We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky & Well Located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #66 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
149 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Quirky & Well Located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

Just like other Hotel Du Vin the hotel is quirky and the Bistro very good. A lot more atmospheric than most boutique hotels but average rooms with a small bathroom, and a bit on the noisy side. Very comfortable beds, air con works a treat and the smoking shelter is brilliant. I am not a smoker but if you are you will not feel second class using this deluxe affair.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OleDunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    327
    117
    55
    10
See reviews for
98
566
42
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

We couldn't have been happier with our night at Hotel du Vin. We felt completely at home, loved the very central location just a couple of minutes walk from the Royal Mile and so pleased to be upgraded to a fantastic suite as walk in customers.

We've been to a couple of Hotel du Vins including Poole and Tunbridge Wells and we always feel the quality is spot on. I have to say so far this one in Edinburgh is my favourite!

Staff were welcoming and attentive, and the building, although doesn't look much from the outside is cozy and has real personality. We had a drink in the bar before heading out for a meal in the Witchery and we stayed for afternoon tea the next day. All wonderful!

Our advice would be to avoid the larger chain hotels and go for this. Great value given the location and quality.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank we-heart-holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

Stayed Friday - Saturday night in a standard room at this Hotel and have to say that the service and accommodation were excellent. Staff were helpful and polite - room was really nice and comfortable. Breakfast was really good too - fresh produce on the buffet table and the cooked breakfast was delicious. Would recommend this hotel to Family and Friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glasgowbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

Great location, stylish hotel & lovely room. Our room was the "Dominio de Valdepus" which was great with quirky features & roll top bath. Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fussy_bear2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

This is now my fifth Hotel du Vin and this one is one of the best so far - maybe Bristol just tops it
Great room, big and, comfortable with a great shower - food in the Bistro was very good and the staff were excellent
Usual parking issues with the group because of the buildings they have converted - BUT - as always there was parking close by - as a tip - drop your bags off and then park the car - especially if it is raining !!
Good location with easy public transport if making a weekend in the city
Finally - as a smoker they have got THE BEST smoking area I have found - warm, dry, comfortable and with seats and tables - the perfect place to enjoy a cigar/cigarette and a bottle of good red wine

Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BristolBigRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Stayed for just one night, beautiful room we got an upgrade to a studio sutie, amazing comfy bed and had a room that had a roll top bath in the window. Loved the spacious bathroom with the rain type shower. Great fun. The room was a little pricey but with it being the festival everywhere seemed the same. Tried the resturant which had amazing food, but again it was'nt cheap but very enjoyable & we relaxed in the comfy whisky snug afterwards. All the staff we came in contact with were very helpful, the staff on the front dek were all very smiley and cheerful and could'nt do enough to help. Only downside was thier was no clotted cream with the cream teas, which being from Cornwall we found very suprising. Howver, I would defiantly reccomend this hotel for my friends & I can'nt wait to come back and stay longer for the festival next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashersSaltash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Stayed at Hotel du Vin Edinburgh at the start of the festival, Hotel is excellent location for the fringe as we had a lot of shows booked within a five minute walk. We ate in the bistro, it was very busy but service and food were first class.

Our room was called Willi opitz, in the old part of the building, lovely bright, clean room with exposed walls with decent space for our stay. I would have preferred a seperate bath and shower but was informed by the reception on my next stay to book a superior room, very helpful to know.

Overall great stay, very friendly staff and will definately go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeddy084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: 11 Bristo Place, Edinburgh EH1 1EZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#47 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel du Vin Edinburgh is nestled deep in Edinburgh's Old Town and only a short walk from the historic Royal Mile.A relaxing haven, the hotel offers a trademark Hotel du Vin Bistro, mezzanine bar, private dining, whisky snug and specialist Laroche wine-tasting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin & Bistro Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing