We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and well priced. Highly recommend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Princes Street Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Princes Street Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location and well priced. Highly recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Very roomy apartment with modern décor. VERY well located. Great rooftop view!! Only criticism was the two double beds. Would have preferred two single beds for children (boy and girl). Fortunately they were Ok sharing "most" nights. Bit small and bedding bit uncomfortable for tired travellers.
Would stay again & definitely recommend due to price, location and modern look of interior,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scorpioalejandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Princes Street Suites . I am glad that you have enjoyed your overall experience with us. With regards to bed configuration, we do have a limited number of apartments with twin beds and those are available subject to availability, and on request.. Can I suggest that next time you book with us you put a special request for twin beds and we will try our very best to accommodate it. We look forward to welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites - Best wishes - Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    202
    69
    18
    14
See reviews for
253
186
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Ok! We got this place on late rooms for an absolute bargain. So good we were worried what it would be like! We need not have worried. It was just as described. Luxury apartment with 2 double bedrooms. There was even coffee and milk! It's location is also outstanding. Literally a few minutes walk from the train station and it is located at the end of Princes Street. It was perfectly placed for the Royal Mile as well! Helpful staff who were happy for guests to leave their luggage in a secure room. The Waterloo pub is directly opposite. Small basic and cheap! Everything is in walking distance from this accomodation. I would definitely go back. If only I could get that special rate again!!

Room Tip: Higher rooms will give you a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mogatronprime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandrine C, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your very enthusiastic review ! It am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will see you back at Princes Street Suites , at that very special rate or not ! very best wishes - Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in a two bedroom apartment in mid June
(my husband and two sons). The location was perfect for walking and exploring many areas including the royal mile and castle area. Some improvements could be on the overall appearance of the soft furnishings of the apartment we stayed in such as the sofas, cushions and rugs- they were a bit 'grubby'. We self-catered in our apartment most nights, however there wasn't enough crockery, utensils, glassware or pots/ pans. For example 4 glasses, no frying pan and only 4 each of spoon, fork etc. There was a dishwasher, but not many tablets supplied or dish washing liquid for the sink. The apartment was ' freshened up' each day and clean towels supplied. One other thing future guests should know is that if you require car parking, there is no on-sight parking and the closest one you can use is about a 20 minute walk away (next to train station)
and it is VERY expensive!! There is some discount available if you present the parking ticket at hotel reception, which is then exchanged for an endorsed coupon, but doesn't always work! Becomes tedious to get it sorted out. Overall a pretty good stay, I'd go back but without a car!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sconic73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandrine C, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your review on your recent stay at Princes Street Suites. I am delighted to read that you and your family liked the apartment and were happy with the overal standard. I am sorry however that you felt that there was a lack of kitchen equipment and hope that you reported it during your stay in order for our team to rectify the situation. Our apartments are checked in full before each new arrival and items replaced if necessary. I hope we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites - Kind regards- Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, SC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My sister, husband and I shared a two bedroom suite here and it was perfect! We had a kitchen, living and dining room area with two bedrooms and a bathroom. Everything was clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful! Walk out the front door to tour buses, great restaurants, and shopping, including a fabulous grocery store. There is so much to see in Edinburgh and the Princes Suites Hotel was a great place to start from. The train station is a block away too. We were very happy staying here and want to come back.

Room Tip: We had a -1 floor room, which was fine. View of a very old wall did not bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gaterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandrine C, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review . I am glad that you have enjoyed staying with us and that the apartment and service have met with your expectations . We look forward to welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites . Best regards- Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patna, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were 3 families with 2 kids each. We had rented One Three Room Apartment and One Two Bedroom Apartment. The Apartment is walking distance from the Station and we all actually walked with so many luggage. The check-in was smooth. The apartments are clean. One of the Apartments was situated on 3rd floor and One was 1 floor below the ground level. The upper floor Apartment had nice view with goof light and air. We were disappointed with the other Apartment as It had only one Bathroom that two in the common area.
The Apartments appears to be quite new with all the modern facilities. The cleaning staff were kind enough to replace our towels everyday on request.
All the attractions, restaurants, clubs are just a walking distance form our hotel, so our stay was overall great.

Room Tip: Apartments above the Ground Floor, of course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrashantBh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandrine C, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review on your recent stay at Princes Street Suites. I am glad you have enjoyed your overall stay with us and that you have found it to be a perfect location to visit the sights and the attractions that the Scottish Capital has on offer. I hope we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites - Best regards- Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
198 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I booked three apartments at Prince's Street Suites for my friend's hen do. Check in was a bit of a pain as I wasn't pre warned that they would expect a £550 refundable deposit for the three rooms and it was lucky I had my credit card with me as no one else I was travelling with did. Also the three rooms had been booked under my name, but were showing on their system under the name of another girl in our party so it took a while for my booking to be found. I have to say that the check in staff were helpful in sorting this out and the error could be down to the booking agent.

The apartments are modern and nicely decorated with no obvious damage or wear and tear, decent sized rooms and a well equipped kitchen. Our apartment was below ground level, but had windows and a balcony. We stayed in a three bed apartment that had two bathrooms, however weirdly and unfortunately one of the bathrooms had a power shower and the other main bathroom had a much weaker electric one.

The apartments had room service and towels were supplied and changed. They also had an iron and ironing board and hair-dryers. There were flat screen TVs in the living room and all bedrooms. There was a roof terrace with lovely views over Edinburgh, but no restaurant or bar on site and no room service. The hotel provided a bag storage service and the staff were very helpful at check out time. There is lift access to all floors.

The location of the hotel is excellent being very Central being close to the shops and attractions and round the corner from the Train Station. It was good value being only £84 each, for two nights but could be more expensive if booking for less people. I would recommend this hotel based on the quality of service, the excellent location and the good quality accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emily2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Many thanks for writing such a lenghtly review on your recent stay at Princes Street Suites . I am glad that you are your party enjoyed the facilities , the central location and the standard of service provided by the team. Our apartments are very large and are ideal for group or family gatherings . Our three-bedroom apartments in particular ( we have 12 of those) offer ample space and flexibility for guests to relax or unwind after a busy day in the Scottish capital. We look forward to welcoming you back soon . Best wishes - Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedabad
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here from 3rd to 6th june. I thought this place is truly star. Very nicely decorated , spacious and comfortable apartments. The only problem we had was that we could not figure out how to operate the heating and when we asked the reception even they could not start the heating. Other wise this place is SUPER. Location cannot get better.

Room Tip: request for rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rockybhagat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely comments . I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed staying with us and that the standard of the facilities as well as the level of service met with your approval. I am sorry however that you did experience a minor issue with the heating system and hope that it did not cause too much inconvenience. We hope we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites - Best regards - Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Street Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Street Suites

Property: Princes Street Suites
Address: 16 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 214 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Princes Street Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, space and service make Princes Street Suites a modern Edinburgh classic. Whether you check in for two nights or two weeks you'll enjoy the unrivaled space to entertain, work or simply relax that these superb award winning serviced apartments have to offer. You can choose from our luxurious three bedroom penthouse with views of Edinburgh Castle and Arthurs Seat to our spacious studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Princes Street Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Street Suites At 16 Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh
Princes Street Suites Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing