We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for having lunch!”
Review of Miro's Cantina

Miro's Cantina
Ranked #100 of 2,529 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: New Town
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place for having lunch!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Went to Miro's restaurant in Rose street for lunch today and found it was a great place to have a quick and filling mexican lunch. The staff were friendly and it was cheap meal compared to restaurant in the area (that aren't as good!)

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jonsolem90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    894
    298
    94
    36
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average Mexican”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

After a great visit to Miro's Cantina last year I was looking forward to returning, however I left feeling disappointed. The portions were small and the food lacked any discernible Mexican flavour. I had the chile con queso as a starter, which was nice, but then it is only a cheese dip with nachos. The vegetarian fajitas were sorely lacking in spice and didn't taste much of anything, in all honesty. I also don't think the saucer sized plates provided were suitable for a main course.

Value for money isn't up to much here, so I won't be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dissociating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“busy little place”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We came across this place by accident while walking around trying to find somewhere to eat. We were really lucky to get a table as most of them were reserved. The place could of been filled about 3 times over with the amount of people they had to turn away because there wasn't any tables available. We had nachos to start which came with all the trimmings and steak fajitas for main. The food is really scrummy and staff are great. Nice little place but probably best to book first.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food full of flavour.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We were glad we kept walking almost the full length of Rose street and found this cracking restaurant, and as i like mexican food we thought we would give it a go and theLunch menu looked good. This place may be small but i think is better than the bigger chains as the food was obviously homemade. We had a starter of mixed dips and tortilla chips and the dips were delicious. I had the Carne Enchilada which was great and full of flavour and with a nice nip to it, my wife had Borrego Con Miel which she said was great and i can confirm as i had a taste of it, and to finish off well it had to be Churros with chocolate dip YUUUM. We would definitly come back my mouth is watering thinking about it, its a pity we are not local but heres to the next time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Edinburgh”
Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Came here because of TripAdvisor and was very impressed. Its small so booking essential. I really enjoyed the variety of the menu, the quality of food, the staff, the ambience. They have a specials menu as well and a choice of three types of fish. Its miles ahead of the other Mexicans in Edinburgh.

Helpful?
Thank andy_scot_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miro's Cantina also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Miro's Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing