We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Apartments, Fabulous location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Princes Street Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Apartments, Fabulous location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The location of these apartments is incredible! 5 mins walk to the train station, less than 5 mins to the shops on Princes Street and only 5 mins to the bars on George Street!

We booked here for a 30th birthday celebration and so wanted something special - this place really delivered! The apartment was very spacious, modern and also stylish! Everything was immaculate and has everything you'd need for a weekend away. Staff were also very friendly - we arrived a little early but they let us check in as the room was ready and when leaving even let us stay a little longer so we could go shopping in the morning!

The only negative is the lack of parking, you can use a public car park however its a good 10 minute walk away therefore with bags not the most pleasant of trips!! Despite this I will definitely be booking here for my next trip - I've been to Edinburgh several times and this is by far the best place I've stayed!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingPocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review . I am so glad that you and your party have enjoyed your stay with us over the weekend . Princes Street Suites is ideal for a family reunion or a friends gathering . I will pass on all your lovely comments to the team who as always are very keen to get feedback from our guests . They will be thrilled . With regards to lack of parking, i hope this has not caused too much inconvenience. Being located right in the centre of town means that we have no parking facilities on site. However, i hope you have made the most of the agreement we have in place with the Waverley Station Car park where our guests benefit from a 25% discount . I hope we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites - Best regards- Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    204
    70
    18
    14
See reviews for
255
189
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Princes St Suites. Its a perfect home-away-from-home for a small family visiting Edinburgh.

The location was fabulous - near Waverley station (where the Airlink bus terminates), near Prince St Mall, St James, Jenners, H&M, John Lewis, Marks & Sparks etc shops, plenty of good food within walking distance (e.g. Howies and that award-winning ice-cream shop just opposite).

The apartments were modern, spacious, well equipped and had a lovely view of the surroundings through its floor-to-ceiling windows.

Service was excellent, unintrusive and staff were friendly and helpful.


Getting There: It was not that difficult to find. After alighting from the Airlink bus, its a quick walk up North Bridge towards the main street, turn right and walk past the Waverley Gate building, Balmoral hotel and then walk past a side street (Calton road) and a traffic light junction. The entrance of Prince St Suites is just after the bus stop.

If you are taking a cab, it would cost about GBP25 from the airport - my cab driver was unfamiliar with the Prince St Suites but when we told him about the Apex hotel (opposite), he knew where to go exactly.


First Impressions and Checkin: We walked right through the front door and up the ramp, thinking that the front desk was somewhere at the lift lobby. We nearly missed the side door immediately on the left of the main entrance. This side door opens to the front desk/reception. The interior of the ground floor looked just like an upscale private apartments with carpeted floors, wood panelling and step-free access to the lifts.

Check in was quick. I had to fill in a form stating how many persons I have staying with me and we were given enough key cards to go around. Internet access user IDs and passwords were also handed over to us on little strips of paper. No fuss. Quick and simple.


The Apartment: We took a rather slow lift to our apartments. Upon exiting the lift, we noticed that there were workmen refurbishing one (or was it two) of the apartments next to us. However, there was little to no noise throughout our stay although we were quite sure the workmen were busy plastering walls, painting etc.

We entered the apartments and instantly, there was a wow factor. It felt like an upscale private condominium apartment straight away. Clean lines, cool colours, modern and classy furnishing. What really struck us were the large windows and the large size of the apartments.

There were 2 x double rooms, with the one nearer the bathroom being slightly larger. There was an odd wooden pillar in the middle of each room though.

The washing machine was in a closet alongside the hallway and the refuse bin was similarly hidden away in another closet in the open-plan kitchen. There was even a small floor cupboard right next to the door for your shoes. The freezer and fridge were separate and integrated into the kitchen set up. Just goes to show that the overall design of the apartment was thought through properly to maximise use of space and to ensure clean lines thoroughout.

My children made themselves at home straight away. It was not difficult to see why. They ran about the decent sized hall and played hide-and-seek in the rooms. The apartment's large size afforded them the space to play about. That said, the apartment still felt cosy enough and proof of that came when the children dozed off quickly that evening in the comfy beds.

We had a few minor grouses though. The bathroom was a large size and well equipped but we wished we had an extendible shower head instead of just a shower rose fixed to the wall. Also, there was the matter of blunt knives, ladle with a loose handle, absence of a water pitcher and lack of tea towels in the kitchen. However, these were very minor and did not prevent us from thoroughly enjoying our stay.

The kitchen was in pristine, almost brand-new condition. It did not seem to have had much use. That said, it was equipped enough for us to prepare meals for our children.


Around and About: The Prince St Suites is located at the end of Prince St but it is no more than 20mins from Edinburgh castle. You would be also a short walk from the Old Town - just cross Waverley bridge before the Scott Monument. The Mound is also not far off. We practically walked to where we wanted to go every day. So, really, everything is within walking distance.

There is a chinese restaurant diagonally opposite the Suite's main door and an award winning gelato/pasta joint next door. We tried the gelato and I must say that it is as good as some of the best I have had. Prince St was chock full of shops and we got our supplies from well-stocked M&S food hall.


Overall Experience: As mentioned before, we had a great time staying there. The children loved siting by the dining table each day, having breakfast while watching the world go by and spotting the sea gulls swooping down from the sky. We also enjoyed the good view of Edinburgh's skyline from the rooftop terrace of the building - we could see Arthur's Seat and the surroundings.

We wished we had more time to spend in Edinburgh and in the fabulous apartment. I would gladly book the Prince St Suites again if I return to this lovely city.

Room Tip: There is one side (and hence some apartments) that faces the Old Calton burial grounds. Be sure to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lenghtly and lovely review about your recent stay at Princes Street Suites . I am so delighted that you have all enjoyed your experience with us , the location , and the views . I am also glad to hear that the refurbishment work going on in the building did not create too much inconvenience for you . We are very busy indeed at the moment- all our apartments are currently being repainted, carpets cleaned and some of our equipment and pieces of furniture are being changed or refreshed ... So no noisy work ! We hope we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites. Best wishes- Sandrine CL, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I had to travel to Edinburgh on a short-notice business trip. My 'go-to' hotels were unavailable, so I found this one on hotels.com. Fantastic choice! The staff accommodated my request for early access to a room (I arrived very early one morning off the flight from the US) so that I could wash up and get to work. The room (2-bedroom on 2 separate floors) was immaculate. Kitchen, sitting room, two baths and two bedrooms. The staff was incredibly nice and the price was outstanding (about $115 nightly). I would stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magoo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback on your recent stay at Princes Street Suites . I am glad that you have chosen to stay with us rather than your usual hotel and that you were happy with the services provided . I hope you will decide to come and stay with us next time you are in Edinburgh on business or leisure - If you come and stay in Edinburgh on a regular basis, then please contact us so that we can look at preferential rates for you. With best wishes - Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I'll start by saying they could do with updating the lift which feels a little like its running on strength of will alone, BUT...


We stayed in a two bed apartment in the top floor (about £100 for the three of us for a night) and I would happily recommend it to anyone! We arrived early to drop off our bags, but instead of putting them into storage the reception staff happily offered to check us in 3 hours early free of charge. They were polite, friendly and very efficient and when we had trouble with our kettle it was sorted instantly by a very smile-y member of house keeping. Its a fantastic location (we got a taxi from Waverly train station costing us a grand total of £3.20) however we soon found that we could see one of the entrances from our room (we couldn't HEAR the trains though) and easily walked with our bags when it was time to head home. Its also close to shops, bars and some stunning architecture.

The roof top terrace is fab if your a smoker, and I imagine on a sunny day would be just as wonderful if you wern't thanks to the views, the rooms look very much like the pictures on the website and the bride (we were there for a quiet hen do) wanted to stay forever (so did the rest of us mind you!)

Thanks again to the wonderful staff, who couldn't be more helpful, definitely a credit to the company!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Princes Street Suites. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your overall experience , and particularly the location and the view from the Roof Terrace . Now that Spring is upon us (is it?) , it will be an ever better time to relax on the roof terrace while enjoying the magnificient city skyline , so I hope we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites . Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Staff were very nice we booked 2bed apartment and was upgraded to 3 bedroom very big and warm everything was new in the kitchen didnt even looked touched we cooked abit and there was plenty of equipment everything was in walking distance we parked in waverly station for just over 24hrs and it was £22 wish we could of stayed for longer it was great would def recommend and would stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikeinvictus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Princes Street Suites . I am delighted that you have enjoyed your overall experience with us and hope we will soon have the pleasure of welcoming you back . Best regards- Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Good place for the self catering crowd. Very central. Fifteen minutes walk to National Museum. About the same to the castle. Located next to the train station. Ten minutes walk to the bus station. Stores nearby. The apartment was equipped with all necessities, including lesser items such as corkscrew. Cleaned once a day, including dishes.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank hofvarpnir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review always good to get great feedback!!

If we can be of anymore help with bookings in the future please contact us on

reception@princesstreetsuites.co.uk

Many Thanks

Michael Jones
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

We booked two three bedroom apartment for one night. The rooms were very spacious and my room was facing the Arthur's Seat which was spectacular. We cooked in the kitchen and the utensils are clean. The location was good and only walking distance to the train station and other spots such as Regent Park, Golden Miles were all within good walking distance. As it was on the main street (i.e. Princes Street), with less than five minutes walk you will reach restaurants and shops. One set back is that they charged me 10pounds for each extra blanket and also they did not have hygiene utilities such as toothbrush or toothpaste for sale to customers.

Room Tip: Bring your own personal hygiene utensils.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libera C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a comment on trip advisor . We are delighted that you have anjoyed your stay with us and that you were particularly keen on the location- which is quite exceptional I agree - within walking distance of all the major sights and visitor attractions of the capital, and only 5 minutes walk to the main train station. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites - Best regards- Sandrine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Street Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Street Suites

Property: Princes Street Suites
Address: 16 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Princes Street Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, space and service make Princes Street Suites a modern Edinburgh classic. Whether you check in for two nights or two weeks you'll enjoy the unrivaled space to entertain, work or simply relax that these superb award winning serviced apartments have to offer. You can choose from our luxurious three bedroom penthouse with views of Edinburgh Castle and Arthurs Seat to our spacious studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Princes Street Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Street Suites At 16 Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh
Princes Street Suites Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing