We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Princes Street Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2010

I stayed at the PSS for the first time last month after it being referred to me by a work colleague. Although I was staying for leisure purposes I was very impressed with the setup. The service was excellent, the apartment clean, the building quiet and centrally located with a really modern feel. I would like to give a special mention to the recpetion staff who were on at my time of stay, Gareth and Alison. They were very helpful and did their jobs with smiles on their faces giving a human touch. I have encouraged friends and workmates to try this place, as it didn't disappoint in any way. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrH1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2010

Dear Mr H1969,
Thank you for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope when you are next in Edinburgh you will stay with us again.
Wishing you a happy festive season,
Regards
Princes Street Suites
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (791)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 791 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2010

I will begin with the good since there are some positive aspects of the hotel. First of all the location is amazing. We arrived by train from London to Waverly Station and the hotel is just around the corner and very easy to find. It is located just minutes from the castle and the royal mile. Secondly the suites are very big. It was only the two of us but this would be perfect for a family. A fully decked out kitchen, a dining room, living room with couch and TV, laundry room and of course bathroom and bedroom.
Now for the bad, and let me say I may have been soured to the situation due to a very bad cold I was dealing with. Now even though the suite was clean, the bathroom was a little moldy around the shower and we ran out of toilet paper and Kleenex because the room was not serviced on our second day. The bed and pillows were incredibly uncomfortable and I did not get a single good nights sleep. Even though I did not hear a peep from any neighbors in the hotel the windows were not sound proof and i heard every siren, drunk person, garbage truck, etc going up the street they were also not sealed well and cold air poured in like an air conditioner. The heater in the bedroom was not working so we had to crank it up in the hallway and prop open the bedroom door to let some heat in. The TV was not working and they were not able to fix it the entire time we were there and they did not offer us anything in compensation. Again I know your not in Edinburgh to stay in your room and watch TV, but since I was feeling ill sitting in the room staring at the wall was not enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iluvlida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

couldnt have been happier with this place. travelled for 2 nights with friends for a break away and we all had a ball! the suites are amazing the moment we walked in we all described it as "jaw dropping" wasnt what we were expecting atall its was stunning! and the view from the roof top terrace is just amazing never seen anything like it.. will definatley be going back WOW :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sassywall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

I would give this experience 7 stars if I could. From the booking process to departure this was simply a pleasure! Now. Let's get the very VERY small niggles out of the way first. The place is advertised as "5 star" so one expects a high standard. This standard is mainly met, but there are some small details that could be sorted by a man with a toolbox and some filler and silicone in an hour. *BUT* - a few tiny things like that can not distract from the fact that here you get not just a crammed room, you get a very stylish lovely apartment right in the very centre of the city. That alone is worth the price and then some. The reception staff could not possibly be any nicer or more helpful, the views from the roof terrace are breathtaking, the appartments spacious and clean and beautifully equipped. Considering it's right in the centre we found it very quiet. But it has to be said that we were on the forth floor, but really, when you book in a city centre you can't expect rural tranquility, can you? The free WiFi was much appreciated and worked perfectly. The kitchen had all the bits and pieces you could possibly want, we felt so at home we changed our plans to go out to eat and cooked instead.

Could some screws do with tightening? Yes. Was one table lamp a little wobbly? It was. But honestly, just LOOK at what you get for your money here... SUCH space, Such wonderful staff, comfort, style, views, access to all the tourist attractions etc etc etc.

If people write a bad review just because of some very minor cosmetic blibs then in my humble opinion they miss the point. They can go and pay twice or three times as much to stay in a small hotel room in one of the top class hotels. This is an absolute top class suite house and has to be judged as such.

We will absolutely and definately be back, for longer this time, and can't recommend it highly enough, there was absolutely nothing that marred our enjoyment and we would like to extend a special "Thank You" to the absolutey wonderful ladies at reception who did everything to make our stay really special. The staff are a real credit to the place! We stayed at No 34 - and will probably try very hard to get that again when we come back.

Unbeatable value for money and all round fabulous. Thank You. We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petra_in_peterhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

What an amazing place to stay, this is the first time we have stayed in apartments rather than a hotel and will definitely be doing it again. We were upgraded on arrival from a 1 bed apt to a 3 bed apt. We had no use for the extra bedrooms but I suspect it meant the living and kitchen areas were bigger. The apartment was decorated beautifully and there were all the conviniences you could need provided in the bathroom and kitchens. The apartments were in an amazing location at the end of Princes street and within a few minutes walk to the Royal Mile. It was a great place to use as a base for exploring the city. The staff were all very friendly and helpful giving advice on places to go and travel options. My favourite part was the roof terrace which gives amazing views of the city and again is very stylishly designed.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taztrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Stayed a week, so I thought it a good idea to cut out the dining out option to save a lot of $$$. Worked. There is a complete kitchen in the apt. including microwave. There is a full service Sainbury's at St. Andrews Square, a few blocks away to buy all the food you can stand. And then there are Subway sandwich shops all over. And do take the Airlink for 6# RT, it's only a block and a half away at Waverley Bridge. Towel service is spotty but so what? Overall great recommendation from a picky and experienced world traveler. I was in Apt #2 which is on floor -3, yes, minus 3. Do not let that bother you! there are windows that look out on Calton Road. And it goes up in floors to +4. So there you are.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orca4317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

The hotel has a great location.
Our rooms (two different rooms over three nights) were very spacious and modernly furnished, but that was where it ended.
I actually feel bad for the staff. It seemed that their hands were tied.
The bathrooms were full of mold, the walls throughout the apartments were covered in scratches and dirt. There were burned out light bulbs throughout. We requested face cloths and towels because they were missing. We were told that they ran out.
We were given a complimentary bottle of wine, which we were subsequently charged for (and it isn't even good wine).
The luggage storage room was left unlocked while our belongings were in it.
Be aware that the laundry facilities in the suites are very inefficient. It took over four hours for a small load of laundry and it wasn't even dry. We thought it was our error, but the night desk clerk said it was typical for the type of appliances in the apartment.
There were too many small things wrong that accumulated into something large.We were very disappointed with the Hotel. We chose it based on Trip Advisor reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,925 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Street Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Street Suites

Address: 16 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $110 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Princes Street Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, space and service make Princes Street Suites a modern Edinburgh classic. Whether you check in for two nights or two weeks you'll enjoy the unrivaled space to entertain, work or simply relax that these superb award winning serviced apartments have to offer. You can choose from our luxurious three bedroom penthouse with views of Edinburgh Castle and Arthurs Seat to our spacious studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Princes Street Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Street Suites At 16 Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh
Princes Street Suites Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing