas had little fish but all batter. The ice tea was laughably packed to the top with ice, more like ice with a drop of tea. The service was no better, DO NOT EAT HERE unless you like being treated poorly and having your money taken from you

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I'd booked for a birthday lunch and we got a table with a lovely castle view. Nice vibe inside and pleasant staff. We ordered various tapas to share but didnt realise they all come out at once. Some of the food was warm not hot to start with. If you want to take your time eating over a leisurely lunch you've got cold food. So either order a bit then order more or ask if food can be served staggered. Some nice dishes.. not the most authentic I've had but some tasty.

I did get some free ice cream for my birthday though.

Few improvements and could be great.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank allyj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Would highly recommend this restaurant. Amazing tapas, great cocktails and beer. The service was fantastic with all the staff very friendly and helpful. The food came within 15 minutes and was never left without a drink. We shared a dessert as well and it was amazing!!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank RobynH9666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2019 via mobile

We hadn’t had Tapas since Majorca and this place did not disappoint. The staff are attentive & friendly while the food is fresh and delicious. We chose a sharing platter and three other dishes. Gambas pil pil, croquettes and pimientos de padron. The waiter checked we were happy to receive the sharing platter first then all three tapas dishes came out piping hot and the same time. We treated ourselves to Churros for dessert and coffees. Plus Gin and Beer! I thought it was reasonably priced too at just over £50. Definitely get a meal here but I’d say they’re booked solid at weekends! Brilliant restaurant. Denise

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank I3265EOdavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2019 via mobile

What a wonderful end to our fantastic fringe experience! Brilliant food, fab service and yummy cocktails. Our super smiley waitress, Flo helped us out with our food order as never eaten here before. Will definitely be back!

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank travel3651999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Andaluz also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Cafe Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing