We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay for four at great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Princes Street Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is easily one of the best apartment suites that I have stayed in for a long time.

The unit was spacious and well maintained, with all the necessary requirements such as a washing machine/dryer and all kitchen equipments in place for a more-than-decent long term stay.

To add the location is excellent, and it is definitely value for money.

Perhaps only blemish was that we were unable to check in immediately even though we arrived at 4pm, when check in time ought to be 3pm. However it didn't bother us all that much; we simply left our luggages with the front desk and went for a walk.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandervox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Many thanks for your review regarding your recent stay at Princes Street Suites . I am glad that you and your family have enjoyed staying with us during your short stay in th Scottish capital. I apologize if you were unable to check-in at 3.00Pm as it should be . I hope you were given an explanation at the time why this was the case ? We hope we will see you again soon at Princes Street Suites - Best regards - Sandrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (772)
There are newer reviews for Princes Street Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

437 - 443 of 772 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

Friends and I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. The hotel is in a great location, the staff was very friendly, and the rooms clean and modern. The beds were comfy, the kitchen nicely equipped, and a huge amount of living space. The hotel is within easy walking distance of Edinburgh's best sites in old and new town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you very much for your review . We are all delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites. Hope you have a lovely weekend when it comes - Very best wishes from myself and the team at PSS . Sandrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We've booked a last minute deal (£59 / night) and it was well worth the experience. We stayed in a HUGE apartment - and when I say huge it was really spacious:) Included one bedroom, lounge, fully equipped kitchen, a bathroom and another one with shower and utility rooms with washing machine, ironing board etc. The staff was helpful and friendly. If you planning to stay here you must go up to the rooftop terrace as it offers a unique view to the old town and the castle. Highly recommended for couples, families who want enjoy a cosy apartment at the heart of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lingaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review . I am glad that you have made the most of our roof terrace - The views are breathtaking indeed . The Castle , the Old Town and Arthur Seat on one side, and the New Town, the Firth of Forth and the hills on the other .A perfect place to relax with a coffee and a drink, after a busy day shopping, visiting or working in the capital. Best wishes - Sandrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Just visited Edinburgh with the wife and kids. Had booked an apartment for the first time, generally opting for a hotel, and was very pleasantly surprised. Lots of space, great location, nicely appointed apartment. Excellent experience and will happily recommend the place and more importantly, would be glad to patronise again!

Micheal, at the front desk, was exceptional, with lots of informations and going out of his way to help with any queries

Bravo!

If there are a few suggestions, they would be the following
1. If you are opting for a two bedroom suite, try to get one with two bathrooms!!
2. The master bedroom has a tiny bed. Not ideal for two adults(unless you are planning to spend the night on top of each other)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Likemyspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for your review . I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed staying with us . Our apartments are ideal for families - Every member can find a little corner to play or relax. I will certainly pass on your comments to Michael who will be delighted to read them. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Princes Street Suites - Best regards - Sandrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Great Location and Suites. Very spacious for a family (we were 4). Clean with all modern facilities. Stayed for 2 nights and had booked the rate online inclusive of breakfast - which on hindsight was a mistake. Much cheaper options are available outside. They charge GBP 8 for a croissant, cereal box, fruit, juice and milk bottle. On my 2nd morning, the milk was rancid. Hotel staff was good to offer a refund for one day. Will surely stay there again, but will only book the suite !!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Panks0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us . I am glad that you enjoyed the apartment , although disappointed to read that the breakfast did not meet with your expectations . We offer a comprehensive continental breakfast and all our products are sourced locally. The pastries are freshly baked on the day and the milk comes from a local farmer. I hope you will come back to Princes Street Suites and experience the breakfast again. If you do, please contact me directly and I will make sure that you are well looked after . Kind regards - Sandrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We, myself and my family, were highly impressed by Princes Street Suites. The hotel is very well located. It's very plush and nicely done up! It's surprisingly, very spacious too! Although we had a very packed schedule, we felt we should spend more time relaxing in our suite. The staff is courteous and friendly although may not be able to offer much information. The beds and bath were very inviting. The rooms and kitchen were modern with all facilities in place. This is not a hotel but a studio suite where breakfast will be delivered on your dining table. So if you are looking at hotel and resort comforts this is not the place. This place is like having a modern cosy and elegant apartment with all gadgets all for yourself! My son put it best - " dad, can we have a house like this back in our city"

There is a day parking available just outside the hotel and there a night parking 5 minutes walk away!

The place is definitely recommendable! My friends visited the place on my recommendation and very quite thankful as even they loved the place.

Room Tip: Their city facing rooms are the ones to be taken. Lovely view of the Victorian buildings.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamaloza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your very kind comments . Our apartments are very spacious indeed, we like to think that they are the largest serviced apartments in Edinburgh . I am delighted that your family (and your son in particular!) felt at home at Princes Street Suites . This is what we like to hear. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites - Best regards- Sandrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I've spent one week in June 2013 in appartment 1 on the minus third floor.

What I liked:
very good location. If you arrive by plane, take the Airlink bus to Waverley bridge. From there, its a five minzte walk.
Very friendly employees at check-in and check-out.
Spacious and nicely furnished appartment..

What could be improved:
There were piles of bags of laundry standing around in the aisles. Can't you find another place for them? I felt like I was living in the basement next to the janitor.
Noise from the street, especially during Friday and Saturday nights, maybe thete are better soundproven windows avaiable for the minus third floor.
On sunday, housekeeping was kind of forgotten in my suite, only the bed was made, new towels would have been highly appreciated
mind the environment, why use the dishwasher to clean one fork?
it's great to have free wifi, but on the minus third floor it was so slow, you could not seriously use ist for anything

All in all a good experience, but not astonishing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruedinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your review . I am delighted to read that you were happy with your choice of accommodation in Edinburgh . Our very central location means that we are located next to very busy streets. However, the majority of our guests comment on how quiet and peaceful our apartments are considering the location. I am sorry if you did experience some noise despite the double glazing or double windows we have in place . This is unfortunately out of our control and I hope it was not too inconvenient. With regards to housekeeping, our apartments are cleaned every day , with a full service every other day and a light service on the other days . However it is possible to request a full service . All the very best for the weekend - Best regards - Sandrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
982 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Street Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Street Suites

Address: 16 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $164 - $375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Princes Street Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, space and service make Princes Street Suites a modern Edinburgh classic. Whether you check in for two nights or two weeks you'll enjoy the unrivaled space to entertain, work or simply relax that these superb award winning serviced apartments have to offer. You can choose from our luxurious three bedroom penthouse with views of Edinburgh Castle and Arthurs Seat to our spacious studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princes Street Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Street Suites At 16 Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh
Princes Street Suites Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing