We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Du Vin to the top”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #50 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2011

After impressive stays with Hotel Du Vin at their Cambridge and York Hotels we again opted for Du Vin in Edinburgh. The hotel, in the typical clean cut Du Vin style, is housed in a former 'mad house' or asylum and is situated in the capitals Old Town. This location puts you within easy walking distance to most of the cities attractions. The staff were welcoming, the room was clean and warm, our bistro lunch was first class. If we had one beef then the cooked breakfast wasn't the best but all in all Du Vin once again proved to be a good choice !

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

889 - 895 of 1,064 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2011

Have reviewed this hotel before, but wanted to thank the staff for an excellent 40th birthday stay in January. From the wonderful upgraded room to the Bistro meal and the bar and whisky snug. Our stay was excellent in every way. Mnay thanks and see you again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoetfromBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

I stayed here this week on a clinical meeting .My room was lovely with a free standing bah in the room.Fluffy towels and pristione bedding.

Dinner in the Bistro was very good and the staff great.

The only issue we had were one or two staff spoke very poor english (even at reception) but they tried thier best.A great hotel for work and pleasure

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Thank you to the team at HDV Edinburgh for making our 2 night stay so special. The suite was quite simply stunning and meal in the bistro delicious. Breakfasts were great - everything we have come to expect from HDV and more. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthp_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night for our anniversary. Got a good deal thru work using a discount code & when I booked was asked if it was a special occassion. This had obviously been noted & when we arrived were told we had been upgraded. Like all Hotel Du Vins the rooms are named after wines & go up in class, when I saw the room key said Krug I thought wow! Wow indeed... we had been upgraded to a beautiful room with a huge wooden sleigh bed and french doors opened onto a balcony. The bathroom was huge with a massive walk in monsoon shower & free standing roll top bath, there was a small flat screen TV on the wall in the bathroom too, it was the most amazing room I have ever stayed in. Thank you, you made our anniversary very special & were sad to only be staying one night.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leesm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We stayed for 1 night to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary, we booked through Superbreak for £120 BB which we thought was excellent value. The hotel kindly upgraded us on arrival and we were given the most beautiful room.

We were shown to our room by a nice young girl who carried our bags. The room was lovely, decorated to a high standard complete with roll top bath at the end of the bed.

The hotel is situated in the old part of Edinburgh which is really pretty with cobbled streets, a very short walk from the train station and to Princes Street.

We ate in the Bistro and the food was delicious and to a very high standard, there are also plenty bars and restaurants close by.

The lady on Reception who took over the late shift was particularly miserable when we tried to arrange a taxi but I suppose there is always one!

My only criticism came when we tried to get to sleep, it was like trying to sleep in the Nevada Desert! We had noticed whilst walking to our room the radiators in the corridors were turned up very high and becasue we were situated on the 3rd floor, I presume the heat rising through the floors added to the temperature in our room making it particulalry uncomfortable. No matter how much we fiddled with the air con it just didn't get any cooler. We opened the windows but the noise from the street below of drunk party goers made it inpossible to sleep. I had requested a quiet room after reading comments on Trip Advisor but I'm not sure how many of the rooms are actually situated away from the street below.

Breakfast was as expected, lots of choice, cereal, ham, cheese, yoghurts and a choice of cooked items. We were full until 7pm that night!

All in all our first experience of HDV was excellent and we look forward to trying others in the UK.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katiepeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

The hotel is just as presented on the web site. We had a lovely attic room with a doors that opened onto a little balcony overlooking the high street. and our bathroom window looked over Greyfriars Bobby's statue, We were there on Halloween, so there were lots of student parties going on and the fringe theatre was quite noisy across the road.
The hotel was within easy walking distance of most facilities in Edinburgh.
The bistro was excellent and in nice surroundings. We came back late one night and the night manager opened the bar for us to have a late night tipple.
All in all we had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sucgr_epsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
982 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#82 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,170 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#56 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#46 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $167 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing