We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Nearby Hotels
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$268
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$275
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$248
$207
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$180
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$511
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$111
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$175
$164
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,174)
Filter reviews
1,174 results
Traveler rating
566
392
135
63
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
566
392
135
63
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmonsoon showerroll top bathwhisky snugcigar bothyhdv edinburghoverlooking the courtyardroyal milesuperior roomfree standing bathlovely hotelnational museum of scotlandeggs benedictnespresso machinemini barlovely roomedinburgh hotelboutique hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,036 - 1,041 of 1,174 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2009

Most people reading this will know the standards that one has come to expect at Du Vin hotels. They set their prices high (some might say too high) but with that has always gone exceptionally well appointed hotels with a high degree of comfort and style together with good service. This hotel ticks all those boxes and particularly as it is fairly new. You have to accept that with the premises that Du Vin opts for there can be some drawbacks and often it is the bedroom size. One of my colleagues who had paid over £150 room only on this visit had a room the size of a proverbial shoebox and when trying to change it couldn't and was told that this was typical of the 'standard room' - ouch.
Add to the cost of a room, breakfast and a bar tarrif that will set you back over £6 for a whisky or brandy (at least) and you will know that a stay here will not be cheap. There are some quirks with Du Vin baths that are not designed for comfort. Even the standard ones are very deep and the backs are at an angle which means lying back and relaxing is not easy. In my room they had one of those ludicrous (though some people love them) monsoon showers - hugely wasteful of water and the bath was unable to empty the waste at the same rate so consequently you soon are knee deep in water. Have a bath and the plug leaks and so the water drains away - ah well.
Now comes my major niggle with Du Vin. I believe that there has been an unacceptable affect on customer comforts by Malmaison who own the brand, flexing their muscle. As an example a hotel of this quality should provide fresh milk in a carton in the fridge and also a bottle of water (yes free). Instead you get ridiculous little tubes of milk and not many of them. Much lesser hotels provide a biscuit as well - not here. In fact the wide choice of snacks and biscuits, all chargeable mind, that used to be in the rooms has gone My suggestion is everyone ask reception/chamber maid for more then they will get fed up and provide more. I would prefer some instant coffee but that is a personal touch.
The DuVin still welcomes smokers and has forked out some £30,000 on a "cigar shack" which is more comfortable than many hotels I have been in. Due to local licensing laws however, you cannot drink alcohol outside after 10pm so have your brandy inside and then rush outside for your cigar - crazy or what? I guess though not Du Vin's fault.
Don't rely on a restaurant recommendation from reception - the one we got was dire. I know they want you to dine in the hotel but in a city like Edinburgh, when you are there for 4 nights, you want a change.
I do hope that the brand is not on the slide due to it no longer being owned by a smaller group. Let's hope that the corporate bean counters don't ruin it.
All in all apart from the negatives, I doubt you'll be disappointed here.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XRXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2009

Booked this hotel as I like the atmosphere and quality of HdV. The hotel is obviously new with small but comfortable rooms and a good bistro. It is about a 15 minute walk from Princes street

Unfortunately there is one major problem - noise. The hotel is located next to one of the main routes from the city centre and is only a few hundred metres from the University. The bedroom overlooked the main road which resulted in disturbed/no sleep between 1am and 3am on both nights. You will not need an alarm clock as the noise from the traffic will wake you by 7am.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ma02202014c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

Hotel Du VIn is part of a larger group that takes buildings and breaths new life into them. this they have done to great effect again here in Edinburgh. Big Baths and simple but fine rooms. The restaurant appears popular so my advise is book a table before you arrive! on this occasion we had to go across to the Tower which has fantastic food and views. We have had dinner in the past which was good, the sommelier is a scream and knows his stuff, and worth dinner just to listen to his knowledge! NB parking is a hassle, but is available in the 1/4 mile which is a 5 minute walk. The whisky bar is worth a visit!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zurichHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We stayed here for the weekend and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hotel is very beautifully styled in the usual Hotel du Vin manner, the staff were friendly and personal - they showed us to our room individually etc - and the room was very comfortable. As someone else has commented the shower is fantastic and they supply really nice Arran Aromatics toiletries in big size containers, not the usual tiny things. Breakfast was superb and we had it included in the rate. We tried to eat in the bistro on the night we arrived by stupidly hadn't made a booking and it was full. There are lots of restaurants within a two minute walk though - Italian, Japanese, Indian, Nepalese etc so you are spoiled for choice. Location is very good. We walked to The Royal Mile in about 5 minutes, the University is less than that and we walked to Princes Street in 10 minutes. One tip is that if you buy a ticket on the hop on hop off bus tourist bus service, after you have finished down in town, you can hop on it back to the Royal Mile and then just have a very short walk to the hotel.
Would definitely go back and stay here - it was just such a great location to get to all sorts of parts of town.
One slightly strange thing about the room: there are no drawers. Plenty of hanging space but other than the shelf of the bedside cabinet, no drawer storage at all.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alliebdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and efficient, they made us feel very welcome when we checked in and were pleasant throughout our stay.

We stayed in one of the regular rooms which was overlooking the courtyard. The room was very nice and spacious with a large comfy bed. It had a big flat screen TV and DVD player. DVD's were available from reception on request. There were also magazines in the room as well as his and hers dressing gowns and a good selection of complimentary teas and coffee. The bathroom was decorated in a nice modern style and the monsoon shower was lovely and relaxing.

I thought the location of the hotel was very good, it was about 5 minutes walk to the Royal Mile and about 10 minutes or maybe a bit less to Princes Street. The hotel is by the road side but it wasn't a really busy road and as our room was overlooking the courtyard we didn't hear any noise at night.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but we did go for a drink in the bar one evening. The bar area was very nice but i thought the drinks were rather pricey, just over £10 for a small glass of rioja and a bottle of Heineken.

The best things about the hotel were the location and the nice comfortable rooms.
The worst thing was the price of the drinks in the bar!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toonfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews