We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite enjoyed it but wouldn't hurry back”
Review of Souq

Souq
Order Online
Ranked #627 of 3,012 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Southside & Holyrood
Description: Moroccan Street food in the heart of Edinburgh, we bring delicious mezze and speciality tagine dishes all served in our Souq inspired surrounding. Browse the Souq shelves as you enjoy the experience and pick up some specially imported Moroccan pottery, lighting and gifts too.
Reviewed August 15, 2019

Went as a largish group, ordered a selection of Meze, service was very slow to begin with, even getting drinks took a while. Food then all came very quickly and was OK, nothing outstanding. Nice place, wasn't very busy so God knows what the service would have been like if they had been busy - and it is big! Manager was a bit of a character, very nice, very amusing, but not nice enough or amusing enough to make me recommend this place very highly unfortunately. It was also quite expensive, worked out at £40 a head with drink only being about £10 a head of that.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R0bertLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 110 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2019

When arranging a catch up with some friends we had suggested Souq restaurant party due to us previously having a group trip to Marrakech and also as the restaurant was a BYO establishment.

When confirming our reservation a couple of days prior we were informed that it was now fully licenced. At the end of the day this was no big deal. However, their drinks choice was poor, there was no spirits whatsoever and they ran out of cider after one round which was the preferred option for half our party.

The food was pleasant although nothing to get excited about. However, the service was a farce. The young waiter dropped our starters randomly on the table with a grunt leaving it to us to play musical dishes. The main courses eventually came almost two hours after sitting down and following three enquiries regarding the foods progress. Normally a long delay could be expected if the restaurant was busy but being half empty was not acceptable, particularly as they had run out of cider leaving half the party on water or coke. Further, one of the party is diabetic and had worked out and taken his insulin injection in preparation for their meal, he subsequently had to have some sugar sweets as his blood sugar levels began to drop.

No one opted for desert due to the lateness of the evening which was annoying particularly for myself as I have a very sweet tooth.

Definitely not the formula for a good night out.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019 via mobile

We called in here for lunch as we were attending a Fringe performance nearby. The ambience is good but the portions are extremely small for the price. The fattoush salad contained no pomegranate as it should and as had been described and the Lebanese flat bread was actually pitta. When both these they were pointed out, the manager found it necessary to argue the point instead of apologising. As many people in that area, particularly during the Festival, are tourists they probably know they will not be getting regular custom and therefore make no effort to give good service or good value. The falafel was very good

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Bee727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2019

Food tasty but very small and therefore overpriced portions. Not a patch on its sister restaurants in that regard. Belly dancer was fab, probably made my night. Service was slow yet we felt rushed which was a bit cheeky. I wouldn’t return and will definitely stick to Hanams or Pomegranate.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank AS2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019

Can’t recommend this place enough.
Don’t be put off visiting at lunchtime by the opening hours stated on the website - apparently it is open at lunchtimes all week during the summer, and not just Fridays! Also, the menu on the website is quite difficult to read being black and white print on a black and white background......
however, website anomalies aside....
Ours was a lunchtime visit on Friday 5th July and we thoroughly enjoyed it.
The food was absolutely delicious and the service was second to none. The restaurant was very quiet at the time and Michelle went out of her way to cater for our’s and other customers’ every need.
We’ll definitely be back, perhaps we’ll try an evening next time so that we can enjoy the fantastic food and at the same time sample the Belly Dancing entertainment.

Date of visit: July 2019
2  Thank MurielS431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Souq also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Souq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing