We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Believe the Pictures!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Princes Street Suites
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't Believe the Pictures!”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed in this apartment styled hotel over the Christmas period. On reading their web site, they suggest luxury suites, fully serviced and suitable for long stays. We took a one bedroom suite.
On the first night, we discovered that the central heating wasn't working in all the rooms particularly the bedroom, other "radiators" were also not working in the main living area. The bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. It's clear that we were the first people to use this apartment in the Scottish Winter!
Do not accept apartment 3 on the minus 3 floor (not sure if this is because we received a good rate from late rooms?), however, this is the furthest room in the hotel overlooking the construction site of the train station and office buildings.
The washer/dryer leaked water onto the floor when in drying mode. The kitchen was well under provisioned for utensils. One coffee mug for two people, no fry pan to cook eggs, not enough cutlery, etc. etc.
During this period, the bathroom amenities were only replenished once, yet the web site boasts of the quality products being used. I think that one of the tricks during the period was to come as early as you can in the morning to hope that the Guests say "no" to a service because we still haven't had a shower. Make sure you let the room attendants know to "come back later".
The only redeeming point for this hotel is the location. It is indeed in the centre of the city and minutes walk to the shopping area. I would not recommend nor return despite the location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    205
    70
    18
    14
See reviews for
263
193
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed in a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite. Loads of room, televisions in all bedrooms.

24 hour reception. Right at the top of Princes Street in very quiet area.

Lovely views of Edinburgh. Local Sainsburys up the road or a M&S. Brought bacon, sausage and eggs and cooked brekkie in the suite and ate it overlooking Edinburgh. Cost of room was £90 which is great money if you can utilise all bedrooms.

Room Tip. Request 2 bathroom suite with view on 3rd or 4th floor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddietriffid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after you recent stay. We were delighted that you enjoyed your experience in Edinburgh and found the property to be well located for ease of access to all the experiences that Edinburgh has to offer. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

These apartments are fabulous,having stayed before,we knew what to expect,but we were upgraded to the penthouse suite,3 bedrooms,all very well appointed,comfy beds,flatscreen tvs,hairdryers,robes,one room en-suite,large bath with overshower,huge lounge with dining area and open plan kitchen.Everything you need and more in kitchen area.The views were simply stunning.We love the quirky decor.As frequent travellers to edinburgh and having stayed in numerous hotels in the area,we will always use these apartments from now on.The staff are lovely.Be sure to check out the roof terrace,take your camera!

Room Tip: Apartments are all different decor,very modern design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddison90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after you recent stay. We were delighted that you enjoyed your experience in Edinburgh and Princes Street Suites. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Got upgraded to a 2 bed apartment and there was toones of room for just the 2 of us, staff were friendly and helpful; apartment clean and well equipped and a nice central location. Would 100% recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah2465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after you recent stay. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Princes Street Suites on your recent visit to Edinburgh.We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed here with family and booked two apartments. a two bedroom and three bedroom. i didnt have great expectations following our experience of european apartments however we were all (yes all 11) of us were surprised at this contemporary yet comfortable apartment hotel. the rooftop terrace is worth a visit and would be even nicer on a warm evening. although we didnt get a bargain i have to say i would definitely consider returning. i am sure there will be other equally good if not better apartments nearby but in all fairness what you see on the pics is what you get. the kitchen was well equipped and clean. I would have expected a fabulous power shower but the shower in the bath was adequate. Unfortunately the hotel do not provide parking facilities which isnt surprising in a city center location. if i had to fault anything then i would say that there are various areas that need to be repainted in the apartment and if i was being really honest, there were stains on our bedroom wall. I understand there are signs of wear and tear in most places however the hotel need to pay a bit more attention to cleaning.

Room Tip: request a room on the upper floors for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fats_and_als
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after you recent stay. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Princes Street Suites on your recent visit to Edinburgh in December. We very much value the reviews and thank you for taking the time to mention the well stocked kitchen and location of the property. The ease of city centre access is enjoyable by all fo our guests. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I spent the week ending on Christmas Eve 2011 here in a one bedroom apartment on the -2 level. This apartment is better than my condo at home. I hated to leave.

Only about 10 minutes walk from where Airlink bus from airport drops you off outside Waverly Station on Waverly Bridge.

It was quiet, spacious, immaculately clean, modern, nicely appointed, and every piece of furniture was very comfortable. Even though some major construction repairs were going on only yards away, I heard nary a clang. The radiators kept me toasty warm.

Shower was fabulous – lots of water pressure and tons of hot water.

Bed was made, trash emptied, and linens replaced daily.

Lots of cable channels (I loved seeing all my favorite British mystery shows) on the two flat screen television stations.

Check-in after online reservation was made was simple, and check-out took just a minute. No unanticipated charges. A family emergency occurred back home and when the hospital called apartment reception, a member of staff brought me to the phone.

My only quibble was that more silverware and table settings were needed (some things only had enough for one person and if a couple were sharing the apartment, there would not be enough cutlery and tableware).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneyWoman321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review ,we were delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Princes Street Suites when you visited Edinburgh in December. We very much value the reviews and thank you for taking the time to mention the house keeping standards and location of the property. We hope you had a fun and enjoyable time in Edinburgh and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites on your next visit to Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Having stayed in Edinburgh many times we decided to try an apartment rather than a hotel room as we have a 2 year old kid. WELL.... It was fantastic, 5 stars for everything, especially the location it was spot on for all the attractions on Princes St and Gardens. We will definitely stay at Princes St suits again, there is even a newsagents, Italian take away and noodle bar straight across the road for everything you might need!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chftr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PSSteam, General Manager at Princes Street Suites, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review ,we were delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Princes Street Suites when you visited Edinburgh in December. We very much value the reviews and thank you for taking the time to mention the local food options near by the property. We hope you had a fun and enjoyable time in Edinburgh and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Princes Street Suites on your next visit to Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,678 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princes Street Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princes Street Suites

Property: Princes Street Suites
Address: 16 Waterloo Place, Edinburgh EH1 3EG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 202 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Princes Street Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, space and service make Princes Street Suites a modern Edinburgh classic. Whether you check in for two nights or two weeks you'll enjoy the unrivaled space to entertain, work or simply relax that these superb award winning serviced apartments have to offer. You can choose from our luxurious three bedroom penthouse with views of Edinburgh Castle and Arthurs Seat to our spacious studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Princes Street Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Street Suites At 16 Waterloo Place Hotel Edinburgh
Princes Street Suites Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing