We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal”
Review of Martone

Martone
Ranked #14 of 67 Dessert in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Broughton & Calton
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We were welcomed and served quickly in this busy spotlessly clean restaraunt. We had the 2 course special menu and both enjoyed our meal. The waitress who served us took the time to have a chat inbetween serving and made us feel relaxed. Would visit again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Edwina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiaoRomaManagement, Owner at Martone, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to Martone. Thank you for your feedback & we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

510 - 514 of 705 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had just arrived in Edinburgh and found this fantastic Italian restaurant. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had a great time in here and in true Italian fashion our three year old boy was dotted on by all the staff! It makes a change to go out for dinner as a family and be given such a warm welcome!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ItalianDynamite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiaoRomaManagement, Owner at Martone, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

I am pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your visit to Martone. Thank you for your comments & we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Saw this small Italian on the smartphone app. Thought we would give it a go, awesome restaurant with really good service. The pizzas are as good as they are in Italy itself. You will not be disappointed.

Thank M4ncity
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CiaoRomaManagement, Owner at Martone, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to Martone & enjoyed our pizzas! Thank you for your feedback & we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stumbled on this little restaurant by chance. Their salmon pasta special was delightful, the service was great and the award winning ice cream was a real treat. We will definately return next time we are in Edinburgh.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KID389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiaoRomaManagement, Owner at Martone, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to Martone. We are very proud of our award winning homemade ice cream. Thank you for your comments & we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Down in Edinburgh training for a couple of days, as a woman traveling on her own I don't usually feel comfortable dining out by myself. However couldn't resist this lovely little restaurant just a few doors down from my hotel.

Service was lovely, really nice waitress who made sure I was comfortable and both she and her male counterpart worked well as a team to ensure all diners where looked after.

Olives where gorgeous.....not tasted any so good since Tuscany, great pasta and the Tiramisu was to die for.....all finished off with an espresso correto con amaretto.

Good price as well for a city centre restauant, would definately eat here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CiaoRomaManagement, Owner at Martone, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to Martone & loved the olives & tiramisu!! Thank you for your comments & we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martone also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Martone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing