We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and quality accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Princes Street Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I booked three apartments at Prince's Street Suites for my friend's hen do. Check in was a bit of a pain as I wasn't pre warned that they would expect a £550 refundable deposit for the three rooms and it was lucky I had my credit card with me as no one else I was travelling with did. Also the three rooms had been booked under my name, but were showing on their system under the name of another girl in our party so it took a while for my booking to be found. I have to say that the check in staff were helpful in sorting this out and the error could be down to the booking agent.

The apartments are modern and nicely decorated with no obvious damage or wear and tear, decent sized rooms and a well equipped kitchen. Our apartment was below ground level, but had windows and a balcony. We stayed in a three bed apartment that had two bathrooms, however weirdly and unfortunately one of the bathrooms had a power shower and the other main bathroom had a much weaker electric one.

The apartments had room service and towels were supplied and changed. They also had an iron and ironing board and hair-dryers. There were flat screen TVs in the living room and all bedrooms. There was a roof terrace with lovely views over Edinburgh, but no restaurant or bar on site and no room service. The hotel provided a bag storage service and the staff were very helpful at check out time. There is lift access to all floors.

The location of the hotel is excellent being very Central being close to the shops and attractions and round the corner from the Train Station. It was good value being only £84 each, for two nights but could be more expensive if booking for less people. I would recommend this hotel based on the quality of service, the excellent location and the good quality accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emily2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Many thanks for writing such a lenghtly review on your recent stay at Princes Street Suites . I am glad that you are your party enjoyed the facilities , the central location and the standard of service provided by the team. Our apartments are very large and are ideal for group or family gatherings . Our three-bedroom apartments in particular ( we have 12 of those) offer ample space and flexibility for guests to relax or unwind after a busy day in the Scottish capital. We look forward to welcoming you back soon . Best wishes - Sandrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 463 of 796 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here from 3rd to 6th june. I thought this place is truly star. Very nicely decorated , spacious and comfortable apartments. The only problem we had was that we could not figure out how to operate the heating and when we asked the reception even they could not start the heating. Other wise this place is SUPER. Location cannot get better.

Room Tip: request for rooms on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockybhagat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments . I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed staying with us and that the standard of the facilities as well as the level of service met with your approval. I am sorry however that you did experience a minor issue with the heating system and hope that it did not cause too much inconvenience. We hope we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites - Best regards - Sandrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We ended up staying at this property after both our previous bookings got cancelled on us on the day of arriving in Edinburgh! Very good facilities, extremely spacious and the staff were great. We will certainly stay here again when visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EagerExplorer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially after experiencing what must have been a very disappointing and stressful situation.
I hope we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites .
Best regards- Sandrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is easily one of the best apartment suites that I have stayed in for a long time.

The unit was spacious and well maintained, with all the necessary requirements such as a washing machine/dryer and all kitchen equipments in place for a more-than-decent long term stay.

To add the location is excellent, and it is definitely value for money.

Perhaps only blemish was that we were unable to check in immediately even though we arrived at 4pm, when check in time ought to be 3pm. However it didn't bother us all that much; we simply left our luggages with the front desk and went for a walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandervox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Many thanks for your review regarding your recent stay at Princes Street Suites . I am glad that you and your family have enjoyed staying with us during your short stay in th Scottish capital. I apologize if you were unable to check-in at 3.00Pm as it should be . I hope you were given an explanation at the time why this was the case ? We hope we will see you again soon at Princes Street Suites - Best regards - Sandrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Friends and I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. The hotel is in a great location, the staff was very friendly, and the rooms clean and modern. The beds were comfy, the kitchen nicely equipped, and a huge amount of living space. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Edinburgh's best sites in old and new town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your review . We are all delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites. Hope you have a lovely weekend when it comes - Very best wishes from myself and the team at PSS . Sandrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We've booked a last minute deal (£59 / night) and it was well worth the experience. We stayed in a HUGE apartment - and when I say huge it was really spacious:) Included one bedroom, lounge, fully equipped kitchen, a bathroom and another one with shower and utility rooms with washing machine, ironing board etc. The staff was helpful and friendly. If you planning to stay here you must go up to the rooftop terrace as it offers a unique view to the old town and the castle. Highly recommended for couples, families who want enjoy a cosy apartment at the heart of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lingaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review . I am glad that you have made the most of our roof terrace - The views are breathtaking indeed . The Castle , the Old Town and Arthur Seat on one side, and the New Town, the Firth of Forth and the hills on the other .A perfect place to relax with a coffee and a drink, after a busy day shopping, visiting or working in the capital. Best wishes - Sandrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just visited Edinburgh with the wife and kids. Had booked an apartment for the first time, generally opting for a hotel, and was very pleasantly surprised. Lots of space, great location, nicely appointed apartment. Excellent experience and will happily recommend the place and more importantly, would be glad to patronise again!

Micheal, at the front desk, was exceptional, with lots of informations and going out of his way to help with any queries

Bravo!

If there are a few suggestions, they would be the following
1. If you are opting for a two bedroom suite, try to get one with two bathrooms!!
2. The master bedroom has a tiny bed. Not ideal for two adults(unless you are planning to spend the night on top of each other)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Likemyspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for your review . I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed staying with us . Our apartments are ideal for families - Every member can find a little corner to play or relax. I will certainly pass on your comments to Michael who will be delighted to read them. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Princes Street Suites - Best regards - Sandrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,046 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#57 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,715 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,951 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Street Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Street Suites

Address: 16 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $121 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Princes Street Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, space and service make Princes Street Suites a modern Edinburgh classic. Whether you check in for two nights or two weeks you'll enjoy the unrivaled space to entertain, work or simply relax that these superb award winning serviced apartments have to offer. You can choose from our luxurious three bedroom penthouse with views of Edinburgh Castle and Arthurs Seat to our spacious studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Princes Street Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Street Suites At 16 Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh
Princes Street Suites Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing