We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Edinburgh
Post
Inbox
Search

“Charged service charge for a table of 2.”

Maki & Ramen Fountainbridge
Reserve a Table
2
Thu, 2/20
8:00 PM
OR
Order Online
Ranked #809 of 3,038 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Neighborhood: West End
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: West End
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I use to go to Maki ramen a lot. Ramen is ok. They have good vegetarian options. The reason I stopped going is in part because now there are other places in Edinburgh making better ramen and because the last time I went the bill came with service charge for a table of 2 people. It clearly states everywhere that the service is for big tables. On top of that the manager that was serving us (a lady) also asked to add a tip on card. I always tip but I don't like people trying to be clever.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 849aliasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Walked in and didn't have a booking. Staff were very accomodating and helpful , especially with choices on the menu. The food was very tasty and the green tea was complimentary.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DocRah6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020 via mobile

Popped in and was lucky enough to get a table without a booking (though only for an hour... Will remember to book next time....)
As time was short we ordered a sharing board of various salmon sushi and as we were sat at the bar we were able to watch our food being made in front of us which was a fantastic experience.
The sushi was great and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.
I will definitely be looking to go again.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank djmadhatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

We ordered some vegetable dumplings, cured seaweed and octopus balls - these were sides and we had them as starters.

We then had 2 tofu, 1 beef and 1 salmon ramen. The salmon was pretty raw but I put this down to it being a super fresh sushi restaurant. Every dish was a taste sensation. Looks like the perfect place if you were on your own too. You could just pull up a stool at the bar. Great wee place.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Quinster1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2019

Food is incredible (get the gyoza) we both had ramen and loved it, our waitress Sarah was amazing!! The loveliest girl ever!

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank saorlaithoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maki & Ramen Fountainbridge also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Maki & Ramen Fountainbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing